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PROPOSED ACTION ON
REGULATIONS

Information contained in this document is
published as received from agencies and is

not edited by Thomson Reuters.

TITLE 2. FAIR POLITICAL
PRACTICES COMMISSION

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Fair Political
Practices Commission, pursuant to the authority vested
in it by Sections 82011, 87303, and 87304 of the Gov-
ernment Code to review proposed conflict−of−interest
codes, will review the proposed/amended conflict−of−
interest codes of the following:

CONFLICT−OF−INTEREST CODES 

ADOPTION

MULTI−COUNTY: Sites Joint Powers Authority 
California Association of 

Mutual Water Companies 
Joint Powers Risk and
Insurance Management 
Authority

AMENDMENT

MULTI−COUNTY: Southern California 
Association of  Governments

A written comment period has been established com-
mencing on June 24, 2016, and closing on August 8,
2016. Written comments should be directed to the Fair
Political Practices Commission, Attention Ivy Brana-
man, 428 J Street, Suite 620, Sacramento, California
95814.

At the end of the 45−day comment period, the pro-
posed conflict−of−interest code(s) will be submitted to
the Commission’s Executive Director for her review,
unless any interested person or his or her duly autho-
rized representative requests, no later than 15 days prior
to the close of the written comment period, a public
hearing before the full Commission. If a public hearing
is requested, the proposed code(s) will be submitted to
the Commission for review.

The Executive Director of the Commission will re-
view the above−referenced conflict−of−interest
code(s), proposed pursuant to Government Code Sec-

tion 87300, which designate, pursuant to Government
Code Section 87302, employees who must disclose cer-
tain investments, interests in real property and income.

The Executive Director of the Commission, upon her
or its own motion or at the request of any interested per-
son, will approve, or revise and approve, or return the
proposed code(s) to the agency for revision and re−
submission within 60 days without further notice.

Any interested person may present statements, argu-
ments or comments, in writing to the Executive Direc-
tor of the Commission, relative to review of the pro-
posed conflict−of−interest code(s). Any written com-
ments must be received no later than August 8, 2016. If
a public hearing is to be held, oral comments may be
presented to the Commission at the hearing.

COST TO LOCAL AGENCIES

There shall be no reimbursement for any new or in-
creased costs to local government which may result
from compliance with these codes because these are not
new programs mandated on local agencies by the codes
since the requirements described herein were mandated
by the Political Reform Act of 1974. Therefore, they are
not “costs mandated by the state” as defined in Govern-
ment Code Section 17514.

EFFECT ON HOUSING COSTS
AND BUSINESSES

Compliance with the codes has no potential effect on
housing costs or on private persons, businesses or small
businesses.

AUTHORITY

Government Code Sections 82011, 87303 and 87304
provide that the Fair Political Practices Commission as
the code−reviewing body for the above conflict−of−
interest codes shall approve codes as submitted, revise
the proposed code and approve it as revised, or return
the proposed code for revision and re−submission.

REFERENCE

Government Code Sections 87300 and 87306 pro-
vide that agencies shall adopt and promulgate conflict−
of−interest codes pursuant to the Political Reform Act
and amend their codes when change is necessitated by
changed circumstances.

CONTACT

Any inquiries concerning the proposed conflict−of−
interest code(s) should be made to Ivy Branaman, Fair
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Political Practices Commission, 428 J Street, Suite 620,
Sacramento, California 95814, telephone (916)
322−5660.

AVAILABILITY OF PROPOSED
CONFLICT−OF−INTEREST CODES

Copies of the proposed conflict−of−interest codes
may be obtained from the Commission offices or the re-
spective agency. Requests for copies from the Commis-
sion should be made to Ivy Branaman, Fair Political
Practices Commission, 428 J Street, Suite 620, Sacra-
mento, California 95814, telephone (916) 322−5660.

TITLE 4. BUREAU OF ELECTRONIC
AND APPLIANCE REPAIR, HOME

FURNISHING AND THERMAL
INSULATION

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Bureau of
Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings
and Thermal Insulation (Bureau), Department of Con-
sumer Affairs, is proposing to take the action described
in the Informative Digest.

Any person interested may present statements or ar-
guments orally or in writing relevant to the action pro-
posed at a hearing to be held at the Department of Con-
sumer Affairs’ First Floor Hearing Room located at
1625 North Market Blvd., Sacramento, California
95834, at 10:00 a.m. on August 8, 2016. Written com-
ments, including those sent by mail, facsimile, or
e−mail to the addresses listed under Contact Person in
this Notice must be received by the Bureau at its office
not later than 5:00 p.m. on August 8, 2016, or must be
received by the Bureau at the hearing.

The Bureau, upon its own motion or at the instance of
any interested party, may thereafter adopt the proposals
substantially as described below or may modify such
proposals if such modifications are sufficiently related
to the original text. With the exception of technical or
grammatical changes, the full text of any modified pro-
posal will be available for 15 days prior to its adoption
from the person designated in this Notice as contact per-
son and will be mailed to those persons who submit
written or oral testimony related to this proposal or who
have requested notification of any changes to the
proposal.
Authority and Reference

Pursuant to the authority vested by sections 19034
and 19170 of the Business and Professions Code (BPC)
and to implement, interpret, or make specific sections
19170, 19170.3, and 19170.5 of said code, the Bureau is

considering changes to Division 3 of Title 4 of the Cali-
fornia Code of Regulations as follows:

INFORMATIVE DIGEST

A. Informative Digest
In accordance with the provisions of the Administra-

tive Procedure Act, Business and Professions Code sec-
tion 19034 generally authorizes the Bureau to adopt
rules and regulations declaring policy of the Bureau and
for the administration of Chapter 3, Division 8 of that
code.

Business and Professions Code section 19170 estab-
lishes the statutory minimum and maximum fee sched-
ule for application, biennial renewal, and other fees for
the Bureau’s home furnishings applicants and li-
censees. Business and Professions Code section
19170.3 establishes the statutory minimum and maxi-
mum fee schedule for application and annual renewal
for the Bureau’s thermal insulation applicants and
licensees.

Business and Professions Code section 19170.5 es-
tablishes the criteria to determine the delinquency and
penalty fee for licenses that are not renewed prior to
their expiration and after the renewal remains unpaid
after 90 days.

Assembly Bill (AB) 1175 (Ridley−Thomas, Chapter
187, Statutes of 2015) amends section 19170 of the
Business and Professions Code to increase the statutory
fee ceilings for all license types by approximately 25
percent. Prior to this, the statutory fee schedule was last
amended in 2001 increasing the importer and furniture
and bedding manufacturer license fees. The statutory
maximums for all other license types were last amended
in 1993.

Title 4 of the California Code of Regulations Section
1107 specifies fee schedules for the application and bi-
ennial renewal of various licenses. The fee schedule
was last updated September 2002 to raise the fees for
the importer and furniture and bedding manufacturers’
licenses. All other licenses were last updated by regula-
tion in 1994.

This proposed rulemaking seeks to amend section
1107 to increase most licensing fees by approximately
15 percent. Depending on the license type, the proposed
increase will equate to an additional $20 to $100 bienni-
ally. In addition, the proposed rulemaking will codify
an existing fee for thermal insulation manufacturers.
The implementation of the fee increase will make the
following changes to existing regulations:
Amend Section 1107(a) of Article 1 of Title 4 of the
California Code of Regulations:
� Subsection (1) Importer’s license fee increases

from $650 to $750.
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� Subsection (2) Furniture and Bedding
Manufacturer’s license fee increases from $650 to
$750.

� Subsection (3) Wholesale Furniture and Bedding
Dealer’s license fee increases from $540 to $625

� Subsection (4) Supply Dealer’s license fee
increases from $540 to $625.

� Subsection (5) Custom Upholsterer’s license fee
increases from $360 to $420.

� Subsection (6) Sanitizer’s license fee increases
from $360 to $420.

� Subsection (7) Retail Furniture Dealer’s license
fee increases from $120 to $140.

� Subsection (8) Retail Bedding Dealer’s license fee
increases from $120 to $140.

� Subsection (9) Retail Furniture and Bedding
Dealer’s license fee increases from $240 to $280.

Add a new Section 1107(b) of Article 1 of Title 4 of
the California Code of Regulations:

� Codify thermal insulation manufacturer fee at
$2,000 annually.

Amend Section 1107(b) & (c) of Article 1 of Title 4 of
the California Code of Regulations:

� Update subsections (b) and (c) to (c) and (d) due to
the addition of a new subsection (b).

Pursuant to section 19170.5 and in response to the im-
plementation of the proposed fee increase, the delin-
quency and penalty fees imposed on those that fail to re-
new their license prior to expiration will also increase.
As mandated, a delinquency fee will be assessed at the
rate of 20 percent of the renewal fee but not more than
one hundred dollars. Depending on the license type, the
increase to the delinquency fee equates to $4 to $12.
When the renewal and delinquency fees are not paid
within 90 days, the penalty fee is assessed at an addi-
tional 30 percent of the renewal fee. Depending on the
license type, the increase to the penalty fee will equate
to $6 to $30.

The proposed fee increase intends to address the Bu-
reau’s structural imbalance and protect the Home Fur-
nishings and Thermal Insulation Fund (Fund) from be-
coming insolvent as projected in Fiscal Year (FY)
2017/18. Specifically, at the conclusion of FY 2016/17,
the Fund is expected to have 1.7 months in reserve. In
FY 2017/18, the Fund is expected to have a deficit of 0.7
months in reserve. Correcting the Bureau’s structural
imbalance will be unattainable without a fee increase.

The fund balance provides specific information on
the Bureau’s current fund as well as projections for fu-
ture years. There are several factors that have contrib-
uted to the fund’s imbalance such as the costs the Bu-
reau incurs to deliver its services. In addition, the fees

for the majority of the licenses have remained un-
changed while inflation has increased over the years.
According to the Consumer Price Index, the rate of in-
flation is calculated at 30.75 percent since 2002 and
58.00 percent since 1994. A review of the Bureau’s
Fund condition report demonstrates that the overall rev-
enue for the Bureau has increased by 29 percent, yet ex-
penditures have increased by 59 percent, since FY
2002/03.
B. Policy Statement Overview/Anticipated Benefits

of the Proposed Regulations
The Bureau regulates approximately 22,300 li-

censees in its Home Furnishings program. Through this
rulemaking, the Bureau proposes to amend section
1107 of the California Code of Regulations to increase
home furnishing license fees by approximately 15 per-
cent and codify the thermal insulation manufacturer
fee. This proposal is necessary to ensure sufficient re-
sources are available to maintain current Bureau opera-
tions to meet its consumer protection mandate.

As specified in Business and Professions Code sec-
tion 19004.1, protection of the public shall be the high-
est priority for the Bureau when exercising its regulato-
ry function under this chapter. Whenever the protection
of the public is inconsistent with other interests sought
to be promoted, the protection of the public shall be
paramount.

The proposed fee increase ensures licensing revenues
match expenditures, thereby protecting the Bureau’s
Fund from insolvency. This proposal benefits consumer
protection as it is designed to enable the Bureau to
maintain its licensing and oversight operations while al-
so ensuring significant surpluses are not created. In ad-
dition, the proposal minimizes the economic impact of a
fee increase by raising the fee approximately 15 percent
rather than to the statutory ceiling and has no effect on
the thermal insulation license fee.
C. Consistency and Compatibility With Existing

Regulations
During the process of developing these regulations

and amendments, the Bureau conducted a search of any
similar regulations on this topic and has concluded that
these regulations are neither inconsistent nor incompat-
ible with existing state regulations.

FISCAL IMPACT ESTIMATES

Fiscal Impact on Public Agencies Including Costs or
Savings to State Agencies or Cost/Savings in Federal
Funding to the State

It is estimated that the proposed fee increase will re-
sult in an increase in Bureau revenues for FY 16/17 by
approximately $455,000 and an increase to ongoing an-
nual revenue by approximately $603,000.
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The Bureau does not anticipate any impact on federal
funding.

Nondiscretionary Costs/Savings to Local Agencies

None.

Local Mandate

None.

Cost to Any Local Agency or School district for Which
Government Code Section 17561  Requires
Reimbursement

None.

Business Impact

The Bureau has made an initial determination that the
proposed regulatory action would have no significant
statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting
businesses, including the ability of California business-
es to compete with businesses in other states.

The business impact is expected to be minimal as the
licensing fees for Importers and Furniture and Bedding
Manufacturers have not been increased since 2002. All
other license types have not experienced a fee increase
since 1994. During that time, the Consumer Price Index
has increased more than 59 percent; however, a fee in-
crease of that scale would not be reasonable. In order to
minimize the impact to its licensees, the Bureau is
proposing an increase that ensures it remains fiscally
solvent while also ensuring significant surpluses are not
created. If fees were tied to the consumer price index,
retailers would be paying annual fees of $191 and $382,
rather than $140 and $280.

Cost Impact on Representative Private Person or
Business

The Bureau is not aware of any significant cost im-
pacts that a representative private person or business
would necessarily incur in reasonable compliance with
the proposed action. This initial determination is based
on the fact that the license fee will be increased by $20
to $100 biennially depending on the license type. An
additional $4 to $12 delinquent fee and $6 to $30 penal-
ty may be assessed only when a licensee fails to renew
their license prior to expiration and after the renewal re-
mains unpaid for 90 days.

The cost impact is expected to be minimal as the li-
censing fees for Importers and Furniture and Bedding
Manufacturers have not been increased since 2002. All
other license types have not experienced a fee increase
since 1994. In addition, based upon the absence of testi-
mony or comment to the Bureau during Advisory
Council discussions about this regulation proposal the
Bureau anticipates a minimal impact on representative
private persons or businesses.

Effect on Housing Costs

None.

RESULTS OF THE ECONOMIC IMPACT
ASSESSMENT/ANALYSIS

Impact on Jobs/Business 

The Bureau has determined that this regulatory pro-
posal will not have a significant impact on the creation
of jobs or businesses or the elimination of jobs or exist-
ing businesses or the expansion of businesses in the
State of California. The proposed fee increase equates
to $20 to $100 biennially which is anticipated to have a
minimal impact on businesses. The Bureau does not an-
ticipate the fee increase will have any impact on current
business practices or licensing trends that would neces-
sitate the creation or elimination of jobs or the expan-
sion of businesses. In addition, this determination has
been made based upon the absence of public testimony
during public meetings where this proposal has been
discussed, most recently during the October 29, 2015,
Advisory Council Meeting.

Effect on Small Business

The Bureau has determined that this regulatory pro-
posal will not have a significant impact on small busi-
nesses in the State of California. This initial determina-
tion is based on the fact that the license fee will be in-
creased by $20 to $100 biennially, depending on the li-
cense type. An additional $4 to $12 delinquent fee and
$6 to $30 penalty may be assessed only when a licensee
fails to renew their license prior to expiration and after
the renewal remains unpaid for 90 days.

The cost impact is expected to be minimal as the li-
censing fees for Importers and Furniture and Bedding
Manufacturers have not been increased since 2002. All
other license types have not experienced a fee increase
since 1994. Although the Bureau does not have nor does
it maintain data to determine if any of its licensees are
“small businesses” as defined in Government Code
Section 11342.610, this determination has been made
based upon the absence of public testimony to this ef-
fect during public meetings where this proposal has
been discussed, most recently during the October 29,
2015, Advisory Council Meeting.

Benefits of Regulation:

The Bureau has determined that this regulatory pro-
posal will have the following benefits to the health and
welfare of California residents, worker safety, and the
state’s environment:
� This regulatory proposal may benefit the health

and welfare of California residents because this
proposal is designed to enable the Bureau to
maintain its licensing and oversight operations
while also ensuring significant surpluses are not
created.
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� This regulatory proposal does not affect worker
safety because this proposal is specific to fee
increases and it is not anticipated to impact current
business practices or licensing trends affecting
worker safety.

� This regulatory proposal does not affect the state’s
environment because it is specific to an increase in
fees and is not anticipated to impact current
business practices that may affect the state’s
environment.

Consideration of Alternatives
The Bureau must determine that no reasonable alter-

native it considered or that has otherwise been identi-
fied and brought to its attention would be more effective
in carrying out the purpose for which the action is pro-
posed or would be as effective as and less burdensome
to affected private persons than the proposed action or
would be more cost−effective to affected private per-
sons and equally effective in implementing the statuto-
ry policy or other provision of law.

Any interested person may present written statements
relevant to the above determinations to the Bureau at the
address indicated under contact person.
Initial Statement of Reasons and Information

The Bureau has prepared an initial statement of rea-
sons for the proposed action and has available all the in-
formation upon which the proposal is based.
Text of Proposal

Copies of the exact language of the proposed regula-
tions and of the initial statement of reasons may be ob-
tained upon request from the Bureau at 4244 South
Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento, California 95834,
or from the Bureau web site (www.bearhfti.ca.gov).
Availability and Location of the Final Statement of
Reasons and Rulemaking File

All the information upon which the proposed regula-
tion is based is contained in the rulemaking file, which
is available for public inspection by contacting the per-
son, named below.

You may obtain a copy of the final statement of rea-
sons once it has been prepared, by making a written re-
quest to the contact person named below or by access-
ing the website listed below.
Contact Person

Any inquiries or comments concerning the proposed
rulemaking action may be addressed to:

Diana Godines
Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home

Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 South Market Ct., Ste. D
Sacramento, California 95834
Phone: (916) 999−2068 

Fax: (916) 921−7279
Email: diana.godines@dca.ca.gov

The backup contact person is:

Terri Rice
Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home

Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 South Market Ct., Ste. D
Sacramento, California 95834
Phone: (916) 999−2058 
Fax: (916) 921−7279
Email: terri.rice@dca.ca.gov

Website Access: Materials regarding this proposal
can be found at www.bearhfti.ca.gov.

TITLE 4. CALIFORNIA HORSE
RACING BOARD

DIVISION 4, CALIFORNIA CODE
OF REGULATIONS

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL TO ADD
RULE 1846.6. POSTMORTEM

EXAMINATION REVIEW

The California Horse Racing Board (Board/CHRB)
proposes to add the regulation described below after
considering all comments, objections or recommenda-
tions regarding the proposed action.

PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION

The Board proposes to add Rule 1846.6, Postmortem
Examination Review, to require that a postmortem ex-
amination review panel, consisting of a steward, a safe-
ty steward, and the Equine Medical Director or his de-
signee, be convened to determine the circumstances of
each equine fatality occurring within a CHRB inclo-
sure. The review will require the appearance of the
trainer and veterinarian of the expired horse before the
panel, as well as the production of the horse’s training
and medical records for the 60 days prior to its date of
death. The rule will also require that the panel prepare
and file a written report with the Executive Director and
the owner and trainer of the expired horse detailing their
findings. The postmortem examination review is in-
tended for education and research purposes only, and
will be conducted separate and apart from any CHRB
investigations or enforcement actions.

