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To: Office of Administrative Law

Attention:  Elizabeth A. Heidig, Senior Staff Counsel

Subject: OAL File No. CTU2015-0930-03
Veterinarian Continuing Education Waivers

I, Annemarie Del Mugnaio, am the Executive Officer of the Veterinary Medical Board,
Department of Consumer Affairs. | am empowered and am making this certification
pursuant to Title 1, California Code of Regulations, section 280.

| hereby certify that the Veterinary Medical Board will not issue, use, enforce, or attempt
to enforce the attached Frequently Asked Question (FAQ) No. 29, as posted on the
Veterinary Medical Board’s website on November 20, 2015, whlch is the subject of the
pending underground regulation petition. The Veterinary Medical Board intends to

amend the FAQ to better conform to existing regulations.

Annemane Del Mugnaio T
Executive Officer e
Veterinary Medical Board=>
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Veterinarian Continuing Education

MANDATORY CONTINUING EDUCATION
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS - VETERINARIAN

Veterinarians must cerlify that they have completad 36 hours of approved continuing education (CE) to renew thelk license to practice velerinary medicine In
California. The answers to the following frequently asked questions are desighed 1o help veterinarians understand CE requirerments.

1. Who is required to take Continulng Education (CE)}?

Effective January 2002, all California licensed veterinarians whao are actively icensed In California,
2, When oan | start accruing hours?

This depends on your keenss renswat date; CE hours must be eamed two ysars prior to your license expiration date.

For example, If your license explres on January 31, 2014, you can accrue GE hours eamed bstween February 1, 2012 and January 31, 2014,
3, How many hours are needed? :

You are raquired to complete 36 hours of approved GE for each two-year license renews period,
4. Whatis my license "renewal perlod"?

A llcense renawal perlod is two years and runs from the license explration dats to license expiration date. Your expiration date |s shown on your license

For example, If your license expiration date js May 31, 2014, the renewa! perlod was June 4, 2012 through May 31, 2014. To renew your license in May 2014, you
must have completed 20 hours of approved CE within the subseguent two-year time period, .

&. How Is CE rolated to my license renewal?

You must verlfy completion of 36 hours of appravet GE before your license can be renewed, For the majorily of veterinarians renawing thelr license, a mandatory
signature on the renewal fonm is all that s required to verify completion of 36 hours of approved CE. There are different requirements If you are selected for a
renidom CE audi,

6. Whatif | do not complete the CE by my license explration date?

If you do not complete GE by your license expiration date, you may renew as Inactive or walt to renew untll you have completed the hours.

Walting 1o renew your llcense unit you have completed the CE hours may result in your license expiring and hecoming delinguent, Licensees with an inaclive or
delinquent slatus must cease practice untll such time as they complets the 36 hours of approved CE. Itis ILLEGAL to praciice veterinary medicine in Callfomnta with
an Inactive or explred license.

7. Can | got an extenslon en my renawal If | ave not completed the required hours?

Na. There s no provision in the law to aifow for an extension on & license renewal. The only options available are o renew as inactive or become delinguent until
the CE hours are completed. You cannct praclice vaterinary medicing with an Inactive or delinguent icense,

8, Is CE a cneime requirement?
No, It is an engoing requirement.
9. Gan | count hours completed outside my renewal petlod?

No. The only exception Is CE taken for 2 license that Is inaclive or delinguent; those renewals may only claim GE that was eamed in the two-year period prior 1o
renewal of that inactive or daliquent license.

10, What If a course begins In one renewal perled but ends in ancther?

If you take a course that starts in one renewal period but ends In another, CE hours will count only towards the renewal period In which you compleled the course.
The only exception is CE taken for a ficense that is Inactive or delinquent; those renewals may only clalm CE that was earned In the two-year perlod prior 1o renawal
of thal inactive or defiquent license.

11. What are the CE requirements while residing outside of Callfornla’?
If you reside oulside of Califomia, you have twe options for meeting the CE requirsmsnt:

A. Thare are a multitude of approved CE providers throughout the U.S., Caneda and L).8. Tesritorles thal will allow you to still acerue CE. Information about
providers can be found on the Board's web site under Approved Providers. The Board accepts courses approved by the American Assoclation of Veterinary
State Boards (AAVSB) as well as statutorily approved providers,

B. You can renew your llcense &5 inactive by checking the inastive box on the renewal form and submitting it along with the regular renowal fee. Kls LLEGAL
1o practice veterinary medicine In California with an inactive license, .

12. How does an inactive llcenss affect GE and how ¢an | renew an Inactive license?
Licensees with Inaclive licenses;

Renew the license blennlally;

Pay the regular renewal fee;

Do not need to complete any hours of GE for renawal; and

Are not adlowed to practice In California while the license Is inactive.

To renew your inactive license to active status you must complete 36 hours of GE In the two years immedialely preceding the dale you want to reactivate your
license, submit proof of CE to the Board, and include a $25 {es (that covers the cost of reprinting your newly aclive license).

http:/~wrww.vimb.ca.gov/licensees/mcefaq_1 shtml _ _ 11/19/2015
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13. Where can | take GE courses?
There are a multitude of approved GE providers throughout the U,S., Ganada and U.S, Territories, Information about providers can be found on the Board's weh site
:p;l‘ﬁ(r’ ;\r;;!)rovad Providers. The Board accapts courses approved by the American Assodlation of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) as welt as statutorily approved
44, Can | get a list of GE providers?
Information about providers can ba found on the Board's web slte under Approved Providers, '
16. What records shouid | be keaping and for how long?
‘fou need to keep proof of your completed CE coursework for st lesst four years.
16. Do 1 turn In proof of coursework when | renew my licensa?

