State of California
Office of Administrative Law

In re: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF EMERGENCY
California Pollution Control Financing REGULATORY ACTION

Authority

Regulatory Action:

Government Code Sections 11346.1 and

Title 04, California Code of Regulations 11349.6

Adopt sections:
Amond sections: 8034, 8035 OAL Matter Number: 2016-0621-02

Repeal sections:

OAL Matter Type: Emergency (E)

This action (1) waives the bond refunding fee formula to small businesses where new
money amount issue is larger than the amount of the bonds refunded; (2) temporarily
waives the Small Business Assistance Fund (SBAF) fee; and (3) temporarily waives half
of the SBAF fee upon expiration of the SBAF fee waiver.

OAL approves this emergency regulatory action pursuant to sections 11346.1 and
11349.6 of the Government Code.

This emergency regulatory action is effective on 6/29/2016 and will expire on

12/28/2016. The Certificate of Compliance for this action is due no later than
12/27/2016. ‘ '

Date: June 29, 2016

Mark Storm
Senior Attorney

For: Debra M. Cornez
Director
Original: Renee Webster-Hawkins
Copy: Andrea Gonzalez
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PROPOSED TEXT OF REGULATIONS

Title 4. Business Regulations
Division 11. California Pollution Control Financing Authority
Article 3. General Provisions Relating to Authority Actions

§ 8034. General Fees.

The Authority charges the following fees for reasonable and necessary administrative and
program expenses connected with the sale of bonds:

(a) Where the financing requested is not eligible for allocation of volume cap pursuant to 26
U.S.C. Section 146, the Authority charges a fee for reasonable and necessary
 administrative and program expenses connected with the sale of the bonds. For an
applicant who is not a small business as defined in Section 8020, the fee shall be one
tenth of one percent (.001) of the face value of the bonds issued. In addition, the
Authority will charge an annual fee each year for the life of the financial assistance in the
amount of five one-hundredths of one percent (.0005) of the remaining balance of the

financial assistance, with a minimum annual fee of $1,000 and a maximum annual fee of
$75,000.

(b) In all other financings, the fee shall be two tenths of one percent (.002) of the face value
of the bonds issued. -

(c) The applicant shall also reimburse the Authority for all reasonable and necessary out of
pocket expenses which the Authority may incur at the applicant's request and all other
expenses direct or indirect, properly allocable to the proposed financing. Unless paid out
of the proceeds of the bonds issued, all fees for a particular proposed financing shall be
paid by the applicant and deposited in the Authority Fund. The Authority shall be
authorized to use general fees deposited in the Authority Fund to support Authority
programs, including, but not limited to, the Capital Access Loan Program authorized by
Article 7 of this Division 11.

(d) Notwithstanding subsection (a) and (b), for applications received after July 1, 2016,
where the financing requested_by a small business applicant is a refunding of a prior sale
of bonds previously issued by the Authority and the refunding is included as part of an
application which also requests new financing that is greater than the amount refunded by
the same-small business applicant for a new proposed project, the Authority shall have
the discretion to charge the small business applicant the Authority’s reasonable and
necessary expenses allocable to the refunding request in lieu of the fee described in
subsection (b) normally applicable to refundings.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 44520, Division 27, Health and Safety Code.
Reference: Sections 44520, 44525 and 44537.5, Division 27, Health and Safety Code.



§ 8035. Small Business Assistance Fund Fees.

(a) The Authority shall charge an applicant who is not a public agency or a small business as -
defined in Section 8020 a fee in addition to the fees required by Sections 8033 and 8034.
The additional fee shall fund the Small Business Assistance Fund (SBAF). The amount of
the fee shall be sixty-six one-hundredths of one percent (.0066) of the face value of any
tax exempt bonds issued and three tenths of one percent (.003) of the face value of any
taxable bonds issued; provided, that in connection with the issuance of taxable bonds for
which the .003 fee is charged, if such taxable bonds are refinanced with or converted to
tax exempt bonds, the applicant shall pay an additional fee for deposit into the Small
Business Assistance Fund in the amount of thirty-six one-hundredths of one percent
(.0036) of the face value of such taxable bonds. In the case of refunding or conversion of
bonds, the fee percentage applicable on the date the original bonds were issued will be
used to determine if additional SBAF fees are collectable. If the company did not pay a
SBAF fee originally, the current fee percentage will apply to refundings or conversions.
If federal tax law or other legal provisions prevent the imposition of the above fees, each
fee shall be the maximum that can legally be charged.

(b) The Authority shall refund a portion of the fee charged pursuant to subdivision (a) of this
section if the occurrence of a subsequent event causes the original fee to exceed the
amount allowed by federal tax law provisions, causing the bonds to lose their tax exempt
status. The refund shall be the difference between the original fee charged and the
maximum fee subsequently determined to be chargeable by bond counsel approved by
the Authority.

(c) The Authority shall refund a portion of the fee charged if, in the judgment of the
Authority, the amount in the Small Business Assistance Fund account exceeds the
amount needed to operate the Small Business Assistance Fund program and to assist
small businesses obtain financing. If the Authority makes a refund pursuant to this
subdivision, the amount of the refund payable to each applicant shall be computed by
multiplying the total amount to be refunded by the percentage each applicant contributed
in fees to the total fees collected pursuant to this section.

(d) If an applicant refinances existing bonds with the issuance of new bonds, it shall receive a
credit against the fee charged pursuant to this section in an amount equal to the net Small
Business Assistance Fund fees paid on the earlier bonds.

(e) The assessment of the fee provided for in subsection (a)_is waived on all new financing
transactions closing on or before is-waived-until December 31, 201 6-JFune-30,268146. In the
case of refunding bonds and conversion bonds, there will be no SBAF fee charged if the
original bonds were issued after the effective date of this subsection and before
December 31, 2016-Jure-30,2016.

(f) The Authority shall waive half of the fee assessed in subsection (a) on all new financing

transactions_closing on or after frem—Juby——2616January 1, 2017 te—December31;
2046and closing on or before June 30, 2017.




NOTE: Authority cited: Section 44520 and 44548, Health and Safety Code.
Reference: Section 44548, Health and Safety Code.