PUBLIC HEARING

The Board will hold a public hearing starting at 9:30
a.m., Thursday, August 25, 2016 or as soon after that
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as business before the Board will permit, in the Del Mar
Surfside Race Place, 2260 Jimmy Durante Blvd, Del
Mar, California. At the hearing, any person may
present statements or arguments orally or in writing
about the proposed action described in the informative
digest. It is requested, but not required, that persons
making oral comments at the hearing submit a written
copy of their testimony.

WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD

Any interested persons, or their authorized represen-
tative, may submit written comments about the pro-
posed regulatory action to the Board. The written com-
ment period closes at 5:00 p.m., on August 8, 2016.
The Board must receive all comments at that time; how-
ever, written comments may still be submitted at the
public hearing. Submit comments to:

Philip Laird, Staff Counsel 
California Horse Racing Board 
1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA 95825 
Telephone (916) 263−6025 
Fax: (916) 263−6022
E−Mail: pjlaird@chrb.ca.gov

AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE

Authority cited: Sections 19440 and 19444(c), Busi-
ness and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 19345
and 19444(c), Business and Professions Code.

Business and Professions Code section 19440 autho-
rize the Board to adopt the proposed regulation, which
would implement, interpret or make specific sections
19440 and 19444(c), Business and Professions Code.

INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT
OVERVIEW

Business and Professions Code section 19440 pro-
vides that the Board shall have all powers necessary and
proper to enable it to carry out fully and effectually the
purposes of this chapter. Responsibilities of the Board
shall include adopting rules and regulations for the pro-
tection of the public and the control of horse racing and
pari−mutuel wagering. Business and Professions Code
section 19444(c) states that the Board may, in perform-
ing its responsibilities under this chapter, conduct re-
search to determine more fully the cause and prevention
of horse racing accidents.

The proposed addition of Rule 1846.6, Postmortem
Examination Review, will require that a postmortem
examination review panel be convened to determine the

circumstances of each equine fatality occurring within a
CHRB inclosure. The review will require the appear-
ance of the trainer and veterinarian of the expired horse
before the panel, as well as the production of the horse’s
training and medical records for the 60 days prior to its
date of death. The rule will also require that the panel
prepare and file a written report with the Executive Di-
rector as well as the owner and trainer of the expired
horse detailing their findings. The rule is intended to be
a mechanism for the continuing education of trainers
and veterinarians, and will also serve as an important re-
search opportunity “to determine more fully the cause
and prevention of horse racing accidents” as permitted
by Business and Professions Code section 19444(c).

Specifically, the proposed addition of Rule 1846.6
will require in subsection (a) that the Board conduct a
postmortem examination review to determine the cir-
cumstances behind all equine fatalities occurring with-
in a CHRB inclosure. This creates a blanket require-
ment that the Board will investigate the circumstances
behind every equine death that occurs within a CHRB
licensed inclosure using the postmortem examination
review process. Such consistent review will ensure that
all equine fatalities occurring at a racetrack are thor-
oughly and equally investigated so that future accidents
may be prevented. Furthermore, the requirement af-
fords the trainers and veterinarians who cared for the
deceased horse an opportunity to receive case−specific
recommendations from panel members for how to bet-
ter train and treat their horses in the future.

The proposed rule will also require in subsection (b)
that the postmortem examination review panel be con-
ducted by a member of the board of stewards, a safety
steward, and the Equine Medical Director or his de-
signee. This is necessary because it clearly defines the
composition of the panel so that a complete and thor-
ough review may be conducted for each fatality. Each of
the designated panel members is necessary to the re-
view because they represent various areas of expertise,
including equine medicine and health, track safety, and
horsemanship. By virtue of the positions they hold, the
steward, safety steward, and Equine Medical Director
all possess substantial knowledge of race horse care that
is essential to the analysis and education aspects of the
review.

The proposed rule will further require in subsection
(c) that the trainer, as well as any other licensee the pan-
el deems necessary, appear at the postmortem examina-
tion review. This is necessary because it is the trainer
who, by regulation, ensures the condition of the horse,
and is responsible for how the horse is trained, medicat-
ed, and cared for while racing in California. According-
ly, it is the trainer who will have the most knowledge of
the horse when the panel has specific questions about its
training and health. Depending on the nature of the acci-
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dent, other licensees — such as the horse’s veterinarian
or jockey — may also be needed to appear to answer
questions about the circumstances surrounding the
horse’s death. The subsection will also require that li-
censees have at least ten days’ written notice before the
date of the postmortem examination review. This is nec-
essary because it ensures that all licensees who are re-
quired to attend the review have sufficient notice so that
they can ensure their availability and have ample time to
collect the appropriate records.

The proposed rule will require in subsection (d) that
the trainer make available at the postmortem examina-
tion review the training records for the expired horse,
which shall include exercise, medication and shoeing
histories for a minimum of 60 days prior to the date of
death of the horse. This is necessary because in order for
the review panel to fully assess all circumstances sur-
rounding the horse’s death, the panel must be able to re-
view details of the horse’s recent training regime, in-
cluding medications it received and when and how it
was shoed. A 60−day overview provides the panel with
two complete months of insight into the daily care of the
horse, which is a long enough period to identify any
unique or recurring events that may have led to the
horse’s death. Because many trainers tend to oversee
multiple horses, review of their actual records is the best
way to ensure the most accurate and specific training
histories are analyzed. By reviewing these records, the
panel will have the opportunity to identify specific
training sessions, medication administrations, and/or
shoeing decisions that may have contributed to the
horse’s fatality. Any one of these aspects of a horse’s
care, if mistakenly or negligently carried out, can sub-
stantially increase the chance that an accident will occur
while the horse is racing. Training records may reveal
that the horse was run too hard in the days leading up to
its accident. Medication records may show that the
horse accidentally received too much of a certain drug.
Shoeing histories may reveal that the horse was shoed to
correct a misdiagnosed problem. Any of these discover-
ies will greatly assist the panel in determining what led
to the horse’s death. Moreover, by looking at the train-
ing histories of deceased horses over time, the panel
may be able to newly discover specific training prac-
tices, medications, and shoeing choices that correlate
with an increased risk of fatality. Identifying such prac-
tices will allow the CHRB to better regulate horse rac-
ing, and increase safety on the race track.

In subsection (e)(1) through (7), the proposed rule
will require that all CHRB licensed veterinarians at-
tending or treating a horse having died within a CHRB
inclosure make available at the postmortem examina-
tion review a summary medical record covering a mini-
mum of 60 days prior to the date of death of the horse, or
longer if requested by the postmortem review panel.

The summary record shall include history of the horse’s
medical status, data from physical examination, treat-
ment plans, medications prescribed and dispensed, dai-
ly progress and disposition of the case, laboratory data,
and diagnostic images. These are necessary because a
horse’s veterinary medical condition, including physi-
cal examination findings, certain veterinary treatments
and procedures, medications and medication levels,
have all been linked to racing injuries, catastrophic and
lesser injuries in various peer reviewed studies. In−
depth necropsy analyses conducted as part of the
CHRB/UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine racing
safety program have repeatedly shown many pre−
existing injuries that should have been detectable by di-
agnostic imaging techniques. In the small number of
cases where diagnostic imaging was reviewed as part of
a formal investigation, pre−existing pathology was
clearly present. Some veterinary treatments and medi-
cations may adversely affect a horse’s health and in-
crease its risk of accident or fatality. By reviewing the
horse’s complete medical history, the Equine Medical
Director will have the opportunity to identify specific
veterinary treatments that may have led to the horse’s
fatality. Furthermore, by looking at the medical history
of deceased horses over time, the panel may be able to
discover certain medications or treatments that corre-
late with an increased risk of fatality. Identifying such
practices will allow the CHRB to better regulate horse
racing, and increase safety on the race track for horses
and riders.

The proposed rule will require in subsection (f) that
all documents provided to the postmortem examination
review panel under subsections (d) and (e) not be re-
tained by the CHRB, and that they be returned to the li-
censee(s) at the conclusion of the review. This is neces-
sary because it prevents the public dissemination of cer-
tain private information that is conveyed during the
course of the review. By restricting the panel from re-
taining documents they inspect, such documents will
not be subject to a Public Records Act request. This is
important to trainers and veterinarians because the
training and treatment regimes they use are often
unique, and contribute largely to their professional val-
ue in their occupations.

The proposed rule will additionally require in subsec-
tion (g) that the postmortem examination review panel
file a written report detailing their findings with the Ex-
ecutive Director and the owner and trainer of the ex-
pired horse within 90 days of the postmortem examina-
tion review. This is necessary because one of the major
purposes of this regulation is to study and understand
the cause of horse racing accidents so that they may be
prevented in the future. By recording the determined
cause of an accident leading to the death of each horse
with the Executive Director, such reports can be re-
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viewed in bulk to identify certain training and veteri-
nary practices that correlate with an increased risk of fa-
tality. Identifying such practices will allow the CHRB
to better regulate horse racing, and increase safety on
the race track. Furthermore, by requiring the panel to al-
so provide copies of their report to the trainer and owner
of the horse, the rule also completes the intended educa-
tion element by informing the parties what the deter-
mined cause of death was. Such information will help
trainers, veterinarians, and other involved licensees im-
prove their own practices in how they work with and
treat horses. Finally, by requiring the report to be filed
within 90 days, the proposed rule prevents the possibili-
ty of unreasonable backlog, and encourages a degree of
expediency in conducting these reviews.

The proposed rule will finally explain in subsection
(h) that the intent behind the rule is purely for education
and research purposes. It further requires that the re-
view be conducted separate and apart from any disci-
plinary investigation conducted by the CHRB Enforce-
ment Division, and explains that in the event a disci-
plinary investigation is initiated, the postmortem exam-
ination review shall be postponed, to the extent possi-
ble, until such investigation is complete. Finally, the
proposed rule requires that the postmortem examina-
tion review panel’s report not be the basis for any disci-
plinary investigation. This is necessary because if the
review is to successfully educate licensees and facilitate
accurate research into horse racing accidents, there
must be transparency and honesty between the panel
and the licensees. If licensees are aware that something
they say in the course of the postmortem examination
review could directly cause them to be fined or suspend-
ed, they are not likely to cooperate with the review or be
forthright about how they trained and/or treated the ex-
pired horse. While the CHRB maintains the right to in-
vestigate any violation of the Horse Racing Laws and
Regulations, this subsection facilitates the separation of
that process from the postmortem examination review
to every extent possible. By postponing the review until
all related investigations are concluded, and by pro-
hibiting use of the panel’s final report from being the ba-
sis for a disciplinary investigation, these provisions
help assure licensees that the postmortem examination
review will be a research and education focused process
that is meant for their benefit and not their detriment.

POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW OF
ANTICIPATED BENEFITS OF PROPOSAL

The proposed addition of Rule 1846.6 promotes the
safety and welfare of horses racing in California by fa-
cilitating in−depth research and review into the training
and medical histories of expired horses prior to their

deaths. Presently, CHRB Rule 1846.5, Postmortem Ex-
amination, requires that every horse that dies within an
area under the jurisdiction of the Board undergo a post-
mortem examination in a diagnostic laboratory to deter-
mine the injury or sickness which resulted in euthanasia
or natural death. While such examinations are useful in
determining the cause of death, they rarely provide any
information about what triggered the cause of death.
For instance, while a horse may suffer a fatal accident
due to a broken leg, no further information is obtained
to determine why the leg broke. The purpose of the
postmortem examination review is to conduct an inves-
tigation into the circumstances surrounding an equine
fatality in order to gain an understanding of all events
that may have contributed to the incident. By exploring
the training and medical histories of expired horses, the
postmortem examination review panel will be obtain-
ing new and unique information that can better assist the
CHRB in identifying correlations between common
training and medical practices and fatal accidents on
and off the racetrack. Consequently, these reviews will
benefit the Board by indicating which specific practices
carry such an increased risk of fatality that they need to
be regulated. Such information will also benefit trainers
and veterinarians because they too will be able to adjust
their practices to better reduce the chance that a horse in
their care has a fatal accident.

The proposed rule additionally benefits trainers and
veterinarians by creating an opportunity for their con-
tinued and personalized education. By exploring train-
ing and medical records with the deceased horse’s train-
er and veterinarian, the panel will be able to provide
case−specific recommendations to prevent future in-
juries. This will improve the quality of training and vet-
erinary services being provided by CHRB licensed
trainers and veterinarians, and will ultimately increase
the safety of the sport for both human and equine
athletes.

Finally, the proposed rule will benefit the horseracing
industry in general by improving public perception of
the sport. Implementing an in−depth review process
that considers the specific circumstances behind each
horse fatality within the inclosure signals to the public
that the CHRB takes animal welfare very seriously. Fur-
thermore, by engaging trainers and veterinarians with
case−specific reviews that aim to educate the parties in-
volved, safety on and off of the racetrack is bound to im-
prove, which will also heighten public perception by re-
ducing those instances when the public is audience to a
racing accident.

CONSISTENCY EVALUATION

During the process of developing the regulation and
amendments, the Board has conducted a search of any
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similar regulations on this topic and has concluded that
the regulation is neither inconsistent nor incompatible
with existing state regulations.

DISCLOSURE REGARDING THE PROPOSED
ACTION/RESULTS OF THE ECONOMIC

IMPACT ANALYSIS

Mandate on local agencies and school districts: none.
Cost or savings to any state agency: none.
Cost to any local agency or school district that must

be reimbursed in accordance with Government Code
Sections 17500 through 17630: none.

Other non−discretionary costs or savings imposed
upon local agencies: none.

Cost or savings in federal funding to the state: none.
The Board has made an initial determination that the

proposed addition of Rule 1846.6 will not have a signif-
icant statewide adverse economic impact directly af-
fecting businesses including the ability of California
businesses to compete with businesses in other states.

The following studies/relevant data were relied upon
in making the above determination: none.

Cost impact on representative private persons or
businesses: none.

The Board is not aware of any cost impacts that a rep-
resentative private person or business would necessari-
ly incur in reasonable compliance with the proposed ac-
tion.

Significant effect on housing costs: none.

RESULT OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ANALYSIS

The adoption of the proposed addition of Rule 1846.6
will not (1) create or eliminate jobs within California;
(2) create new businesses or eliminate existing busi-
nesses within California; or (3) affect the expansion of
businesses currently doing business within California.
The proposed addition of Rule 1846.6 is a benefit to the
health and welfare of both human and equine athletes,
as well as the public. The proposed addition will allow
the CHRB to review and analyze training and veteri-
nary records of deceased race horses so that it can better
understand and prevent equine racing accidents and fa-
talities through education and regulation. Such efforts
will increase safety in horse racing and decrease the rate
of accidents occurring both on and off of the racetrack.
This will not only improve the health and welfare of
equine athletes, but also the human athletes that ride the
horses. Furthermore, an increase in safety and decrease
in accidents will likely improve public perception of
horse racing, which may result in increased wagering.
An increase in wagering will have a positive economic

impact on the industry by increasing handle, which in
turn increases purses and commissions.

Effect on small businesses: none. The proposal to add
Rule 1846.6 does not affect small businesses because
horse racing is not a small business under Government
Code Section 11342.610.

CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES

In accordance with Government Code Section
11346.5, subdivision (a)(13), the Board must determine
that no reasonable alternative considered by the Board,
or that has otherwise been identified and brought to the
attention of the Board, would be more effective in car-
rying out the purpose for which the action is proposed,
or would be as effective and less burdensome on affect-
ed private persons than the proposed action, or would be
more cost−effective to affected private persons and
equally effective in implementing the statutory policy
or other provision of law.

The Board invites interested persons to present state-
ments or arguments with respect to alternatives to the
proposed regulation at the scheduled hearing or during
the written comment period.

CONTACT PERSON

Inquiries concerning the substance of the proposed
action and requests for copies of the proposed text of the
regulation, the initial statement of reasons, the modified
text of the regulation, if any, and other information upon
which the rulemaking is based should be directed to:

Philip Laird, Staff Counsel 
California Horse Racing Board 
1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA 95825 
Telephone: (916) 263−6025
 E−mail: pjlaird@chrb.ca.gov

If the person named above is not available, interested
parties may contact:

Andrea Ogden, Manager
Policy, Regulations and Legislation
Telephone: (916) 263 −6033

AVAILABILITY OF INITIAL STATEMENT OF
REASONS AND TEXT OF
PROPOSED REGULATION

The Board will have the entire rulemaking file avail-
able for inspection and copying throughout the rule-
making process at its offices at the above address. As of
the date this notice is published in the Notice Register,
the rulemaking file consists of this notice, the proposed
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text of the regulation, and the initial statement of rea-
sons. Copies may be obtained by contacting Philip
Laird, or the alternative contact person at the address,
phone number or e−mail address listed above.

AVAILABILITY OF MODIFIED TEXT

After holding a hearing and considering all timely
and relevant comments received, the Board may adopt
the proposed regulation substantially as described in
this notice. If modifications are made which are suffi-
ciently related to the originally proposed text, the modi-
fied text, with changes clearly marked, shall be made
available to the public for at least 15 days prior to the
date on which the Board adopts the regulations. Re-
quests for copies of any modified regulation should be
sent to the attention of Philip Laird at the address stated
above. The Board will accept written comments on the
modified regulation for 15 days after the date on which
it is made available.

AVAILABILITY OF STATEMENT OF REASONS

Requests for copies of the final statement of reasons,
which will be made available after the Board has adopt-
ed the proposed regulation in its current or modified
form, should be sent to the attention of Philip Laird at
the address stated above.

BOARD WEB ACCESS

The Board will have the entire rulemaking file avail-
able for inspection throughout the rulemaking process
at its web site. The rulemaking file consists of the no-
tice, the proposed text of the regulation and the initial
statement of reasons. The Board’s web site address is:
www.chrb.ca.gov.

TITLE 4. CALIFORNIA HORSE
RACING BOARD

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL TO AMEND
RULE 1734. WHIPPING

The California Horse Racing Board (Board) propos-
es to amend the regulation described below after con-
sidering all comments, objections or recommendations
regarding the proposed action.

PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION

The proposed amendment of Board Rule 1734,
Whipping, would clarify what is acceptable use of a
whip by a harness driver. The purpose of the amend-
ment to Rule 1734 is to curtail and prevent any exces-
sive use of the whip. The proposed amendment divides
Rule 1734 into four subsections. Subsection (a) pro-
vides that no driver shall use unreasonable force in
whipping a horse, nor whip any horse causing any welts
or breaks in the skin. Subsection (b) restricts the motion
of the driver’s arm when using the whip to elbow and
wrist action only and lists prohibited actions by a driver
when using the whip on a horse. Subsection (b)(1) pro-
hibits a driver from raising the elbow above the driver’s
shoulder height, and subsection (b)(2) prohibits the
driver’s hand holding the whip to reach behind the driv-
er during use of the whip. Subsections (b)(3) and (b)(4)
describe the areas on the horse that drivers may not
whip, including above the level of the shafts of the sulky
and between the sulky shafts, as well as under the arch
or shafts of the sulky. Subsection (b)(5) further pro-
hibits using the whip as a goading or poking device be-
tween the legs of the horse. Proposed subsection (b)(6)
provides that use of the whip is prohibited when the
horse does not appear to be advancing through the field
of horses or is no longer in contention for purse money.
Subsection (c) provides that all drivers must keep a line
in each hand beginning when the horse is behind the
starting gate and until the one−eighth of a mile prior to
the finish line, and may not whip while holding two
lines in one hand until then. Subsection (d) prohibits
drivers from using the whip more than three times in
succession without giving the horse a chance to
respond.