No. For the majority of veterinarians renewing their ficenss, mandatory signature on the renewal form Is all that Is required to verify completion of 36 hours of
approved CE. There are different requirements If you are selected for a random CE audit,

17. When do | ieed to turn In proof of my soursework?

The Board randomly audits licensees, If yourars audited, you will need-to submit p}om‘ of your course work (l.e, completion certificates, course logs, transcripts,
ete.). Although you are required to keep CE records for at least four years, most audits ask for proof from your most recent renswal cycle.

18, What qualifles as a "CE course"?

A course s a form of systematic leaming, relevent fo the profession, and al least cne hour in length. One hour is @ minienm of 50 minutes, Once the Initial §0-
minute requirement Is met, subsequent time eamed can be counted n one half hour (25 minute) increments, Courses with & tolal of less than the minimum of 50
minutes will not count, ’

Approved CE courses can b dellvered in a variety of modes, Including actuel class room settings, scademic sludles, extension studies, conferances, seminars,
waorkshops, interactive online learning, and self-study courses, .

The Board accepts courses approved by the Amarican Assaclation of Velarinary Stats Boards (AAVSB) as well as statutorlly approved providers,
19. How doss the Board deflne one hour?

For purposes of reporting mandatory GE, 50 minutes constitutes one hour, Courses mast be & rinimium of 50 Wilnufes for the first hour. Onee the minimum of 50
mintes is met, courses can then be counted in one hali-hour increments. One half hour Is defined as a minimum of 25 minutes.

20, What kinds of GE courses are acceptable?

Generally, courses relevent o veterinary medicine and approved by the Board are acceptable. Courses can cover sclantific knowlege andfor technical skills, direst
patlent/client care, or indirsct patient/client care.

21. What kinds of GE courses are not acceptahle?
Courses designed for lay people or courses whose primary Intent to promole the use of a commerical praduct or serviceare not acceptable ,
22, What s a self-study course?

Self-study courses are performied &t a licensee's residence, office, or other private location. Self-study includes viewing videotapes, listening to audio tapes, or
journal reading, non-interactive online learning, ete. This also Inchides "correspondence online courses”, Licenseas self-cerlify these hours by listing the various
type of self-study they have completad.

23. How many hours are allowad to come from self-study courses?

Your cahn acerus up to 6 hours of your GE hours throtgh self-study or non-interactive online courses,

24. How many hours are allowed to come from online education?

Online education howurs are unlimited; however, at least 30 of these hours must be interactive online education,

25. Are thers CE requirements for Inltfal ficensees?

Initial licensees ave Individuals who have heen licensed In Californla for tess than two years. There are no GE requiremends for initial llcensees.
26. How many hours can ] earn percourse?

Each provider sets the courss hours. In general, you will earn one hour of CE for each 50 minutes of actual Instruction. Once the minimunt of 50 minutes is met,
eourse credit can be given n half-hour increments, Ona half hour Increment is defined as 25 miudas,

There are lImitations of a maximum of 24 hours earned through practice managsment courses and a maximum of 16 hours while particlpating as an Subject Matter
Expert {in the developrment of Board Hcensing examinations).

27. How many hours ean | earn for academic courses?

1 semester unit = 15 CE hours
1 quarter unit = 10 CE hours

if audited, transcripts will be required to verlfy CE hours.
24, Can | got credit for teaching a CE course?

if & course Is Board approved and meets CE guidelines, you may claim credit for the coursa, However, you can only claim credit for a course one tims during a
single renewal pericd.

28, Are there any provislons for a walver of the CE requlretenis?
Yes. You can petition the Board for a walver of CE requirements; however, there are only two specific provisions allowed for consideration of a walver:

1. You were absant from Californla due to military service for a1 Jeast one vear; or

2. You or an Individusal for whom you hava primary respansiblity suffered from a substantial disabillty that prevented you from practicing and completing GE for
at least one year In your currant renewal pericd,

‘You must inform the Board as soon as you know you will need a GE walver and will be required to submit evidence supporting your request.
30. How can | el if a CE course will count?

CE providers must be approved either statutorlly or by the AAVSE. It is the ficensee's respens|bitity ta find out whether the provider Is approvad prior ta taking a
course, tnformation about providers can be found on the Board's web site undsr Approved Providers,

hitp://www.vmb.ca.gov/licensees/mcefaq_1.shtml : | 11/19/2015
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31, Where can | complain If | feel there was something wrong with a CE course or course Instructor?

You should first contact the previder of the course to resolva the matisr, If you are nof salisfied with the outcoms, promptly send a written complaint to the Board
office. Include the course name, dete, and location, the names of the instructor and provider, and specifics abow your complalnt.

32, Do temporary [lcensess have to complete continuing education?

No. Only permanently licensed veterinarlans are required to complete continuing aducation.

Back to Top | Conditions of Use | Privacy Pollsy | Acceseibliity | Gontact Us
} Copyright @ 2015 Staie of Callfornia

This web slte contains POF dacuments that require the most current verslon of Adohs Reader to view. Te download click on the Icon below.

hitp://www.vmb.ca.gov/licensees/mecefaq 1.shtml - - - - - - - 11/19/2015