PUBLIC HEARING

The Board will hold a public hearing starting at 9:30
a.m., Thursday, August 25, 2016, or as soon after that
as business before the Board will permit, at the Del Mar
Surfside Race Place, 2260 Jimmy Durante Blvd., Del
Mar, California. At the hearing, any person may
present statements or arguments orally or in writing
about the proposed action described in the informative
digest. It is requested, but not required, that persons
making oral comments at the hearing submit a written
copy of their testimony.

WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD

Any interested persons, or their authorized represen-
tative, may submit written comments about the pro-
posed regulatory action to the Board. The written com-
ment period closes at 5:00 p.m., on August 8, 2016.
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The Board must receive all comments at that time; how-
ever, written comments may still be submitted at the
public hearing. Submit comments to:

Laurel Houle, Regulations Analyst 
California Horse Racing Board
1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA 95825 
Telephone: (916) 274−6043 
Fax: (916) 263−6022
E−mail: lahoule@chrb.ca.gov

AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE

Authority cited: Sections 19420 and 19440, Business
and Professions Code. Reference: Section 19563, Busi-
ness and Professions Code.

Business and Professions Code section 19420 pro-
vides jurisdiction and supervision over meetings in this
State where horse races with wagering on their results
are held or conducted, and over all persons or things
having to do with the operation of such meetings, is
vested in the Board. Business and Professions Code
section 19440 provides that the Board shall have all
powers necessary and proper to enable it to carry out
fully and effectually the purposes of this chapter. Re-
sponsibilities of the Board shall include, but not be lim-
ited to, adopting rules and regulations for the protection
of the public and the control for horse racing and
parimutuel wagering. Business and Professions Code
section 19563 provides that the Board may adopt any
rules and regulations of the United States Trotting As-
sociation (USTA) for the regulation of harness racing.

INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT
OVERVIEW

Business and Professions Code section 19420 pro-
vides that jurisdiction and supervision over meetings in
California where horse races with wagering on their re-
sults are held or conducted, and over all persons or
things having to do with the operation of such meetings,
is vested in the Board. Business and Professions Code
section 19440 provides that the Board shall have all
powers necessary and proper to enable it to carry out
fully and effectually the purposes of this chapter. Re-
sponsibilities of the Board shall include, but are not lim-
ited to, adopting rules and regulations for the protection
of the public and the control of horse racing and
parimutuel wagering.

The Board proposes to amend Rule 1734 to clarify
what is acceptable use of a whip by a driver during a har-
ness race. The proposed amendment to subsection (a)
provides that no driver shall use unreasonable force in

whipping a horse, nor whip any horse causing welts or
breaks in the skin. Subsection (a) identifies welts or
breaks in the skin as visible confirmation of improper
whipping on a horse. The proper use of a whip is meant
to encourage a horse; the force it takes to cause welts or
breaks in the skin is beyond the limit necessary to re-
ceive a positive response from the horse and may even
produce a negative reaction. Subsection (b) restricts the
driver’s arm when using the whip to elbow and wrist ac-
tion only and lists actions that are prohibited use of the
whip. By limiting the motion of the driver’s arm hold-
ing the whip, the maximum force applied to the whip is
greatly reduced, which will ensure the whip is used to
encourage, rather than punish the horse. The list of pro-
hibited actions gives each driver a clear, measurable
standard to determine proper whipping etiquette during
a harness race.

Subsections (b)(1) through (b)(6) bar actions in order
to curtail and prevent unreasonable use of the whip.
Subsection (b)(1) prohibits a driver from raising the el-
bow above the driver’s shoulder height, and subsection
(b)(2) disallows the driver’s hand holding the whip to
reach behind the driver during use of the whip. Subsec-
tions (b)(1) and (b)(2) indicate the level of movement
by a driver where use of the whip would become unrea-
sonable; the additional force from a driver raising his
arm above the shoulder height to whip the horse is ex-
cessive. The exaggerated motion alters the intention of
whip use from a tool to a weapon. Subsections (b)(3)
and (b)(4) describe the areas on the horse that drivers
may not whip, including above the level of the shafts of
the sulky (a two−wheeled one−passenger vehicle that is
pulled by a horse) and between the sulky shafts, as well
as under the arch or shafts of the sulky. Subsections
(b)(3) and (b)(4) clarify where a whip may not be used
for the safety and welfare of the horse and driver. Gen-
erally, horses move away from sound or touch. Com-
mon proper practice of using a whip is to tap a horse
near the rear, or for drivers, on the side of the harness
near the rear of the horse. Tapping in this area naturally
encourages the horse to move forward, away from the
sound or touch. A horse is a prey animal by nature and
whipping a horse on other areas of the body such as the
underside or near the head may cause the horse to expe-
rience fear and react unexpectedly. Such actions in-
clude breaking stride, or moving laterally, both of
which can cause the horse and driver its placing in the
race. Lateral movement may cause harm or lost placing
to an additional horse and driver if the latter horse is
blocked by the former horse crossing into its path. Sub-
section (b)(5) prohibits using the whip as a goading or
poking device or placing the whip between the legs of
the horse. Subsection (b)(5) maintains a level of safety
for the horse and driver. The whip could get caught be-
tween the horse’s legs if used this way and cause it to
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trip or fall. Subsection (b)(5) prohibits goading and
poking to further clarify what is considered unreason-
able force in whipping for the humane treatment of the
horse. Goading and poking a horse is not the intended
use of the whip; the whip is meant to encourage the
horse to move forward willingly. Subsection (b)(6) pro-
vides that use of the whip is prohibited when the horse
does not appear to be advancing through the field of
horses or is no longer in contention for purse money.
Subsection (b)(6) prevents unnecessary whipping of a
horse by a driver. A horse can become dull to the whip if
it is used more than necessary, which may cause a prob-
lem if the whip is needed in the future to control or en-
courage the horse. There is no need for a driver to push a
horse to exert more energy to complete a race quickly if
it is out of contention; the extra energy can put needless
strain on a horse’s joints, muscles and lungs causing un-
due risk to its wellbeing. Subsection (b)(6) is consistent
with racing jurisdictions including: the USTA, Associa-
tion of Racing Commissioners International (ARCI),
Indiana, Michigan and Pennsylvania.

Subsection (c) requires that all drivers must keep a
line in each hand beginning when the horse is behind the
starting gate until the one−eighth of a mile prior to the
finish line, and may not whip while holding two lines in
one hand until then. The lines must remain reasonably
taut during the entire race. Subsection (c) ensures a
driver maintain reasonable control of the horse. Keep-
ing the lines taut and one line in each hand naturally lim-
its the driver’s shoulder wrist and hand movement, pre-
venting the driver from creating too much force during
the whipping motion. Maximum effort from the horse is
generally needed as a final push to the finish line.

It is standard practice to convey this to the horse with
the whip. The driver must make it clear to the horse
when the final effort is needed to conclude the race.
Placing the lines together in one hand gives the driver
the freedom to slightly exaggerate movement with the
arm holding the whip, without creating the additional
force that would be created with the movement prohib-
ited in subsection (b). Allowing the driver to hold two
lines in a single hand at the one−eighth of a mile prior to
the finish line is a subtle, yet distinct cue by the driver
and the lines that a horse can identify. A horse in train-
ing will quickly learn the way it feels when the lines are
placed into one hand by a driver, and can be taught that
the final effort is needed after such movement. Proper
use of the whip would be to encourage a horse that fails
to notice or react to the cue.

Subsection (d) limits the use of the whip to no more
than three times in succession without giving the horse a
chance to respond. This will allow the driver time to
show the horse the whip, and provide the horse with
enough time to respond. It is crucial for the driver to
give the horse time to respond so that he or she can tell

whether or not the horse is responsive to the initial us-
age of the whip. There are outward signs a driver can
look for to determine if a horse is responding to the use
of the whip such as the relative position of the horse to
other horses in the race over time, whether or not the
horse increases or decreases speed when the whip is
used and whether the horse flags (swats) its tail.

In addition to ensuring the humane treatment of the
horse, the Board has determined it is necessary to
amend Rule 1734 to conform to similar changes of poli-
cy in other jurisdictions. Rule 1734 is not currently con-
sistent with USTA rules, the ARCI Model Rules of Rac-
ing or with the policies and regulations of other racing
jurisdictions. Michigan, Pennsylvania and Indiana have
adopted rules similar to the proposed amendment to
Rule 1734. The amendment of Rule 1734 is necessary
to clarify what is acceptable use of a whip by harness
drivers and update the rule to be consistent with similar
changes adopted by other jurisdictions.

POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW OF
ANTICIPATED BENEFITS OF PROPOSAL

The proposed amendment of Rule 1734 promotes the
protection of driver and horse health and safety. The
Board considers animal welfare and good sportsman-
ship fundamental for the success of horse racing. The
proposed amendment of Rule 1734 provides direction
on the appropriate use of the whip so that it will be used
for safety, correction, or to encourage the horse without
causing pain. If the safety practices of drivers improve,
the public will see harness racing as a sport that cares,
which may result in an increase of attraction to the sport.
An increase of attraction to the sport could result in an
increase in wagering which will have a positive eco-
nomic impact on the industry.

Consistency with existing state regulations: During
the process of developing these regulations and amend-
ments, the California Horse Racing Board conducted a
search of any similar regulations on this topic and con-
cluded that these regulations are neither inconsistent
nor incompatible with existing state regulations.

DISCLOSURE REGARDING THE
PROPOSED ACTION

Mandate on local agencies and school districts: none.
Cost or savings to any state agency: none.
Cost to any local agency or school district that must

be reimbursed in accordance with Government Code
Sections 17500 through 17630: none.

Other non−discretionary costs or savings imposed
upon local agencies: none.

Cost or savings in federal funding to the State: none.
The Board has made an initial determination that the

proposed amendment to Rule 1734 will not have a sig-
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nificant statewide adverse economic impact directly af-
fecting business including the ability of California busi-
nesses to compete with businesses in other states.

The following studies/relevant data were relied upon
in making the above determination: none.

Cost impact on representative private persons or
businesses: The Board is not aware of any cost impacts
that a representative private person or business would
necessarily incur in reasonable compliance with the
proposed action.

Significant effect on housing costs: none.

RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT
ASSESSMENT

The adoption of the proposed amendment of Rule
1734 will not (1) create or eliminate jobs within Califor-
nia; (2) create new businesses or eliminate existing
businesses within California; or (3) affect the expansion
of businesses currently doing business within Califor-
nia. The amendment is a benefit to California because it
promotes the protection of driver and horse health and
safety. The CHRB considers animal welfare and good
sportsmanship fundamental for the success of horse
racing. The proposed amendment of Rule 1734 pro-
vides direction on the appropriate use of the whip by a
harness driver so that it will be used for safety, correc-
tion, or to encourage the horse without causing pain. If
the safety practices of drivers improve, the public will
see horse racing as a sport that cares, which may result
in an increase of attraction to the sport. An increase of
attraction to the sport could result in an increase in wa-
gering which will have a positive economic impact on
the industry.

Effect on small businesses: none. The proposal to
amendment of Rule 1734 does not affect small busi-
nesses because horse racing is not a small business un-
der Government Code Section 11342.610.

CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES

In accordance with Government Code Section
11346.5, subdivision (a)(13), the Board has determined
that no reasonable alternative it considered or that has
otherwise been identified and brought to its attention
would be more effective in carrying out the purpose for
which the action is proposed or would be as effective
and less burdensome to affected private persons than
the proposed action, or would be more cost−effective to
affected private persons and equally effective in imple-
menting the statutory policy or other provision of law.

The Board invites interested persons to present state-
ments or arguments with respect to alternatives to the

proposed regulation at the scheduled hearing or during
the written comment period.

CONTACT PERSON

Inquiries concerning the substance of the proposed
action and requests for copies of the proposed text of the
regulation, the initial statement of reasons, the modified
text of the regulation, if any, and other information upon
which the rulemaking is based should be directed to:

Laurel Houle, Regulations Analyst 
California Horse Racing Board 
1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA 95825 
Telephone: (916) 274−6043 
Fax: (916) 263−6022
E−mail: lahoule@chrb.ca.gov

If the person named above is not available, interested
parties may contact:

Nicole Lopes−Gravely, Regulations Analyst 
Telephone: (916) 263−6397
E−mail: nlgravely@chrb.ca.gov

AVAILABILITY OF FINAL STATEMENT OF
REASONS AND TEXT OF
PROPOSED REGULATION

The Board will have the entire rulemaking file avail-
able for inspection and copying throughout the rule-
making process at its offices at the above address. As of
the date this notice is published in the Notice Register,
the rulemaking file consists of this notice, the proposed
text of the regulation, and the initial statement of rea-
sons and all available information on which this propos-
al is based. Copies may be obtained by contacting Lau-
rel Houle, or the alternative contact person at the ad-
dress, phone number or e−mail address listed above.

AVAILABILITY OF MODIFIED TEXT

After holding a hearing and considering all timely
and relevant comments received, the Board may adopt
the proposed regulation substantially as described in
this notice. If modifications are made which are suffi-
ciently related to the originally proposed text, the modi-
fied text, with changes clearly marked, shall be made
available to the public for at least 15 days prior to the
date on which the Board adopts the regulation. Requests
for copies of any modified regulations should be sent to
the attention of Laurel Houle at the address stated
above. The Board will accept written comments on the
modified regulation for 15 days after the date on which
it is made available.
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AVAILABILITY OF FINAL STATEMENT
OF REASONS

Requests for copies of the final statement of reasons,
which will be made available after the Board has adopt-
ed the proposed regulation in its current or modified
form, should be sent to the attention of Laurel Houle at
the address stated above.

BOARD WEB ACCESS

The Board will have the entire rulemaking file avail-
able for inspection throughout the rulemaking process
at its web site. The rulemaking file consists of the no-
tice, the proposed text of the regulation and the initial
statement of reasons. The Board’s web site address is:
www.chrb.ca.gov.

TITLE 4. DEPARTMENT OF FOOD
AND AGRICULTURE

The Department of Food and Agriculture (Depart-
ment) proposes to promulgate regulations contained in
the California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 4, Di-
vision 9 for the retail sale of natural gas motor vehicle
fuels in California.

PUBLIC HEARING

A public hearing is not scheduled. A public hearing
will be held if any interested person, or his or her duly
authorized representative, submits a written request for
a public hearing to the Department no later than 15 days
prior to the close of the written comment period.

WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD

Any interested person or his or her authorized repre-
sentative may submit written comments relevant to the
proposed regulatory action to the Department. Com-
ments may be submitted by mail, FAX or email. The
written comment period closes at 5:00 p.m. August 8,
2016. The Department will consider only comments re-
ceived at the Department offices by that time. Submit
comments to:

Pamela Fitch
Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist) 
Department of Food and Agriculture 
6790 Florin Perkins Road Suite 100 
Sacramento, CA 95828
Pamela.fitch@cdfa.ca.gov 
(916) 229−3026 (FAX)

Following the public hearing if one is requested, or
following the written comment period if no public hear-
ing is requested, the Department at its own motion, or at
the instance of any interested person, may adopt the
proposal substantially as set forth without further
notice.

AUTHORITY and REFERENCE

Pursuant to the authority vested by §§ 12027, 12107,
13404.5, 13440, and 13446 of the Business and Profes-
sions Code (BPC), and to implement, interpret, or make
specific §§ 13400(b)(9), 13400(c), 13400(g),
13400(p), 13400(t), 13413(a), 13413(b)(1), 13440,
13591, 13592 and 13595(a) of the BPC, the Department
is proposing to make changes to Title 4, Division 9,
Chapters 1, 6, and 7 of the CCR.

INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT
OVERVIEW

Summary of Existing Laws
BPC, Division 5, § 12027 provides that the Secretary

of the Department of Food and Agriculture may make
such rules and regulations as are reasonably necessary
for the purpose of carrying out the provisions of the
division.

BPC, Division 5, § 12107 provides for the Secretary
to establish tolerances and specifications and other
technical requirements for commercial weighing and
measuring devices. The latest requirements in the Na-
tional Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Handbook 44 ‘‘Specifications, Tolerances, and other
Technical Requirements for Weighing and Measuring
Devices”are adopted by reference unless specifically
modified, amended, or rejected by regulation.

BPC, Division 5, § 13404.5 provides for the Secre-
tary to establish the method of sale of motor vehicle fu-
els and lubricants sold at retail to the public. The latest
method of sale requirements for motor vehicle fuels and
lubricants published in the National Institute of Stan-
dards and Technology Handbook 130 “Uniform Laws
and Regulations in the Areas of Legal Metrology and
Engine Fuel Quality” are adopted by reference except
as specifically provided by the Legislature or modified,
amended, or rejected by regulations adopted by the
Secretary.

BPC, Division 5, § 13440 provides for the Depart-
ment to establish specifications for automotive spark−
ignition engine fuels. The Department shall adopt by
reference the latest standards established by a recog-
nized consensus organization or standards writing orga-
nization such as ASTM International or SAE Interna-
tional, for automotive spark−ignition engine fuel, ex-
cept that no specification shall be less stringent than re-
quired by any California state law.
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BPC, Division 5, § 13446 provides for the Depart-
ment to establish interim specifications for alternative
fuel for use in motor vehicles until a standards develop-
ment organization accredited by the American National
Standards Institute (ANSI) formally adopts a standard
for the fuel for use in motor vehicles. The Department
shall then adopt, by reference, the latest standard estab-
lished by the ANSI−accredited standards development
organization for alternative fuel, except that no specifi-
cation shall be less stringent than required by any Cali-
fornia state law.

BPC, Division 5, § 13404 was amended as a result of
Assembly Bill 1907 (Ridley−Thomas, Chapter 805,
Statutes of 2014) to provide a unit of measure for natu-
ral gas sold as a motor fuel to the public: compressed
natural gas shall be sold in a gasoline gallon equivalent
equal to 5.66 pounds and liquefied natural gas shall be
sold in a diesel gallon equivalent equal to 6.06 pounds.
Summary of Existing Regulations

CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 1 contains the toler-
ances and specifications for commercial weighing and
measuring devices, including those adopted by refer-
ence from NIST Handbook 44, and any exceptions and
additions. CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 6 contains
definitions and specifications for automotive products,
including fuels and lubricants. CCR, Title 4, Division 9,
Chapter 7 contains advertising and dispenser labeling
requirements for motor vehicle fuels.
Summary of Effect

The Department proposes to effect and add sections
to CCR, Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 1 to conform with
the gasoline gallon equivalent and diesel gallon equiva-
lent units adopted as a result of Assembly Bill 1907
(Ridley−Thomas, Chapter 805, Statutes of 2014).

The Department proposes to add sections to CCR, Ti-
tle 4, Division 9, Chapter 6 to define terms and product
specifications for natural gas as a motor vehicle fuel.

The Department proposes to add sections to CCR, Ti-
tle 4, Division 9, Chapter 7 to provide labeling and price
sign advertising requirements for natural gas sold as a
motor vehicle fuel.
Anticipated Benefits of the Proposed Regulations

The proposed regulation will protect consumers and
businesses and assist with California’s climate change
goals to reduce petroleum consumption, greenhouse
gas emissions, and local air pollution. Defining the le-
gal requirements for fuel quality and advertising for
natural gas sold as a motor vehicle fuel will ensure that
consumers can make value comparisons before pur-
chase and between competing retail service stations.
Specifying the unit of measure for compressed natural
gas (CNG) and liquefied natural gas (LNG) sold at retail
will provide for accurate delivery of a full measure.
Positive consumer experiences with high−quality natu-

ral gas vehicle fuel may result in a greater awareness
and acceptance of alternative fuels and alternative fuel
vehicles in general.

Consistency and Compatibility with Existing State
Regulations

The Department has evaluated this proposal and be-
lieves that it is not inconsistent nor incompatible with
existing state regulations. The Department is the only
state agency with the authority to adopt motor vehicle
fuel quality, labeling, and advertising requirements.
The California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC)
has authority over the composition, quality, and distri-
bution of natural gas in the state’s pipeline network.
Since the proposed regulations deal only with natural
gas dispensed for retail sale as a motor vehicle fuel, they
are not in conflict with any CPUC regulations.

In 1992, the California Air Resources Board (CARB)
adopted prescriptive quality specifications for CNG
and LNG motor vehicle fuels in CCR, Title 13, Division
3, Chapter 5, Article 3, Subarticle 1 §§ 2292.5. and
2292.6. These specifications were aimed at limiting
toxic tailpipe emissions such as nitrogen oxides pro-
duced by the combustion of natural gas fuels. CARB at-
tempted to revise its regulation in 2010, but instead is-
sued waivers to all fuel producers and retailers who
could not comply with the requirements. These waivers
remain in effect and CARB has not revisited specifica-
tions for natural gas fuels since 2010. The Department’s
proposed regulation is performance−based and has
been developed to be compatible with any public
health−based prescriptive regulations CARB may
adopt in the future.

Consistency and Compatibility with Existing Federal
Regulations

The Department has determined that this proposed
regulation is not inconsistent or incompatible with ex-
isting federal regulations. The proposed regulation is
not mandated by federal law or regulation. The Federal
Trade Commission (FTC) has adopted regulations for
the labeling of alternative motor vehicle fuels, includ-
ing CNG and LNG in 16 CFR 306 “Automotive Fuel
Ratings, Certification and Posting” and 16 CFR 309
“Labeling Requirements for Alternative Fuels and Al-
ternative Fueled Vehicles.” FTC 16 CFR 309 requires
that natural gas fuel dispensers be labeled with the mini-
mum percent methane of the fuel. The proposed regula-
tion does not mandate a specific minimum percentage
or range of percentages for methane content in natural
gas fuel, and so does not conflict with FTC 16 CFR 309.

Comparable Federal Regulations: The United States
is unique in that it is the only major country in the world
with no national weights and measures program. The
responsibility of enforcing weights and measures laws
is vested in each individual state when it adopts, modi-
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fies, rejects, or amends the model laws, regulations, tol-
erances and specifications published by the U.S. De-
partment of Commerce in the NIST Handbooks.

DISCLOSURES REGARDING THE
PROPOSED ACTION

The Department has made the following initial
determinations:

Mandate on local agencies and school districts: None.
Significant effect on housing costs: None.
Fiscal Impact on Public Agencies Including Costs or

Savings to State Agencies or Costs/Savings in Federal
Funding to the State: None.

Nondiscretionary Costs/Savings to Local Agencies:
None.

Costs to Any Local Agency or School District for
Which Government Code Sections 17500 et seq. Re-
quire Reimbursement: None.

Other nondiscretionary costs or savings imposed on
local agencies: None.

Impact on Jobs/New Businesses: The Department es-
timates that between one and ten new businesses in the
commercial measuring device repair and engine me-
chanics sectors could be created as a result of increasing
use of CNG and LNG fuels. These new business oppor-
tunities could add between 10 and 100 new jobs.

Cost Impacts on Representative Private Persons or
Businesses: The Department is not aware of any cost
impacts that a representative private person or business
would necessarily incur in reasonable compliance with
the proposed action.

Business Impact: The Department is aware of only
five retail CNG stations located in limited service areas
that may be impacted by the fuel quality specifications
in the proposed regulation. Two are owned and operated
by Southern California Gas Company, one by Clean En-
ergy, one by Waste Management and one by Revolution
CNG. These are large companies who the Department
believes possess the necessary resources to absorb any
additional compliance costs associated with the adop-
tion of proposed specifications and labeling re-
quirements.

Effect on Small Businesses: The Department’s pro-
posal may affect small businesses. These entities will
incur minimal costs to comply with the proposed dis-
penser labeling requirements.

RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT
ASSESSMENT/ANALYSIS

The Department concludes that the proposed regula-
tion: (1) is unlikely to eliminate any jobs for natural gas

motor vehicle fuel retailers; (2) may create new jobs
within California; (3) may create new businesses within
California; (4) may affect the expansion of businesses
within California; and (5) is unlikely to eliminate any
existing businesses.

The Department has initially determined that the pro-
posed regulation would not have a significant adverse
economic impact directly affecting businesses includ-
ing the ability of California businesses to compete with
businesses in other states. The retail sale of natural gas
motor vehicle fuel is a localized economic activity and
currently, there are relatively few retailers that sell natu-
ral gas to the public.

The Department has determined that the proposed
regulation will likely have a positive effect on existing
small business by creating new business opportunities.
Existing fuel retailers in California could choose to ex-
pand their operations to include sales of natural gas.
This in turn could lead to job creation or expansion in
California for registered service agencies (RSA) that in-
stall, repair, and maintain the fuel dispensers and vehi-
cle mechanics who repair and maintain natural gas en-
gines. The Department estimates that between 1 and 10
new businesses in the RSA and mechanics sectors could
be created as a result of increased sales of natural gas fu-
els. These new businesses could add between 10 and
100 new jobs.

Benefits of the Proposed Regulations: The proposed
regulation will protect consumers and businesses, and
assist with California’s climate change goals to reduce
petroleum consumption, greenhouse gas emissions,
and local air pollution. Defining the legal requirements
for fuel quality and advertising for natural gas sold as a
motor vehicle fuel will ensure that consumers can make
value comparisons before purchase and between com-
peting retail service stations. Specifying the unit of
measure for CNG and LNG sold at retail will provide an
accurate delivery of a full measure. Positive consumer
experiences with high−quality natural gas vehicle fuel
may result in a greater awareness and acceptance of al-
ternative fuels and alternative fuel vehicles in general.

CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES

The Department must determine that no reasonable
alternative it considered or that has otherwise been
identified would be more effective in carrying out the
purpose for which the action is proposed. In addition,
the Department has determined that no reasonable alter-
native would be as effective as or less burdensome to af-
fected private persons than the proposed action, or
would be more cost−effective to affected private per-
sons and equally effective in implementing the statuto-
ry policy or other provision of law.
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CONTACT PERSONS

Inquiries about this notice may be directed to:

Pamela Fitch, Senior Environmental Scientist 
(Specialist) 

California Department of Food and Agriculture
Division of Measurement Standards
6790 Florin−Perkins Road, Suite 100 
Sacramento, CA 95828−1812
FAX: (916) 229−3026
Email: dms@cdfa.ca.gov

The backup contact person is:

Allan Morrison, Senior Environmental Scientist
(Supervisor) 

California Department of Food and Agriculture
Division of Measurement Standards
6790 Florin−Perkins Road, Suite 100 
Sacramento, CA 95828−1812
FAX: (916) 229−3026
Email: dms@cdfa.ca.gov

AVAILABILITY OF STATEMENT OF REASONS
AND TEXT OF PROPOSED REGULATIONS

The Department has prepared an initial statement of
reasons for the proposed action, has available all the in-
formation upon which its proposal is based, and has
available the express terms of the proposed action. A
copy of the statement of reasons, and the proposed regu-
lations in strikeout and underline form may be obtained
upon request. The rulemaking file and all information
on which the proposal is based are located at the Divi-
sion of Measurement Standards, 6790 Florin−Perkins
Road, Suite 100, Sacramento, California 95828, and
may be obtained upon request. Additionally, all docu-
ments relating to this rulemaking file are available on
the Department’s web site located at
www.cdfa.ca.gov/dms.

Following the written comment period, the Depart-
ment will adopt the proposal substantially as set forth
above without further notice. If the regulations adopted
by the Department differ from, but are sufficiently relat-
ed to, the action proposed will be available to the public
for at least 15 days prior to the date of adoption. Any in-
terested person may obtain a copy of said regulations
prior to the date of adoption by contacting the agency
officer named herein.

A Final Statement of Reasons, when available, may
be obtained by contacting Kevin Schnepp, Environ-
mental Program Manager, Fuels and Lubricants Labo-

ratory, Division of Measurement Standards at (916)
229−3000.

Website Access: Materials regarding this proposal
can be found by accessing the following Internet ad-
dress: www.cdfa.ca.gov/dms/regulations.html.

TITLE 10. BUREAU OF
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Bureau of Re-
al Estate Appraisers (“Bureau” or “BREA”) is propos-
ing to take the action described in the informative digest
below. Any interested person may present statements or
arguments relevant to the action proposed, orally or in
writing, at a hearing to be held at:

Department of Consumer Affairs
1747 North Market Blvd.
1st Floor Hearing Room 
Sacramento, CA 95834

Date: August 10, 2016
Time: 12:30 p.m.

Written comments including those sent by mail, fac-
simile, or email to the address listed under “Contact
Person” in this Notice, must be received by the Bureau
at its office not later than 5:00 p.m. on August 9, 2016 or
must be received by the Bureau at the hearing.

The Bureau, upon its own motion or at the instance of
any interested party, may thereafter adopt the proposals
substantially as described below or may modify such
proposals if such modifications are sufficiently related
to the original text. With the exception of technical or
grammatical changes, the full text of any modified pro-
posal will be available for 15 days prior to its adoption
from the person designated in this Notice as contact per-
son and will be mailed to those persons who submit
written or oral testimony related to this proposal or who
have requested notification of any changes to the
proposal.

Authority and Reference: Pursuant to the authority
vested by Sections 11313, 11314, and 11340 Business
and Professions Code and to implement, interpret and
make specific Sections 11340, 11345.4, 11345.45, and
11345.6 Business and Professions Code, the Bureau is
considering revising sections 3570, 3542, and 3577 to
Title 10 of the California Code of Regulations as de-
scribed in this Notice.

INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT
OVERVIEW

Currently, section 3570 allows for 90 days to process
a temporary practice permit (TPP). Federal law requires
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all TPPs be processed in five days.1  Therefore, Section
3570 is proposed to be amended to remove the 90 day
timeline for processing a TPP. Section 3570 is also be-
ing amended to remove the outdated language in subdi-
vision (c) regarding past processing times which do not
belong in regulation. Further, section 3570 contains ref-
erences to Government Code sections 15376 and 15377
which were repealed effective January 1, 2003 with
A.B. 1757.

Currently, section 3542 allows for experience gained
through standard four or five appraisals. Section 3542 is
proposed to be amended to comply with federal require-
ments. Under the provisions of Title XI of the Financial
Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of
1989 (FIRREA), the Appraisal Standard Board (ASB)2

develops, interprets, and amends the Uniform Stan-
dards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).
USPAP constitutes the minimum standard of conduct
and performance for a California licensed appraiser in
any work or service performed that is addressed by
USPAP.3 The ASB recently amended USPAP and re-
tired standard rule four and five. Requirements for each
level of licensure shall, at a minimum, meet the criteria
established by the Appraiser Qualification Board
(AQB).4 The AQB states that all experience must be
USPAP−compliant. Therefore, BREA can no longer ac-
cept experience gained through standard four or five ap-
praisals. As such, BREA proposes to remove standard
four and five appraisals from section 3542. Section
3542 is also proposed to be amended to allow BREA to
approve practicum courses. This will allow BREA, not
just AQB, to approve practicum courses that can pro-
vide experience credit for trainee appraisers.

Currently, section 3577 mentions “consulting assign-
ments.” Section 3577 is being amended to remove ref-
erence to “consulting assignments.” This change is nec-
essary because USPAP retired consulting appraisals so
appraisers can no longer complete consulting assign-
ments. Therefore, appraisal management companies
cannot improperly influence consulting assignments
because there are no consulting assignments to
influence.

1 Title XI of Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and En-
forcement Act of 1989 prohibits states from imposing burden-
some requirements, as determined by the ASC, for temporary
practice. (12 U.S.C. section 3351.) The ASC has set a maximum
of five days to approve or deny a TPP. (See ASC Policy Statement
Two.)
2 The ASB is composed of board members who are appointed by
the Appraisal Foundation (AF). The AF is a not−for−profit corpo-
ration monitored by the Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC). The
ASC is a federally created subcommittee lead by heads of federal
financial agencies.
3 Business and Professions Code section 11319.
4 Business and Professions Code section 11314. The structure of
the AQB is similar to the ASB. 

ANTICIPATED BENEFITS

The benefit will be compliance with state and federal
requirements and removal of outdated language. Also,
allowing BREA to approve practicum courses will al-
low BREA, not just AQB, to approve practicum cour-
ses. This change can provide excellent experience cred-
it for trainee appraisers. Currently, there are no AQB ap-
proved practicum courses.

CONSISTENCY OR COMPATIBILITY WITH
EXISTING STATE REGULATIONS

During the process of developing these regulations,
the Bureau has conducted a search of any similar regu-
lations on this topic and has determined that there is no
reasonable interpretation of any state regulation that is
inconsistent or incompatible with the proposed action.

FISCAL IMPACT ESTIMATES

Fiscal Impact on Public Agencies Including Costs or
Savings to State Agencies or Costs/Savings in Federal
Funding to the State: Minimal.

Nondiscretionary Costs/Savings to Local Agencies:
None.

Cost to, or mandate imposed on, any Local Agency or
School District for Which Government Code Sections
17500−17630 Require Reimbursement: None.

Business Impact: The Bureau has made an initial de-
termination that the proposed regulatory action would
have no significant statewide adverse economic impact
directly affecting business, including the ability of Cali-
fornia businesses to compete with businesses in other
states.

As part of its Economic Impact Analysis, the Bureau
has determined that its proposal will not affect the abili-
ty of California businesses to compete with other states
by making it more costly to produce goods or services.
The federal requirements are mandatory for all 50
states. Accordingly, this action does not affect Califor-
nia competiveness.

Impact on Jobs/New Businesses: None.
Cost Impact on Representative Private Person or

Business: The agency is not aware of any cost impacts
that a representative private person or business would
necessarily incur in reasonable compliance with the
proposed action.

Effect on Housing Costs: None.
Effect on Small Businesses: The Bureau has deter-

mined that the proposed regulations will not signifi-
cantly affect small businesses. This is because the only
impact of the proposed action would be the ability for
the Bureau to approve practicum courses. If the Bureau
did choose to approve such a course, it would charge
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$350 to review the course as with any other educational
course. If approved, the approved party would be able
to offer the course.

RESULTS OF THE ECONOMIC
IMPACT ASSESSMENT

Impact on Jobs/New Businesses: The Bureau has de-
termined that this regulatory proposal will not have a
significant impact on the creation or elimination of jobs,
new or existing businesses, or the expansion of busi-
nesses in the State of California.

Benefits: The benefits will be in compliance with
state and federal requirements, removal of outdated lan-
guage and allowance of BREA approved practicum
courses.

Occupations/Businesses Impacted: The proposed
regulation will not have an occupational/business
impact.

Reporting Requirements: The proposed regulation
does not set forth any new reporting requirements.

Comparable Federal Regulations: None.

CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES

The Bureau must determine that no reasonable alter-
native considered by the Bureau or that has otherwise
been identified and brought to the attention of the Bu-
reau would be more effective in carrying out the pur-
pose for which the action is proposed, would be as ef-
fective and less burdensome to affected private persons
than the proposed action, or would be more cost−
effective to affected private persons and equally effec-
tive in implementing the statutory policy or other provi-
sion of law.

Any interested person may present statements or ar-
guments orally or in writing relevant to the above deter-
minations at the above−mentioned hearing.

INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS
AND INFORMATION

The Bureau has prepared an initial statement of the
reasons for the proposed action containing information
upon which the proposal is based.

The proposed text, this notice, the statement of rea-
sons, and any other relevant documents are on the Bu-
reau’s website at www.brea.ca.gov. Click the “Laws”
tab at the top of the page. Under the heading “Rulemak-
ing Notifications” find the documents associated with
this rulemaking subject: “License Application
Processing.”

AVAILABILITY AND LOCATION OF THE
STATEMENT OF REASONS, TEXT OF

PROPOSED REGULATION AND
RULEMAKING FILE

All the information upon which the proposed regula-
tions are based is contained in the rulemaking file which
is available for public inspection by contacting the per-
son named below. As of the date this notice is published
in the Notice of Register, the rulemaking file consists of
this notice, the proposed text of the regulation and the
initial statement of reasons. Copies may be obtained by
contacting the person named below or by accessing the
website as provided above.

AVAILABILITY OF CHANGED OR
MODIFIED TEXT

After holding the hearing and considering all timely
and relevant comments received, BREA may adopt the
proposed regulation substantially, as described in this
notice. If BREA makes modifications which are suffi-
ciently related to the originally proposed text, it will
make the modified text (with the changes clearly indi-
cated) available to the public for at least 15 days before
BREA adopts the regulations as revised. Please send re-
quests for copies of any modified regulation to the at-
tention of the contact person named below. BREA will
accept written comments on the modified regulation for
15 days after the date on which they are made available.

AVAILABILITY OF THE FINAL STATEMENT
OF REASONS

Upon its competition, copies of the Final Statement
of Reasons may be obtained by contacting the person
named below.

CONTACT PERSON

Inquiries or comments concerning the proposed rule-
making action may be addressed to:

Kyle Muteff, Legal Counsel 
1102 Q Street, Suite 4100 
Phone: 916−341−6126 
FAX: 916−440−7406
kyle.muteff@orea.ca.gov

The backup person is:

Thu Tran
1102 Q Street, Suite 4100
 Phone: 916−440−7876 
FAX: 916−440−7406
Thu.Tran@orea.ca.gov
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TITLE 15. DEPARTMENT OF
CORRECTIONS AND REHABILITATION

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Secretary of
the California Department of Corrections and Rehabili-
tation (CDCR), pursuant to the authority granted by
Government Code (GC) Section 12838.5 and Penal
Code (PC) Section 5055, and the rulemaking authority
granted by PC Section 5058 and 5058.3, in order to im-
plement, interpret and make specific PC section 5054,
proposes to amend Sections 3000, 3084.7, 3312, 3313,
3314, 3315, 3316, 3317, 3317.1, 3317.2, 3320, 3322,
3326, 3340, 3341.3, 3376, and 3378.6, of the California
Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 15, Division 3, con-
cerning the automation of Inmate Discipline.

PUBLIC HEARING

Date and 
Time:  August 12, 2016 from 

10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. 
Place: Department of Corrections 

and Rehabilitation 
Kern Room
1515 S Street — North Building 
Sacramento, CA 95811

Purpose: To receive comments about this 
action.

AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE

PC Section 5000 provides that commencing July 1,
2005, any reference to the Department of Corrections in
this or any code, refers to the CDCR, Division of Adult
Operations. PC Section 5050 provides that commenc-
ing July 1, 2005, any reference to the Director of Cor-
rections, in this or any other code, refers to the Secretary
of the CDCR. As of that date, the office of the Director
of Corrections is abolished.

INFORMATIVE DIGEST

The California Department of Corrections and Reha-
bilitation (CDCR) proposes to adopt revisions to the
California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 15, Divi-
sion 3, Sections 3000 Definitions, 3006 Contraband,
and 3323 Disciplinary Credit Forfeiture Schedule, to
clarify regulations pertaining to the classification and
level of penalties for the possession of any cellular tele-
phone or wireless communication device accessories
and/or components.

The Department provides a graduated system of in-
mate discipline designed to be administered commen-

surate with the seriousness of the offense. Discipline is
administered so as to maintain control, conserve human
values and individual dignity, and promote socially de-
sirable changes in attitude and behavior. The inmate
discipline system incorporates statutory and constitu-
tional mandates and provides essential due process
guarantees to ensure fairness and equal application.

For many years, the Department has utilized assigned
inmate workers (clerks), when appropriate, to assist in
the clerical duties of typing inmate disciplinary docu-
ments. The Ralph Coleman v. Edmond Brown court
case recently issued a stipulation within the ongoing
case mandating that the CDCR agree to immediately
end the practice of using inmate workers in any aspect
of the Rules Violation Report process. The stipulation
also mandated the Department to upgrade the Strategic
Offender Management System (SOMS) to implement
the disciplinary documentation process electronically.

The goal of the SOMS project is to replace CDCR’s
disparate legacy application systems and array of paper
files with an integrated Offender Management System
and Electronic Records Management System (ERMS).
SOMS comprises two different applications which in-
clude ERMS and SOMS.

ERMS is a cumulative data collection process that
will auto populate specific information on all documen-
tation, such as an inmate’s name and number, current
date, county of last residence, institution/facility hous-
ing, etc.

Currently, all inmate discipline is recorded on paper
forms such as the CDC Forms 128−A, 115, 115−A, and
115−C. The removal of these forms is reflected in the
text and replaced with the appropriate language and/or
screen name as appropriate throughout Division 3, of
the California Code of Regulations, Title 15.

Inmate discipline will now be recorded on SOMS
screens. The information will be directly input by staff;
thus removing inmate workers from the process. With
the implementation and conversion to electronic docu-
menting of Inmate Discipline, inmates will continue to
receive all requisite documentation in the same consti-
tutionally mandated time frames and with the same in-
formation as to their rights with respect to the disci-
plinary process. Though inmates will still receive
copies/printouts of the disciplinary proceedings as af-
forded to them, the implementation will create an over-
all decrease in the need/use of paper and reduction in the
amount of waste created and increase the efficiency of
the disciplinary process through automation.

POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW

The proposed regulatory action will benefit staff and
inmates within the CDCR as the information previously
contained on paper is now contained in a fully automat-
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ed system and is readily available to CDCR staff trained
in the use of SOMS and ERMS. This information will
also be available to multiple users statewide. These re-
visions and implementation of this automation will in-
crease the efficiency of the disciplinary process and are
anticipated to lower the chances of potential “due−
process” timeline violations. Though inmates will still
receive copies/printouts of the disciplinary proceedings
as afforded to them, the implementation will also create
an overall decrease in the need/use of paper and reduc-
tion in the amount of waste created.

EVALUATION OF
INCONSISTENCY/INCOMPATIBILITY WITH

EXISTING STATE REGULATIONS

Pursuant to Government Code 11346.5(a)(3)(D), the
Department must evaluate whether the proposed regu-
lations are inconsistent or incompatible with existing
State regulations. Pursuant to this evaluation, the De-
partment has reviewed existing regulations and deter-
mined that these proposed regulations are not inconsis-
tent or incompatible.

LOCAL MANDATES

The Department has determined that these regula-
tions do not impose a mandate on local agencies or
school districts, or a mandate which requires reim-
bursement of costs or savings pursuant to Government
Code Sections 17500−17630.

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT

� Cost to any local agency or school district 
that is required to be reimbursed: none

� Cost or savings to any state agency: none
� Other nondiscretionary cost or savings 

imposed on local agencies: none
� Cost or savings in federal funding to the

 State: none

SIGNIFICANT STATEWIDE ADVERSE
ECONOMIC IMPACT AFFECTING BUSINESSES

The Department has initially determined that the pro-
posed regulations will not have a significant statewide
adverse economic impact directly affecting businesses,
including the ability of California businesses to com-
pete with businesses in other states.

COST IMPACTS ON REPRESENTATIVE
PRIVATE PERSONS OR BUSINESSES

The Department is not aware of any cost impacts that
a representative private person or business would nec-
essarily incur in reasonable compliance with the pro-
posed action.

RESULTS OF ECONOMIC
IMPACT ASSESSMENT

These regulations are directed at the internal manage-
ment of State prisons and do not impose any obliga-
tions, duties, fees, costs, responsibilities, reporting re-
quirements, etc. on California businesses, large or
small. No economic impacts have been brought to the
attention of the Department. The Department has there-
fore concluded that these regulations will have no im-
pact on the creation of new, or the elimination of exist-
ing jobs or businesses within California, or affect the
expansion of businesses currently doing business in
California. Regarding benefits, these regulations will
protect the health and safety of California residents,
worker safety, and the State’s environment by provid-
ing a safe environment that will encourage visitation for
families, which will have a positive impact on inmates,
and increase worker safety.

EFFECT ON SMALL BUSINESSES

The Department has determined that the proposed
regulations may not affect small businesses. It is deter-
mined that this action has no significant adverse eco-
nomic impact on small business because they are not af-
fected by the internal management of state prisons.

EFFECT ON HOUSING COSTS

The Department has made an initial determination
that the proposed action will have no significant effect
on housing costs.

CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES

The Department must determine that no reasonable
alternative considered by the Department, or that has
otherwise been identified and brought to the attention of
the Department, would be more effective in carrying
out the purpose for which the action is proposed, would
be as effective and less burdensome to affected private
persons than the proposed action, or would be more
cost−effective to affected private persons and equally
effective in implementing the statutory policy or other
provisions of law. Interested persons are accordingly
invited to present statements or arguments with respect
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to any alternatives to the changes proposed at the sched-
uled hearing or during the written comment period.

CONTACT PERSON

Please direct any inquiries regarding this action to:

Timothy M. Lockwood, Chief
Regulation and Policy Management Branch 
Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation 
P.O. Box 942883
Sacramento, CA 94283−0001 
Telephone (916) 445−2269

In the event the contact person is unavailable, in-
quiries should be directed to the following back−up
person:

Anthony Carter
Regulation and Policy Management Branch 
Telephone (916) 445−2220

Questions regarding the substance of the proposed
regulatory action should be directed to:

John McClure
Associate Governmental Program Analyst
Enterprise Information Systems — SOMS
California Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation 
(916) 708−1355

WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD

The public comment period will close August 12,
2016 at 5:00 p.m. Any interested person, or his or her
authorized representative, may submit written com-
ments relevant to the proposed regulatory action (by
mail, by fax, or by e−mail) to CDCR, Regulation and
Policy Management Branch, P.O. Box 942883, Sacra-
mento, CA 94283−0001; by fax at (916) 324−6075; or
by e−mail at RPMB@cdcr.ca.gov before the close of
the comment period.

AVAILABILITY OF PROPOSED TEXT AND
INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS

The Department has prepared, and will make avail-
able, the text, any documents incorporated by refer-
ence, and the Initial Statement of Reasons (ISOR) of the
proposed regulations. The rulemaking file for this regu-
latory action, which contains those items and all infor-
mation on which the proposal is based (i.e., rulemaking
file) is available to the public upon request directed to
the Department’s contact person. The proposed text,
ISOR, documents incorporated by reference, and No-

tice of Proposed Regulations will also be made avail-
able on the Department’s website: 
http://www.cdcr.ca. gov.

AVAILABILITY OF CHANGES TO
PROPOSED TEXT

After considering all timely and relevant comments
received, the Department may adopt the proposed regu-
lations substantially as described in this Notice. If the
Department makes modifications which are sufficient-
ly related to the originally proposed text, it will make
the modified text (with the changes clearly indicated)
available to the public for at least 15 days before the De-
partment adopts the regulations as revised. Requests for
copies of any modified regulation text should be direct-
ed to the contact person indicated in this Notice. The
Department will accept written comments on the modi-
fied regulations for 15 days after the date on which they
are made available.

AVAILABILITY OF THE FINAL STATEMENT
OF REASONS

Following its preparation, a copy of the Final State-
ment of Reasons will be available on the Department’s
website at http://www.cdcr.ca.gov, and may also be ob-
tained from the Department’s contact person.

TITLE 16. BOARD OF BARBERING
AND COSMETOLOGY

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Board of Bar-
bering and Cosmetology (hereinafter “the Board”) is
proposing to take the action described in the
Informative Digest. Any person interested may present
statements or arguments orally or in writing relevant to
the action proposed at a hearing to be held from
9 a.m.−11 a.m. on August 9, 2016 in the Sequoia Room
at the Board’s offices at 2420 Del Paso Road, Sacra-
mento, California, 95834. Written comments, includ-
ing those sent by mail, facsimile, or e−mail to the ad-
dresses listed under Contact Person in this Notice, must
be received by the Board at its offices not later than 5:00
p.m. on August 9, 2016 or must be received by the
Board at the hearing. The Board, upon its own motion or
at the instance of any interested party, may thereafter
adopt the proposals substantially as described below or
may modify such proposals if such modifications are
sufficiently related to the original text. With the excep-
tion of technical or grammatical changes, the full text of
any modified proposal will be available for 15 days pri-
or to its adoption from the person designated in this No-
tice as contact person and will be mailed to those per-
sons who submit written or oral testimony related to this
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proposal or who have requested notification of any
changes to the proposal.

Authority and Reference: Pursuant to the authority
vested by Section 7312 of the Business and Professions
Code, and to implement, interpret or make specific Sec-
tions 129(e) and 7404 of the Business and Professions
Code, the Board is considering changes to Division 9 of
Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as fol-
lows:

INFORMATIVE DIGEST

A. Informative Digest

Amend Sections 904 and 905
Section 7312 of the Business and Professions Code

gives the Board broad authority to enforce the Barber-
ing and Cosmetology Act, including disciplining peo-
ple who are in violation of the act and developing health
and safety standards. Section 129 of the Business and
Professions Code generally describes how complaints
must be handled by licensing entities such as the Board,
while subsection (e) mandates that the Board “take
whatever action it deems necessary . . . to inform the
public of its functions under this section.” This regula-
tory proposal eliminates the requirement that all barber-
ing and cosmetology establishments post a Board−
produced poster that includes the Board’s health and
safety regulations (promulgated in Article 12 of Divi-
sion 9 of Title 16). Establishments would instead be re-
quired to post only the “Message to the Consumer” por-
tion of the poster, in a format each establishment can
easily reproduce and/or print out on its own. The mes-
sage is also simplified for the benefit of consumers, and
invites them to contact the Board if they have any com-
plaint, without asking them to evaluate whether the
complaint is within the Board’s jurisdiction. The poster
also displays a link to the Board’s Web page where the
full text of the Board’s laws and regulations can be
found.
B. Policy Statement Overview/Anticipated Benefits

of Proposal 
Because it lists nearly all of Article 12 of Division 9 of

Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, the cur-
rent health and safety poster is lengthy, typographically
dense, and rarely, if ever, actually read by the consumer
during a visit to the establishment. This means that the
“Message to the Consumer” portion of the poster —
which the Board believes to be the most important sec-
tion for consumers — goes largely unnoticed by the
public. Moreover, each time the Board’s health and
safety regulations change — as they recently did on July
1, 2015 — a new poster must be produced and distrib-

uted to all licensed establishments at a considerable ex-
pense to the Board. This regulatory change will elimi-
nate that expense. The new poster also displays a link to
the Board’s Web site where consumers can read the
Board’s rules and regulations in four languages at their
leisure. The Board believes consumers will be more
likely to actually read the regulations in the comfort of
their own home, away from the bustle of a salon.
C. Consistency and Compatibility with Existing

State Regulations
After conducting a review for any regulations that

would relate to or affect this area, the Board has deter-
mined this proposal is not inconsistent or incompatible
with existing state regulations.

FISCAL IMPACT ESTIMATES

Fiscal Impact on Public Agencies Including Costs or
Savings to State Agencies or Costs/Savings in Federal
Funding to the State: The Board estimates it will save
$10,000, which would be the approximate cost of print-
ing and mailing copies of the existing poster to Califor-
nia’s approximately 40,000 licensed establishments.

Nondiscretionary Costs/Savings to Local Agencies:
None.

Local Mandate: None.
Cost to Any Local Agency or School District for

Which Government Code Sections 17500−17630
Require Reimbursement: None.
Business Impact:

The board has made an initial determination that be-
cause the poster can be printed on a simple piece of
8.5−by−11−inch paper, the proposed regulatory action
would have no significant statewide adverse economic
impact directly affecting business, including the ability
of California businesses to compete with businesses in
other states.
Cost Impact on Representative Private Person or
Business: 

The Board is not aware of any cost impacts that a rep-
resentative private person or business would necessari-
ly incur in reasonable compliance with the proposed ac-
tion.

Effect on Housing Costs: None.

EFFECT ON SMALL BUSINESS

The Board has determined that the proposed
regulation will not affect small businesses in any signif-
icant way because the “Message to the Consumer”
poster can now be easily and cheaply printed on a regu-
lar sheet of 8 1/2′′ by 11′′ paper.
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RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT
ASSESSMENT/ANALYSIS

Impact on Jobs/Businesses:
The Board has determined that this regulatory pro-

posal will not have an impact on the creation of jobs or
new businesses or the elimination of jobs or existing
businesses or the expansion of businesses in the State of
California.
Benefits of Regulation:

The Board has determined that this regulatory pro-
posal will benefit the public by helping consumers be-
come more aware of the Board’s enforcement
functions.

CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES

The Board must determine that no reasonable alterna-
tive it considered to the regulation or that has otherwise
been identified and brought to its attention would be
more effective in carrying out the purpose for which the
action is proposed, would be as effective and less bur-
densome to affected private persons than the proposal
described in this Notice, or would be more cost effec-
tive to affected private persons and equally effective in
implementing the statutory policy or other provision of
law.

Any interested person may present statements or ar-
guments orally or in writing relevant to the above deter-
minations at the above−mentioned hearing.

INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS
AND INFORMATION

The Board has prepared an initial statement of the
reasons for the proposed action and has available all the
information upon which the proposal is based.

TEXT OF PROPOSAL

Copies of the exact language of the proposed regula-
tions, and any document incorporated by reference, and
of the initial statement of reasons, and all of the infor-
mation upon which the proposal is based, may be ob-
tained at the hearing or prior to the hearing upon request
from the Contact Person named below.

AVAILABILITY AND LOCATION OF THE FINAL
STATEMENT OF REASONS AND

RULEMAKING FILE

All the information upon which the proposed regula-
tions are based is contained in the rulemaking file which

is available for public inspection by contacting the per-
son named below.

You may obtain a copy of the final statement of rea-
sons once it has been prepared, by making a written re-
quest to the contact person named below or by access-
ing the Web site listed below.

CONTACT PERSON

Inquiries or comments concerning the proposed rule-
making action may be addressed to:

Name: Kevin Flanagan 
Address: 2420 Del Paso Road, Suite 100 

Sacramento, CA 95834 
Telephone 

No.: (916) 575−7100 
Fax No.:  (916) 928−6810  
E−Mail 

Address: Kevin.Flanagan@dca.ca.gov

The backup contact person is:

Name: Patricia Garcia
Address: 2420 Del Paso Road, Suite 100

 Sacramento, CA 95834 
Telephone 

No.: (916) 575−7100  
Fax No.: (916) 928−6810
E−Mail 

Address: Patricia.Garcia@dca.ca.gov

Website Access: Materials regarding this proposal
can be found at http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/laws_
regs/prop_regs.shtml.

TITLE 16. CALIFORNIA BOARD OF
OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the California
Board of Occupational Therapy (Board) is proposing to
take the action described in the Informative Digest. Any
person interested may submit statements or arguments
relevant to the action proposed in writing. Written com-
ments, including those sent by mail, facsimile, or email
to the addresses listed under Contact Person in this No-
tice, must be received by the Board at its office not later
than 5:00 p.m. on August 8, 2016.

The Board does not intend to hold a hearing in this
matter. If any interested party wishes that a hearing be
held, he or she must make the request in writing to the
CBOT. The request must be received in the Board office
not later than 5:00 p.m. on July 25, 2016.

The Board, upon its own motion or at the instance of
any interested party, may thereafter adopt the proposals
substantially as described below or may modify such
proposals if such modifications are sufficiently related
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to the original text. With the exception of technical or
grammatical changes, the full text of any modified pro-
posal will be available for 15 days prior to its adoption
from the person designated in this Notice as Contact
Person and will be mailed to those persons who submit
written or oral testimony related to this proposal or who
have requested notification of any changes to the
proposal.

Authority and Reference: Pursuant to the authority
vested by section 2570.20 of the Business and Profes-
sions Code (BPC), and to implement, interpret or make
specific sections 2570.10 and 2570.11 of said Code, the
Board is proposing to revise Division 39, Title 16 of the
California Code of Regulations (CCR) as follows:

INFORMATIVE DIGEST

Informative Digest
The Board is the regulatory entity that regulates the

practice of occupational therapy in the State of Califor-
nia. Existing law, BPC section 2570.25, mandates pro-
tection of the public shall be the highest priority of the
Board in exercising its licensing, regulatory, and disci-
plinary functions.
Policy Statement Overview

Existing law, BPC section 2570.10 establishes that in
addition to any other qualifications and requirements
for license renewal, the Board may by rule establish and
require the satisfactory completion of continuing com-
petency requirements as a condition of renewal of a
license.

This proposed action will amend 16 CCR Section
4161 which establishes and defines the requirements
for occupational therapists and occupational therapy
assistants to complete continuing competency require-
ments as a condition for license renewal. This is demon-
strated by completing twenty−four (24) professional
development units (PDUs) during the preceding (two−
year) renewal period and recording the information on
the renewal form.

In the case of a license renewed after its expiration,
the licensee must submit evidence of completing 24
PDUs within the two years immediately preceding the
delinquent renewal.

This proposed action will amend 16 CCR Section
4162, which establishes and defines the requirements
for occupational therapists and occupational therapy
assistants to record, on the renewal form, the date each
course or activity was completed, the provider, the
course number/title, if applicable, the description of the
course, and the total number of PDUs. Records showing
participation in each professional development activity
must be maintained by the occupational therapy practi-
tioner for four (4) years following the renewal period. A

maximum of six (6) PDUs in excess of the required 24
PDUs may be carried over to the next renewal period.
Any occupational therapy practitioner who is unable to
provide records documenting completion of the contin-
uing competency requirements is subject to citation
and/or administrative fine or disciplinary action. The
proposed action will amend the number of PDUs a prac-
titioner will receive for the supervision of a Level II stu-
dent and also receive credit for the supervision of a Lev-
el I student. The said supervision must be documented
by the practitioner, immediately upon conclusion of the
supervision period, using the Fieldwork Education
PDU Attestation form (Form FEA New 6/2016) hereby
incorporated by reference, and shall contain a statement
under penalty of perjury regarding the truthfulness of
the information contained therein.

This proposed action will amend 16 CCR Section
4163 which, for those licensees unable to complete
PDUs due to physical or mental disability, limits the
continuing competency exemptions allowed before a li-
censee must renew their license in an inactive status.

Benefit of Proposed Regulations

This proposed action will encourage and incentivize
practitioners to supervise the fieldwork of Level I and
Level II occupational therapist and occupational thera-
py assistant students by allowing the practitioners to re-
ceive credits for doing so. For supervising the fieldwork
of a Level I student, the practitioner will receive one (1)
PDU. For each forty (40) hours of supervision of the
fieldwork of a Level II student, the practitioner will re-
ceive (1) PDU. A maximum of twelve (12) PDUs of
credit for supervising Level II and/or Level I students
shall be allowed per renewal period. Existing regula-
tions allow the practitioner to receive 0.5 PDUs for each
60 hours of supervision of the fieldwork of Level II oc-
cupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant
students.

This proposed action will also allow the fieldwork su-
pervision hours of a single student to be divided be-
tween licensees as there is no sole supervisor during the
fieldwork. Total weekly hours claimed by more than
one licensee sharing supervision of a single student
shall not exceed 40 hours per week. Credit for PDUs
shall only be earned for the dates of supervision occur-
ring during the renewal period. The supervision shall
not be the primary responsibility of the licensee’s
employment.

This proposed action will require an occupational
therapy practitioner who supervises a student complet-
ing their Level I and/or Level II fieldwork to document
said supervision using a newly proposed form entitled
the Fieldwork Education PDU Attestation form (Form
FEA New 6/2016), which contains a statement under
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penalty of perjury regarding the truthfulness of the in-
formation contained therein.

This proposed action will clarify that an exemption
will not be granted for two (2) consecutive renewal pe-
riods. In the event a licensee cannot complete continu-
ing competency requirements following an exemption,
the licensee may only renew the license in an inactive
status.

The proposed regulatory action defines, clarifies, and
updates many aspects and principals of the Board’s con-
tinuing competency requirement and promotes more
efficient administration, coordination, and enforce-
ment of the continuing competence requirements. The
proposed regulatory action ultimately is designed to en-
hance and promote public safety by ensuring practition-
ers stay current with trends and technological advances
in the delivery of occupational therapy services to the
public.
Consistency and Compatibility with Existing State
Regulations

The Board has conducted a review of existing related
regulations and has determined that these are the only
regulations dealing with continuing competency of oc-
cupational therapists and occupational therapy assis-
tants. Therefore, this regulatory proposal is consistent
and compatible with existing state regulations.

Documents Incorporated by Reference: Fieldwork
Education PDU Attestation Form FEA (New 6/2016).

FISCAL IMPACT ESTIMATES

Fiscal Impact on Public Agencies Including Costs or
Savings to State Agencies or Costs/Savings in Federal
Funding to the State: None.

Nondiscretionary Costs/Savings to Local Agencies:
None.

Local Mandate: None.
Local Agency or School District for Which Govern-

ment Code Sections 17500−17630 Require Reimburse-
ment: None.
Business Impact:

The Board has made a determination that the pro-
posed regulatory action would not have a significant,
statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting
business, including the ability of California businesses
to compete with businesses in other states.

RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ANALYSIS

Impact on Jobs/New Business:
The Board has determined that this regulatory pro-

posal will not have an adverse impact on the creation of
jobs or new businesses or the elimination of jobs or ex-

isting businesses or the expansion of businesses in the
State of California.

Existing regulations already require occupational
therapy practitioners to complete continuing compe-
tence (continuing education) course work or activities.
This proposed action will allow practitioners to receive
credit for supervising the fieldwork of Level I occupa-
tional therapist and occupational therapy assistant stu-
dents and increase credit for supervising fieldwork of
Level II students. This proposed action will also make
other amendments related to the accumulation of con-
tinuing competency credits and clarify and establish a
limit on the number of continuing competence exemp-
tions that can be granted to a licensee.
Benefits to the Health and Welfare of California
Residents, Worker Safety, and the State’s Environment:

The proposed regulatory action amends and updates
existing regulations relevant to continuing competence
requirements for occupational therapy practitioners.
Adoption of this proposed action will enhance and pro-
mote the administration, coordination, and enforce-
ment of these provisions and ultimately promote the
Board’s mandate to protect the health, safety, and wel-
fare of California consumers.
Cost Impact on Affected Private Persons:

The Board is not aware of any cost impacts that a rep-
resentative private person or business would necessari-
ly incur in reasonable compliance with the proposed ac-
tion. The Board has determined that this regulatory pro-
posal will not adversely impact affected private persons
(licensed occupational therapy practitioners and future
applicants). Existing regulations require practitioners
and applicants to complete PDUs in order to renew their
license. This proposed action does not increase or de-
crease the number of PDUs that are required for license
renewal.

Effect on Housing Costs: None.
Effect on Small Business:

The Board has made a determination that the pro-
posed regulatory action would have no statewide ad-
verse economic impact on small business. The pro-
posed regulatory action impacts individuals licensed to
provide or assist in the practice of occupational therapy.

CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES

The Board must determine that no reasonable alterna-
tive it considered to the regulation or that has otherwise
been identified and brought to its attention would either
be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which
the action is proposed or would be as effective as and
less burdensome to affected private persons than the
proposal described in this Notice or would be more
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cost−effective to the private persons and equally effec-
tive in implementing the statutory policy or other provi-
sion of law.

Any interested person may present statements or ar-
guments orally or in writing relevant to the above deter-
minations within the timeframes identified in this No-
tice, or at a hearing in the event that such a request is
made by the public.

TEXT OF PROPOSAL

Copies of the exact language of the proposed regula-
tion, and any document incorporated by reference, and
of the initial statement of reasons, and all of the infor-
mation upon which the proposal is based, may be ob-
tained from the contact person listed below.

AVAILABILITY AND LOCATION OF THE FINAL
STATEMENT OF REASONS AND

RULEMAKING FILE

All the information upon which the proposed regula-
tion is based is contained in the rulemaking file, which
is available for public inspection by contacting the per-
son named below.

You may obtain a copy of the final statement of rea-
sons once it has been prepared, by making a written re-
quest to the contact person named below or by access-
ing the Board’s website as listed below.

CONTACT PERSON

Inquiries or comments concerning the proposed rule-
making action may be addressed to:

Jeff Hanson
California Board of Occupational Therapy 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2250 
Sacramento, CA 95815 
(916) 263−2294 (Tel)
 (916) 263−2701 (Fax)

The backup contact person is:

Ranjila Sandhu
[Same contact information as above]

Website Access: All materials regarding this pro-
posal can be found on−line at www.bot.ca.gov >
Laws and Regulations > Proposed Regulations.

TITLE 16. DENTAL BOARD OF
CALIFORNIA

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Dental
Board of California (Board) is proposing to take the ac-
tion described in the Informative Digest. Any person in-
terested may present statements or arguments orally or
in writing relevant to the action proposed at a hearing to
be held at:

Department of Consumer Affairs
2005 Evergreen Street
1st Floor Hearing Room 
Sacramento, California 95815
Monday, August 8, 2016
10:00 a.m.

Written comments, including those sent by mail, fac-
simile, or e−mail to the addresses listed under Contact
Person in this Notice, must be received by the Board at
its office not later than 5:00 p.m. on Monday, August 8,
2016 or must be received by the Board at the hearing.
The Board, upon its own motion or at the instance of any
interested party, may thereafter adopt the proposals
substantially as described below or may modify such
proposals if such modifications are sufficiently related
to the original text. With the exception of technical or
grammatical changes, the full text of any modified pro-
posal will be available for 15 days prior to its adoption
from the person designated in this Notice as contact per-
son and will be mailed to those persons who submit
written or oral testimony related to this proposal or who
have requested notification of any changes to the pro-
posal.

AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE

Pursuant to the authority vested by Sections 1614,
1724, and 1725 of the Business and Professions Code,
to implement, interpret or make specific Sections 1724
and 1725 of the Business and Professions Code, the
Board is considering changes to Division 10 of Title 16
of the California Code of Regulations as follows:

INFORMATIVE DIGEST/ POLICY STATEMENT
OVERVIEW

The Board regulates approximately 101,500 li-
censees; consisting of 45,400 dentists (DDS), 54,500
registered dental assistants (RDA), and 1,600 regis-
tered dental assistants in extended functions (RDAEF).
In addition, the Board has the responsibility for setting
the duties and functions of approximately 50,000 unli-
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censed dental assistants. The Board’s highest priority is
the protection of the public when exercising its licens-
ing, regulatory, and disciplinary functions. The primary
methods by which the Board achieves this goal are: is-
suing licenses to eligible applicants; investigating com-
plaints against licensees and disciplining licensees for
violations of the Dental Practice Act (Act); monitoring
licensees whose licenses have been placed on proba-
tion; and managing the Diversion Program for licensees
whose practice may be impaired due to abuse of danger-
ous drugs or alcohol.

Existing law, Business and Professions Code Section
1724, authorizes the Board to charge various fees for
dentists licensed and permitted by the Board as is neces-
sary for the purpose of carrying out the responsibilities
required by the Act. Business and Professions Code
Section 1724 also establishes the maximum fee amount
the Board may assess its dentist licensees by regulation.

Existing law, Business and Professions Code Section
1725, authorizes the Board to charge various fees for
dental assistants licensed and permitted by the Board as
is necessary for the purpose of carrying out the respon-
sibilities required by the Act. Code Section 1725 also
establishes the maximum fee amount the Board may as-
sess its dental assistant licensees by regulation.

The Dental Board is a self−supporting, special fund
agency that obtains its revenues from licensing and per-
mit fees of dentists and dental assistants. The revenues
are deposited and maintained in two separate funds
which are not comingled. The Dentistry Fund (0741)
supports operations for dentists and related ancillary
services, and the Dental Assisting Fund (3142) supports
operations for dental assistants and related ancillary
services. Although there is no statutory requirement,
the Board’s objective is to maintain a three−month re-
serve of funds for economic uncertainties and to operate
with a prudent reserve in each fund.

According to the State Dentistry Fund Condition for
the Governor’s Budget 2016−17, the Board is project-
ing a fund balance deficit of $2.24 million in Budget
Year (BY) 2017−18 as well as an ongoing fund balance
deficit thereafter. According to the State Dental Assis-
tant Fund Condition for the Governor’s Budget
2016−17, the Board is projecting a fund balance deficit
of $158,000 in BY 2017−18 as well as an ongoing fund
balance deficit thereafter.

The Dentistry Fund is maintained by the Board and
includes the revenues and expenditures related to li-
censing for dentists. For sixteen years, the license fee
for dentists was set at $365. In 2013, for the first time in
16 years, the Board increased its license fee for dentists
from $365 to its statutory cap at the time of $450. These
regulations went into effect on July 1, 2014. During that
time, the Board also pursued an increase in statute from

$450 to $525. SB 1416 (Block, Chapter 73, Statutes of
2014) raised the Board’s fee for initial and renewal li-
censes for dentists from $450 to $525, and set fees at
that level. During that time, an analysis conducted by
the DCA’s Budget Office determined that the license
fees should be raised to $525 to ensure solvency into the
foreseeable future. While increased fees have generated
additional revenue, the Board expenditures, projected
to be over $12M per year, continue to outpace its rev-
enue, projected to be less than $11M per year, thus per-
petuating a structural imbalance.

Part of the reason for the increase in projected and ac-
tual expenditures in recent years has been due to fund-
ing 12.5 Consumer Protection Enforcement Initiative
(CPEI) positions; funding the diversion program; in-
creased expenses associated with BreEZe; unexpected
litigation expenses; and the general increase in the cost
of doing business over the past 16 years. While the
Board has expended less than what it has been autho-
rized by the budget due to some cost savings and reim-
bursements, the Board emphasizes that its fund should
be able to sustain expenditures without relying on esti-
mated savings or reimbursements.

As part of its effort to manage its financial resources
wisely, the Board contracted with a consultant to pre-
pare a detailed cost analysis of its fees. The Board’s ob-
jectives for the study were to ensure that the Board is
fully accounting for all of its costs and recovering ade-
quate revenues to be reimbursed for its expenses. The
Board’s only sources of revenues are fees charged for
each of the various licenses and permits. The Board also
has a mandate to be fully self−supporting so it is vital
that the fees charged to dentists and dental assistants for
permits and licenses fully recover the costs of the pro-
gram. The scope of this study included the following
objectives: calculate full cost of fee−based services; de-
termine allocation methodology for enforcement activ-
ities; develop revenue projections for 5−10 years; and
pass high−level audits. The process used for collecting
and analyzing the data required active participation by
the Board’s management and staff.

As a result of the fee audit, the Board was able to pur-
sue increases in the statutorily authorized maximum fee
amounts. Assembly Bill 179 (Chapter 510, Statutes of
2015) increased the maximum fee amounts that the
Board may assess so that it may establish increase licen-
sure and ancillary fees for dentists and dental assistants
to ensure a healthy program budget.

The main purpose of this proposal is to amend Sec-
tions 1021 and 1022 of Article 6 of Chapter 1 of Divi-
sion 10 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regula-
tions. This proposal seeks an increase in the fees as-
sessed dentists and dental assistants.

The Board is proposing the following changes:
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� Amend Section 1021(a) to raise the application fee
for those dental applicants qualifying for licensure
pursuant to Business and Professions Code
Section 1632(c)(2) from $100 to $400 and delete
the provision pertaining to the application fee for
those qualifying pursuant to Business and
Professions Code Section 1634.1.

� Amend Section 1021(b) to replace the current
language pertaining to the initial application fee
for the restorative technique examination with
proposed language to increase the initial
application fee for those qualifying pursuant to
Business and Professions Code Section 1634.1
from $100 to $400. The initial application fee for
those qualifying pursuant to Business and
Professions Code Section 1634.1 was originally
found in Section 1021(a). The Board no longer
administers the restorative technique examination
and does not currently have statutory authority to
assess the $250 fee.

� Amend Section 1021(c) to replace the current
language pertaining to applications for
re−examination with proposed language to
establish the initial application fee of $800 for
those applicants qualifying pursuant to Business
and Professions Code Section 1634.1. The Board
no longer administers its own clinical examination
for dental licensure; therefore, the re−examination
fee is obsolete and the Board does not currently
have statutory authority to assess the $75 fee.

� Delete Section 1021(d) to delete the $250 fee
associated with the restorative technique
examination or re−examination. The Board no
longer administers the restorative technique
examination and does not currently have statutory
authority to assess the $250 fee.

� Amend Section 1021(e) to increase the application
fee for those applicants applying pursuant to
Business and Professions Code Section 1635.5
from $283 to $525. This section also contains
technical amendments to correct the lettering of
the subsections and to clearly cite the Business and
Professions Code Section associated with the
“Licensure by Credential” pathway to dental
licensure.

� Amend Section 1021(f) to increase the initial
licensure fee for dentists from $450 to $650. This
section also contains a technical amendment to
correct the lettering of the subsection.

� Amend Section 1021(g) to increase the biennial
license renewal fee for dentists from $450 to $650.
This section also contains a technical amendment
to correct the lettering of the subsection.

� Amend Section 1021(h) to correct the lettering of
the subsection.

� Amend Section 1021(i) to correct the lettering of
the subsection and correct the reference to Code
Section 1724(f).

� Amend Section 1021(j) to correct the lettering of
the subsection.

� Amend Section 1021(k) to correct the lettering of
the subsection and increase the application fee for
an additional office permit from $100 to $350.

� Amend Section 1021(l) to correct the lettering of
the subsection and increase the biennial renewal
fee for an additional office permit from $100 to
$250.

� Amend Section 1021(m) to correct the lettering of
the subsection.

� Amend Section 1021(n) to correct the lettering of
the subsection.

� Amend Section 1021(o) to correct the lettering of
the subsection and increase the fictitious name
permit renewal fee from $150 to $650.

� Amend Section 1021(p) to correct the lettering of
the subsection.

� Amend Section 1021(q) to correct the lettering of
the subsection and increase the application fee to
be a continuing education registered provider
from $250 to $410.

� Amend Section 1021(r) to correct the lettering of
the subsection and increase the fee for an
application for a general anesthesia or conscious
sedation permit or adult or minor oral conscious
sedation permit from $200 to $500.

� Amend Section 1021(s) to correct the lettering of
the subsection and increase the fee for an oral
conscious sedation permit renewal from $75 to
$500.

� Amend Section 1021(t) to correct the lettering of
the subsection and increase the fee for the renewal
of a general anesthesia or conscious sedation
permit from $200 to $325.

� Amend Section 1021(u) to correct the lettering of
the subsection and increase the fee for the on−site
inspection and evaluation of general anesthesia
and conscious sedation permit holders from $250
to $2,000.

� Add Section 1021(u) to establish the fee for an
application for a special permit to be $1,000.

� Add Section 1021(v) to establish the fee for an
application for a special permit to be $125.

� Add Section 1021(w) to establish the fee for the
initial application for an elective facial cosmetic
surgery permit to be $850.
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� Add Section 1021(x) to establish the fee for the
renewal of an elective facial cosmetic surgery
permit to be $800.

� Add section 1021(y) to establish the fee for the
application for an oral and maxillofacial surgery
permit to be $500.

� Add Section 1021(z) to establish the fee for the
renewal of an oral and maxillofacial surgery
permit to be $650.

� Add Section 1021(aa) to establish the renewal fee
for a continuing education registered provider to
be $325.

� Add Section 1021(ab) to establish the fee for a
dental certification to be $50.

� Add Section 1021(ac) to establish the fee for the
application to take the dental law and ethics
examination to be $125.

� Amend Section 1022(a) to increase the application
fee for registered dental assistant and registered
dental assistant in extended functions licensure
from $20 to $120.

� Add new Section 1022(b) to establish the
application fee for the Dental Sedation Assistant
Permit at $120.

� Add new Section 1022(c) to establish the
application fee for the Orthodontic Assistant
Permit at $120.

� Amend existing Section 1022(b) to correct the
lettering of the subsection and increase the fee for
the registered dental assistant examination or re−
examination from $30 to $100.

� Amend existing Section 1022(c) to correct the
lettering of the subsection and increase the fee for
the registered dental assistant examination and re−
examination from $50 to $500.

� Amend existing Section 1022(d) to correct the
lettering of the subsection and increase the
registered dental assistant biennial renewal fee
from $12 to $100.

� Amend existing Section 1022(e) to correct the
lettering of the subsection and increase the
registered dental assistant in extended functions
biennial renewal fee from $10 to $100.

� Amend existing Section 1022(f) to correct the
lettering of the subsection, delete the renewal fee
for registered dental hygienist licensees, and
establish the biennial renewal fee for dental
sedation assistant permit holders at $100.

� Amend existing Section 1022(g) to correct the
lettering of the subsection, delete the renewal fee
for registered dental hygienist in extended
functions licensees, and establish the biennial
renewal fee for orthodontic assistant permit
holders at $100.

� Amend existing Section 1022(h) to correct the
lettering of the subsection and to increase the
delinquency fee for late registered dental assistant
licensure renewals from $6 to $50.

� Amend existing Section 1022(i) to correct the
lettering of the subsection and to increase the
delinquency fee for late registered dental assistant
in extended functions renewals from $5 to $50.

� Amend existing Section 1022(j) to correct the
lettering of the subsection, delete the delinquency
fee for late registered dental hygienist licensure
renewal, and establish the delinquency fee for late
dental sedation assistant permit renewals at $50.

� Amend existing Section 1022(k) to correct the
lettering of the subsection, delete the delinquency
fee for late registered dental hygienist in extended
functions licensure renewal, and establish the
delinquency fee for late orthodontic assistant
permit renewals at $50.

� Add new Section 1022(n) to establish the
application fee for Registered Dental Assistant
Educational Programs at $1,400.

� Add new Section 1022(o) to establish the
application fee for registered dental assistant  in
extended functions educational programs at
$1,400.

� Add new Section 1022(p) to establish the
application fee for orthodontic assistant permit
educational courses at $300.

� Add new Section 1022(q) to establish the
application fee for dental sedation assistant permit
educational courses at $300.

� Add new Section 1022(r) to establish the
application fee for infection control educational
courses at $300.

� Add new Section 1022(s) to establish the
application fee for coronal polishing educational
courses at $300.

� Add new Section 1022(t) to establish the
application fee for pit and fissure sealants
educational courses at $300.

� Add new Section 1022(u) to establish the
application fee for radiation safety educational
courses at $300.
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� Add new Section 1022(v) to establish the
application fee for ultrasonic scaling educational
courses at $300.

� Amend existing Section 1022(l) to correct the
lettering of the subsection, increase the fee for a
duplicate license from $25 to $50, and establish
the fee for a license certification at $50.

As a result of raising the initial licensure fee and the
biennial renewal fee, the following fees assessed by the
Board will be impacted; this is because these fees are
determined by the fee amounts assessed by the Board
for initial licensure and biennial renewal as specified in
statute:
� Inactive Licenses;
� Licenses on Retirement Status;
� Licenses on Disability Status;

The proposed increase in fees is necessary to enable
the Board to sustain operations to effectively protect
consumers through its licensing and enforcement func-
tions.

If the Board does not increase fees for dentists and
dental assistants, the Board’s operations will suffer and
it would become necessary for the Board to reduce ex-
penditures, including the reduction of staffing and re-
duction of operating resources and equipment. The
Board’s licensing program would suffer from reduc-
tions in staffing and would result in delayed response
times to licensing inquiries and application approvals.
Such delays would create a barrier to licensure for those
applicants graduating dental school and seeking licen-
sure and employment in a timely manner. Students must
gain licensure and employment as soon as possible after
graduation to begin paying down debt accumulated dur-
ing school. Additionally, the Board’s enforcement pro-
gram would suffer from reductions in staffing and re-
sources. Such reductions would lead to delays in pro-
cessing consumer complaints, conducting investiga-
tions, and referring egregious cases to the Office of the
Attorney General for prosecution. Those types of de-
lays ultimately would prevent the Board from being
able to protect the public efficiently and effectively.

ANTICIPATED BENEFITS

The proposed fee increase will correct the structural
imbalance between the Board’s revenue and expendi-
tures and will allow it to maintain its current operating
structure to provide consumer protection. The proposed
fee increases will support the Board’s licensing pro-
gram so that it may continue to license qualified appli-
cants to provide dental health care services to con-
sumers. Additionally, the proposed fee increase will
support the Board’s enforcement program so that it may
continue to process and investigate consumer com-

plaints efficiently and effectively in the interest of pa-
tient protection within the timelines established by the
Department of Consumer Affairs.

CONSISTENCY & COMPATIBILITY WITH
EXISTING STATE REGULATIONS

After conducting a review for any regulations that
would relate to or affect this area, the Board has evaluat-
ed this regulatory proposal and it is not inconsistent or
incompatible with existing state regulations. The Board
is the only state entity that regulates the practice of den-
tistry through a licensure process in the interest of pub-
lic protection; therefore, the Board is the only entity that
assesses a fee for initial licensure and biennial renewal.

FISCAL IMPACT ESTIMATES

Fiscal Impact on Public Agencies Including Costs or
Savings to State Agencies or Costs/Savings in Federal
Funding to the State: None.

Nondiscretionary Costs/Savings to Local Agencies:
None.

Local Mandate: None.
Cost to Any Local Agency or School District for

Which Government Code Sections 17500−17630 Re-
quire Reimbursement: None.
Business Impact:

The Board has made the initial determination that the
proposed regulation would not have a significant,
statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting
business, including the inability of California business-
es to compete with businesses in other States.

The Board has determined that the following types of
businesses may be affected by the proposed fee
increase:
� Businesses owned by licensees of the Board that

pay for the licensure and renewal fees of its owners
or dentist employees.

Although businesses owned by licensees of the Board
and businesses that employ licensees of the Board may
be impacted, the Board estimates that the fiscal impact
would be minor and absorbable. The Board does not
maintain data relating to the number or percentage of li-
censees who own a business; therefore, the number or
percentage of businesses that may be impacted cannot
be predicted. Accordingly, the initial or ongoing costs
for a business owned by a licensee that pays for the li-
censure and renewal fees of its owners or employees
cannot be projected. The proposed fee increase would
impact individual licensees. The Board estimates that:
the average salary of a dentist in California is approxi-
mately $150,000 per year; the average salary of an oral
and maxillofacial surgeon is $250,000 per year; the av-
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erage salary of a registered dental assistant in California
is approximately $35,000 per year; and, the average
salary of a registered dental assistant in expanded func-
tions in California is approximately $48,000 per year.

The Board has not considered proposed alternatives
that would lessen any adverse economic impact on
businesses and invites you to submit such proposals.
Submissions may include the following considerations:
(A) The establishment of differing compliance or

reporting requirements or timetables that take into
account the resources available to businesses.

(B) Consolidation or simplification of compliance and
reporting requirements for businesses.

(C) The use of performance standards rather than
prescriptive standards.

(D) Exemption or partial exemption from the
regulatory requirements for businesses.

The rulemaking file includes the facts, evidence, doc-
uments, testimony, and/or other evidence which sup-
ports this determination.
Cost Impact on Representative Private Person or
Business:

The cost impacts that a representative private person
or business would necessarily incur in reasonable com-
pliance with the proposed action and that are known to
the Board are:
� Although businesses owned by licensees of the

Board and businesses that employ licensees of the
Board may be impacted, the Board estimates that
the fiscal impact would be minor and absorbable.
The Board does not maintain data relating to the
number or percentage of licensees who own a
business; therefore, the number or percentage of
businesses that may be impacted cannot be
predicted. Accordingly, the initial or ongoing
costs for a business owned by a licensee that pays
for the licensure and renewal fees of its owners or
employees cannot be projected. The proposed fee
increase would impact individual licensees.

Effect on Housing Costs: None.

EFFECT ON SMALL BUSINESS

The Board has determined that the proposed regula-
tions would not affect small businesses.

Although small businesses owned by licensees of the
Board and small businesses that employ licensees of the
Board may be impacted, the Board estimates that the
fiscal impact would be minor and absorbable. The
Board does not maintain data relating to the number or
percentage of licensees who own a small business;
therefore the number or percentage of small businesses
that may be impacted cannot be predicted. Accordingly,

the initial or ongoing costs for a small business owned
by a licensee that pays for the licensure and renewal fees
of its owners or employees cannot be projected. The
proposed fee increase would impact only individual
licensees.

RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT
ASSESSMENT/ANALYSIS

Impact on Jobs/Businesses: 
The Board has determined that this regulatory pro-

posal will not have a significant impact on the creation
of jobs or new businesses or the elimination of jobs or
existing businesses or the expansion of businesses in the
State of California. This determination was made be-
cause the proposed changes are not sufficient to create
or eliminate jobs or businesses.
Benefits of Regulation: 

The Board has determined that this regulatory pro-
posal will have the following benefits to the health and
welfare of California residents, worker safety, and the
state’s environment:

The proposed fee increase will correct the structural
imbalance between the Board’s revenue and expendi-
tures and will allow it to maintain its current operating
structure to provide consumer protection. The proposed
fee increases will support the Board’s licensing pro-
gram so that it may continue to license qualified appli-
cants to provide dental health care services to con-
sumers. Additionally, the proposed fee increase will
support the Board’s enforcement program so that it may
continue to process and investigate consumer com-
plaints efficiently and effectively in the interest of pa-
tient protection within the timelines established by the
Department of Consumer Affairs.

This regulatory proposal does not affect worker safe-
ty because this proposal is not relative to worker safety.

This regulatory proposal does not affect the state’s
environment because this proposal is not relevant to the
state’s environment.

CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES

The Board must determine that no reasonable alterna-
tive it considered to the regulation or that has otherwise
been identified and brought to its attention would either
be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which
the action is proposed or would be as effective and less
burdensome to affected private persons or would be
more cost−effective to affected private persons and
equally effective in implementing the statutory policy
or other provision of law than the proposal described in
this Notice.

Any interested person may present statements or ar-
guments orally or in writing relevant to the above deter-
minations at the above−mentioned hearing.
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INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS
AND INFORMATION

The Board has prepared an initial statement of the
reasons for the proposed action and has available all the
information upon which the proposal is based.

TEXT OF PROPOSAL

Copies of the exact language of the proposed regula-
tions and of the initial statement of reasons, and all of
the information upon which the proposal is based, may
be obtained at the hearing or prior to the hearing  upon
request from the Board at 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite
1550, Sacramento, California 95815 or by accessing the
Board’s website at http://www.dbc.ca.gov/lawsregs/
index.shtml.

AVAILABILITY AND LOCATION OF THE FINAL
STATEMENT OF REASONS AND

RULEMAKING FILE

All the information upon which the proposed regula-
tions are based is contained in the rulemaking file which
is available for public inspection by contacting the per-
son named below.

You may obtain a copy of the final statement of rea-
sons once it has been prepared, by making a written re-
quest to the contact person named below or by access-
ing the website listed below.

CONTACT PERSON

Inquiries or comments concerning the proposed rule-
making action may be addressed to:

Name: Lusine Sarkisyan, Legislative & 
Regulatory Analyst 

Dental Board of California
Address: 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550

Sacramento, CA 95815
Telephone

No.: (916) 263−2027
Fax No.:  (916) 263−2140 
E−Mail
 Address: Lusine.Sarkisyan@dca.ca.gov

The backup contact person is:

Name: Sarah Wallace, Assistant Executive
Officer 

Dental Board of California 
Address: 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550

 Sacramento, CA 95815
Telephone 

No.: (916) 263−2187  
Fax No.: (916) 263−2140
E−Mail 

Address: Sarah.Wallace@dca.ca.gov

Website Access: Materials regarding this proposal
can be found at the Board’s Web site at:
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/lawsregs/index.shtml.

TITLE 17. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC
HEALTH

DPH−09−010E Newborn Screening

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the California
Department of Public Health (Department) announces
a public comment period. This notice of proposed rule-
making commences a rulemaking to make the emergen-
cy regulations permanent after considering all com-
ments, objections, and recommendations regarding the
regulations.

PUBLIC PROCEEDINGS

The Department is conducting a 45−day written pub-
lic comment period and will hold a public hearing (pur-
suant to HSC section 124977(d)(1), within 120 days
from the emergency effective date of March 23, 2016,
OAL Emergency Filing No. 2016−0323−02 EFP), dur-
ing which time, any interested person or such person’s
duly authorized representative may present statements,
arguments or contentions (all of which are hereinafter
referred to as comments) relevant to the action de-
scribed in this notice.

PUBLIC HEARING

At the hearing, any person may present statements or
arguments orally or in writing relevant to the proposed
action described in the Informative Digest. The Depart-
ment requests, but does not require that persons who
make oral comments at the hearing also submit a written
copy of their testimony at the hearing.

Date and  
Time:  July 6, 2016 at 9:00 a.m. 

Place: 1415 L Street, Suite 500, 
Room 1001,

Sacramento, CA 95814
Purpose: To hear comments about this 

action.
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An agenda for the public hearing will be posted at the
time and place of hearing location.

For individuals with disabilities, the Department
shall provide, upon request, assistive services such as
sign−language interpretation, real−time captioning,
note takers, reading or writing assistance, and conver-
sion of written public hearing materials into Braille,
large print, and audiocassette or computer disk. Note:
The range of assistive services available may be limited
if requests are received without adequate preparation
time prior to the public hearing.

To request such services or copies of materials in an
alternate format, please write or call Linda M. Cortez,
California Department of Public Health, Office of Reg-
ulations, 1415 L Street, Suite 500, Sacramento, CA
95814, (916) 440−7807, or email to
Linda.Cortez@cdph.ca.gov, or use the California Re-
lay Service by dialing 711 at no cost.

WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD

Written comments pertaining to this proposal, re-
gardless of the method of transmittal, must be received
by the Office of Regulations by 5:00 p.m. on August 8,
2016, which is hereby designated as the close of the
written comment period. Comments received after this
date will not be considered timely.
Written comments may be submitted as follows:

1. By email to: regulations@cdph.ca.gov. It is
requested that email transmission of comments,
particularly those with attachments, contain the
regulation package identifier “DPH−09−010E” in
the subject line to facilitate timely identification
and review of the comment;

2. By fax transmission: (916) 440−5747;
3. By United States Postal Service to: California

Department of Public Health, Office of
Regulations, 1415 L Street, Suite 500,
Sacramento, CA 95814;

4. Hand−delivered to: California Department of
Public Health, Office of Regulations, 1415 L
Street, Suite 500, Sacramento, CA 95814.

All submitted comments should include the regula-
tion package identifier “DPH−09−010E”, author’s
name and mailing address.

AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE

The Department is proposing to adopt, amend, or re-
peal the proposed rulemaking under the authority pro-
vided in sections 124977, 124980, 125000, 125001,
125025, 131050, 131051, and 131200 of the Health and
Safety Code. The Department is proposing to imple-

ment, interpret, and make specific sections 124116,
124977, 124980, 125000, 125001, 125025, 131050,
131051, and 131200 of the Health and Safety Code.

INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT
OVERVIEW

The purpose of this rulemaking proposal is to make
permanent the emergency regulations which clarified
and made specific Health and Safety Code sections
124977 and 125001 and updated the newborn screening
(NBS) regulations in order to protect the health, and
prevent unnecessary death of newborns born in Califor-
nia. These regulations are needed to address the
changes in medical technology and incorporate neces-
sary changes in the NBS requirements for newborn’s
physicians, midwives, perinatal health facilities/
hospitals, and other out−of−hospital newborn screening
providers.

POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW

Problem Statement: The California NBS Program
has expanded its testing panel three times since the cur-
rent regulations were developed, from four (4) tests de-
tecting 29 diverse disorders to eight (8) tests detecting
80 diverse disorders. (See list of Disorders Detectable
by NBS Program as of January 1, 2012.) The require-
ments for screening have changed because the new dis-
orders are so diverse and require different standards and
practices. These necessary changes are not reflected in
the current NBS regulations.

Objectives: The broad objectives of this proposed
regulatory action are to accomplish the following:
� Include the expansion of NBS which occurred in

2005 and 2007, resulting in a substantial increase
in the number of disorders for which newborns are
tested

� Include the expansion of NBS which occurred in
2012 to include testing for an additional disorder
— Severe Combined Immunodeficiency (SCID)

� Change technology, terminology, medical
standards, and practices that have occurred in the
field of newborn screening internationally,
nationally, and in California since the last NBS
regulations were written

Benefits: The benefits anticipated by the adoption of
these regulations are:
� Providing protection of public health and safety by

expanding upon existing regulation provisions
� Improved provisions for early detection,

follow−up and referrals for diagnosis and early
treatment

� Providing early treatment, preventing illness,
disability and even death to infants
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� Identifying detailed responsibilities of parties
involved in newborn screening services, such as
hospitals, physicians, and NBS contracted
laboratories

EVALUATION OF INCONSISTENCY AND
INCOMPATIBILITY WITH EXISTING 

STATE REGULATIONS

The Department evaluated this proposal as to
whether the proposed regulations are inconsistent or in-
compatible with existing state regulations. This evalua-
tion included a review of the Department’s existing
general regulations and California Children’s Services
regulations. An internet search of other state agency
regulations was also performed and it was determined
that no other state regulation addressed the same subject
matter and that this proposal is not inconsistent or in-
compatible with other state regulations.

Existing regulations provide for the means of new-
born screening, including test methods, and instruc-
tions to various medical personnel and providers but
they don’t identify the expansions of the NBS Program
occurring in 2005, 2007, and 2012, which have resulted
in a substantial increase in the number of disorders for
which newborns are tested or the changing technology,
terminology, medical standards and practices that have
occurred in the field of newborn screening since the last
NBS Program regulations were written.

Therefore, the Department has determined that this
proposal, if adopted, would not be inconsistent or in-
compatible with existing state regulations.

MANDATED BY FEDERAL LAW
OR REGULATIONS

Currently, there are no existing federal regulations or
statutes applicable to the regulations.

FORMS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE

1. CALIFORNIA NEWBORN SCREENING TEST
REQUEST FORM (NBS−TRF) (CDPH 4409
(11/12)) NBS−I (D).

2. NEWBORN SCREENING TEST REFUSAL
(NBS−TR) CDPH 4459 (06/11) — English
version or CDPH 4459 (SP) (06/11) — Spanish
version.

3. HOSPITAL REPORT OF NEWBORN
SCREENING SPECIMEN NOT OBTAINED
(NBS−NO) CDPH 4089 (01/11).

4. NOTIFICATION OF REGISTRATION OF
BIRTH WHICH OCCURRED OUT OF A
LICENSED HEALTH FACILITY (NBS−OH)
CDPH 4460 (01/09).

MANDATE ON LOCAL AGENCY OR
SCHOOL DISTRICT

The Department has determined that the regulation
would not impose a mandate on local agencies or school
districts, nor are there any costs for which reimburse-
ment is required by part 7 (commencing with section
17500) of division 4 of the Government Code.

FISCAL IMPACT ESTIMATE

A. COST OR SAVINGS TO ANY STATE
AGENCY: No fiscal impact exists because this
regulation does not affect any state entity or
program. The costs for provider education on
regulation changes are included in the program’s
budget.

B. COST TO ANY LOCAL AGENCY: No fiscal
impact exists because this regulation does not
affect any local entity or program.

C. COST OR SAVINGS ON FEDERAL
FUNDING OF STATE PROGRAMS: No fiscal
impact exists because this regulation does not
affect any federal entity or program.

D. OTHER NONDISCRETIONARY COST OR
SAVINGS IMPOSED ON LOCAL
AGENCIES: No fiscal impact exists because this
regulation does not affect any local entity or
program.

COST IMPACTS ON REPRESENTATIVE PERSON
OR BUSINESS

The Department is not aware of any cost impacts that
a representative private person or business would nec-
essarily incur in reasonable compliance with the pro-
posed action.

EFFECT ON SMALL BUSINESSES

The Department has determined that the regulations
will have no significant effect on small businesses as
this proposal addresses the changes in the medical field
and screening requirements that already exist for new-
born’s physicians, midwives, perinatal health facilities/
hospitals, and other out−of−hospital newborn screening
providers. The additional screens are to be collected at
the same time.



CALIFORNIA REGULATORY NOTICE REGISTER 2016, VOLUME NO. 26-Z

 1076

HOUSING COSTS

The Department has determined that the regulations
will not impact housing costs.

BUSINESS REPORTING REQUIREMENT

The Department has determined that there is no busi-
ness report to be filed.

SIGNIFICANT STATEWIDE ADVERSE
ECONOMIC IMPACT DIRECTLY AFFECTING

BUSINESS, INCLUDING THE ABILITY
TO COMPETE

The Department has made an initial determination
that this proposal would not have a significant statewide
adverse economic impact directly affecting California
business enterprises or individuals, including the ability
of California businesses to compete with businesses in
other states.

RESULTS OF THE ECONOMIC
IMPACT ASSESSMENT

The Department has determined that the regulation
would not significantly impact the creation or elimina-
tion of jobs, the creation of new businesses or the elimi-
nation of existing businesses, or the expansion of busi-
nesses currently doing business within the State of Cali-
fornia. This regulation does not affect worker safety or
California’s environment. As stated previously in the
Informative Digest/Policy Statement Overview, this
regulation will benefit the health and welfare of Califor-
nia residents. The regulations expand upon existing
regulation provisions and will provide provisions for
early detection, follow−up, and referrals for diagnosis
and treatment which will lead to early treatment, pre-
venting illness, disability, and even death to infants.

ALTERNATIVES INFORMATION

The Department must determine that no reasonable
alternative considered by the Department or that has
otherwise been identified and brought to the attention of
the Department would be more effective in carrying out
the purpose for which the action is proposed or would
be as effective and less burdensome to affected private
persons than the proposed action or would be more
cost−effective to affected private persons and equally
effective in implementing the statutory policy or other
provisions of law.

TECHNICAL, THEORETICAL, AND/OR
EMPIRICAL STUDIES, REPORTS OR

DOCUMENTS RELIED UPON

California Department of Public Health, Genetic Dis-
ease Screening Program, Newborn Screening Program.
(Updated January 1, 2012). Disorders Detectable by
NBS Program as of January 1, 2012.

CONTACT PERSON

Inquiries regarding the substance of the regulation
described in this notice may be directed to Robin
Thomas, Genetic Disease Screening Program, Center
for Family Health, (510) 412−1519.

All other inquiries concerning the action described in
this notice may be directed to Linda M. Cortez, Office
of Regulations, (916) 440−7807, or the designated
backup contact person, Dawn Basciano, (916)
440−7367.

In any inquiry or written comment, please identi-
fy the action by using the Department regulation
package identifier “DPH−09−010E”.

AVAILABILITY OF STATEMENT OF REASONS
AND TEXT OF REGULATIONS

The Department has prepared and has available for
public review an initial statement of reasons for the pro-
posed regulations, all the information upon which the
proposed regulations are based, and the text of the pro-
posed regulations. The Office of Regulations, at the ad-
dress noted above, will be the location of public records,
including reports, documentation, and other material
related to the proposed regulations (rulemaking file).

In order to request that a copy of this public notice, the
regulation text, and the initial statement of reasons or al-
ternate formats for these documents be mailed to you,
please call (916) 440−7807 (or the California Relay
Service at 711), send an email to
regulations@cdph.ca.gov, or write to the Office of Reg-
ulations at the address previously noted. Upon specific
request, these documents will be made available in
Braille, large print, audiocassette, or computer disk.

AVAILABILITY OF CHANGED OR
MODIFIED TEXT

The full text of any regulation which is changed or
modified from the express terms of the proposed action
will be made available by the Department’s Office of
Regulations at least 15 days prior to the date on which
the Department adopts, amends, or repeals the resulting
regulation.
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AVAILABILITY OF FINAL STATEMENT
OF REASONS

A copy of the final statement of reasons (when pre-
pared) will be available upon request from the Office of
Regulations.

INTERNET ACCESS

Materials regarding the action described in this notice
(including this public notice, the regulation text, and the
initial statement of reasons) are available via the Inter-
net and may be accessed at www.cdph.ca.gov by click-
ing on these links, in the following order: Decisions
Pending & Opportunities for Public Participation, Pro-
posed Regulations.

GENERAL PUBLIC INTEREST

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS,

AND GEOLOGISTS

NOTICE OF EXTENSION OF WRITTEN
COMMENT PERIOD

The Board for Professional Engineers, Land Survey-
ors, and Geologists published a Notice of Proposed Ac-
tion in the May 27, 2016 edition of the California Regu-
latory Notice Register (Register 2016, No. 22−Z, p.
887) concerning Examination Appeals. The original
comment period deadline was July 13, 2016. The Board
is extending the written comment period deadline to
July 22, 2016.

Please submit all written comments to:

Name: Billie Baldo 
Address: 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, S−300 

Sacramento, CA 95833 
Telephone 

No.: (916) 263−2277 
Fax No.: (916) 263−2246 
E−Mail 

Address: billie.baldo@dca.ca.gov 

The backup contact person is:

Name: Kara Williams 
Address:  2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, S−300 

Sacramento, CA 95833 
Telephone 

No.: (916) 263−5438 
Fax No.:  (916) 263−2246 

E−Mail 
Address:  kara.williams @dca.ca.gov

Website Access: Materials regarding this proposal
can be found at http://www.bpelsg.ca.gov/.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
CARE SERVICES

THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH CARE
SERVICES PROPOSES SPA 16−023

REGARDING COST−BASED
REIMBURSEMENT TO SPECIFIED

GOVERNMENT−OPERATED HOSPITALS FOR
INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES

This notice provides information of public interest
with respect to proposed State Plan Amendment (SPA)
16−023, regarding cost−based reimbursement for inpa-
tient hospital services provided to Medi−Cal beneficia-
ries by specified government−operated hospitals. The
proposed effective date for the new SPA 16−023 is July
1, 2016.

The Department of Health Care Services proposes to
update the relevant State Plan pages to reflect the cur-
rent names of hospital participants and to add language
to account for any future hospital name changes.

The proposed SPA revisions are subject to approval
by the Federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Ser-
vices.

Any written comments concerning the proposed SPA
may be mailed to Beau Bouchard, Analyst, Waiver
Unit, Department of Health Care Services, Safety Net
Financing Division, MS 4504, P.O. Box 997436, Sacra-
mento, CA 95899−7436 or emailed to
Beau.Bouchard@dhcs.ca.gov

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
CARE SERVICES

THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH CARE
SERVICES PROPOSES TO SUBMIT A STATE

PLAN AMENDMENT TO ADD SPECIFIED
HOSPITALS TO LIST OF

GOVERNMENT−OPERATED HOSPITALS
RECEIVING COST−BASED

REIMBURSEMENT FOR INPATIENT
HOSPITAL SERVICES

This notice provides information of public interest re-
garding the Department of Health Care Services’
(DHCS) intent to submit a State Plan Amendment
(SPA) to add two Alameda Health System hospitals
(Alameda Hospital and San Leandro Hospital), and
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make corresponding technical edits as needed, to the list
of government−operated hospitals receiving cost−
based reimbursement for inpatient hospital services.
The submission of this SPA is contingent upon the en-
actment of legislation to implement the “Medi−Cal
2020” demonstration project, specifically Assembly
Bill (AB) No. 1568 (2015−2016 Reg. Sess.) and Senate
Bill (SB) No. 815 (2015−2016 Reg. Sess.).

SB 815 proposes to add Section 14184.30(a)(3) to the
Welfare and Institutions Code which would require
DHCS to seek federal approval to apply certain fee−
for−service, State Plan payment methodologies to
Alameda Hospital and San Leandro Hospital effective
no earlier than the 2016−17 State fiscal year.

The proposed effective date for these changes is July
1, 2016, contingent on the enactment of both AB 1568
and SB 815.

Any proposed SPA revisions are subject to approval
by the Federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid
Services.

Any written comments concerning this notice or pro-
posed SPA may be mailed to Beau Bouchard, Analyst,
Waiver Unit, Department of Health Care Services,
Safety Net Financing Division, MS 4504, P.O. Box
997436, Sacramento, CA 95899−7436 or emailed to
Beau.Bouchard@dhcs.ca.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
CARE SERVICES

THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH CARE
SERVICES PROPOSES SPA 16−020

REGARDING SUPPLEMENTAL
REIMBURSEMENT TO SPECIFIED

GOVERNMENT−OPERATED PROVIDERS
FOR COSTS OF PROFESSIONAL SERVICES

This notice provides information of public interest
with respect to proposed State Plan Amendment (SPA)
16−020, regarding supplemental reimbursement to
specified government−operated providers for uncom-
pensated costs of providing physician and non−
physician practitioner professional services to Medi−
Cal beneficiaries. The proposed effective date for the
new SPA 16−020 is July 1, 2016.

The Department of Health Care Services proposes to
update the relevant State Plan pages to reflect the cur-
rent names of hospital participants and to add language
to account for any future hospital name changes.

The proposed SPA revisions are subject to approval
by the Federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid
Services.

Any written comments concerning the proposed SPA
may be mailed to Gina Giannini, Analyst, Supplemen-
tal Reimbursements Unit, Department of Health Care
Services, Safety Net Financing Division, MS 4504,
P.O. Box 997436, Sacramento, CA 95899−7436 or
emailed to Gina.Giannini@dhcs.ca.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
CARE SERVICES

THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH CARE
SERVICES PROPOSES TO SUBMIT A STATE

PLAN AMENDMENT TO ADD SPECIFIED
HOSPITALS TO LIST OF

GOVERNMENT−OPERATED PROVIDERS
RECEIVING SUPPLEMENTAL

REIMBURSEMENT FOR COSTS OF
PROFESSIONAL SERVICES

This notice provides information of public interest re-
garding the Department of Health Care Services’
(DHCS) intent to submit a State Plan Amendment
(SPA) to add two Alameda Health System hospitals
(Alameda Hospital and San Leandro Hospital), and
make corresponding technical edits as needed, to the list
of government−operated hospitals receiving supple-
mental reimbursement for uncompensated costs of pro-
viding physician and non−physician practitioner pro-
fessional services to Medi−Cal beneficiaries. The sub-
mission of this SPA is contingent upon the enactment of
legislation to implement the “Medi−Cal 2020” demon-
stration project, specifically Assembly Bill (AB) No.
1568 (2015−2016 Reg. Sess.) and Senate Bill (SB) No.
815 (2015−2016 Reg. Sess.).

SB 815 proposes to add Section 14184.30(a)(3) to the
Welfare and Institutions Code which would require
DHCS to seek federal approval to apply certain fee−
for−service, State Plan payment methodologies to
Alameda Hospital and San Leandro Hospital effective
no earlier than the 2016−17 State fiscal year.

The proposed effective date for these changes is July
1, 2016, contingent on the enactment of both AB 1568
and SB 815.

Any proposed SPA revisions are subject to approval
by the Federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid
Services.

Any written comments concerning the proposed SPA
may be mailed to Gina Giannini, Analyst, Supplemen-
tal Reimbursements Unit, Department of Health Care
Services, Safety Net Financing Division, MS 4504,
P.O. Box 997436, Sacramento, CA 95899−7436 or
emailed to Gina.Giannini@dhcs.ca.gov.
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
CARE SERVICES

THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH CARE
SERVICES PROPOSES TO REVISE THE

SUPPLEMENTAL PAYMENT AMOUNTS AS
STIPULATED IN SPA 15−008 FOR THE

MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. COMMUNITY
HOSPITAL

This notice is to provide information of public inter-
est with respect to the proposed State Plan Amendment
(SPA) 16−017 for supplemental reimbursement to Mar-
tin Luther King, Jr. (MLK) Community Hospital. The
proposed effective date for SPA 16−017 is July 1, 2016.

Currently, the Department of Health Care Services is
seeking to increase the supplemental reimbursement
amounts to MLK Community Hospital in SPA 15−008
(Supplement 5 to Attachment 4.19−A of the State Plan).
The State Plan will be revised to reflect an increased
payment cap for State Fiscal Year 2016−2017.

The proposed SPA revisions are subject to approval
by the Federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid
Services.

Any written comments concerning the proposed SPA
may be mailed to Breanne Kennedy, Analyst, Medi−Cal
Supplemental Payments Unit, Department of Health
Care Services, Safety Net Financing Division, MS
4504, P.O. Box 997436, Sacramento, CA 95899−7436
or emailed to Breanne.Kennedy@dhcs.ca.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
CARE SERVICES

THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH CARE
SERVICES UPDATE TO SUPPLEMENTAL

REIMBURSEMENT AMOUNTS FOR
QUALIFIED PRIVATE HOSPITALS

This notice is to provide information of public inter-
est with respect to the proposed State Plan Amendment
(SPA) 16−022 for supplemental reimbursement to spec-
ified private hospitals meeting requirements that pro-
vide services to Medi−Cal beneficiaries. The proposed
effective date for SPA 16−022 is July 1, 2016.

The Department of Health Care Services is seeking to
change the payment amounts in pages 9−10 of Section
D (1) of Supplement 4 to Attachment 4.19−A of the
State Plan. Alameda County has requested to reduce the

Intergovernmental Transfer which funds the supple-
mental payment amount outlined in the previously ap-
proved SPA 15−003 for St. Rose Hospital in State Fiscal
Years (SFY) 2016−17 and 2017−18. The supplemental
payment amounts for St. Rose Hospital are proposed to
decrease from $16 million to $10 million total funds
each fiscal year for SFYs 2016−17 and 2017−18.

The proposed SPA revisions are subject to approval
by the Federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid
Services.

Written comments concerning the proposed SPA
must be received by August 8th, 2016, and may be
mailed to Breanne Kennedy, Analyst, Medi−Cal Sup-
plemental Payments Unit, Department of Health Care
Services, Safety Net Financing Division, MS 4504,
P.O. Box 997436, Sacramento, CA 95899−7436 or
emailed to Breanne.Kennedy@dhcs.ca.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
CARE SERVICES

THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH CARE
SERVICES PROPOSES SPA 16−019

REGARDING SUPPLEMENTAL
REIMBURSEMENT FOR PUBLIC

OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES

This notice provides information of public interest
with respect to proposed State Plan Amendment (SPA)
16−019, regarding supplemental reimbursement to out-
patient departments of public hospitals meeting speci-
fied State Plan requirements. The proposed effective
date for SPA 16−019 is July 1, 2016.

SPA 16−019 proposes technical revisions to update
the hospital participation criteria in the relevant State
Plan pages, specifically those necessary to reflect the
State law creation of hospital authorities to govern the
following designated public hospitals:
(1) Alameda Health System (pursuant to Section

101850 of the Health and Safety Code); and
(2) Kern Medical Center (pursuant to Section 101852,

et. seq. of the Health and Safety Code).
The proposed SPA revisions are subject to approval

by the Federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid
Services.

Any written comments concerning the proposed SPA
may be mailed to Heather Everhart, Chief, Medi−Cal
Supplemental Payments Unit, Department of Health
Care Services, Safety Net Financing Division, MS
4504, P.O. Box 997436, Sacramento, CA 95899−7436
or emailed to heather.everhart@dhcs.ca.gov.
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
CARE SERVICES

THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH CARE
SERVICES PROPOSES SPA 16−021

REGARDING SUPPLEMENTAL
REIMBURSEMENT FOR SERVICES

PROVIDED BY PUBLIC FREESTANDING,
NON HOSPITAL−BASED CLINICS

This notice provides information of public interest
with respect to proposed State Plan Amendment (SPA)
16−021, regarding supplemental reimbursement for
services provided by public freestanding, non hospital−
based clinics.

SPA 16−021 proposes technical revisions to update
the clinic participation criteria in the relevant State Plan
pages, specifically those necessary to reflect the State
law creation of hospital authorities to govern the fol-
lowing designated public hospitals:
(1) Alameda Health System (pursuant to Section

101850 of the Health and Safety Code); and
(2) Kern Medical Center (pursuant to Section 101852,

et seq. of the Health and Safety Code).
The proposed effective date for these changes is July

1, 2016.
The proposed SPA revisions are subject to approval

by the Federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Ser-
vices.

Any written comments concerning the proposed SPA
may be mailed to Christie Schmalz, Manager, Supple-
mental Reimbursements Unit, Department of Health
Care Services, Safety Net Financing Division, MS
4504, P.O. Box 997436, Sacramento, CA 95899−7436
or emailed to Christie.Schmalz@dhcs.ca.gov.

DISAPPROVAL DECISION

DECISION OF DISAPPROVAL OF
REGULATORY ACTION

Printed below is the summary of an Office of Admin-
istrative Law disapproval decision. The full text of the
disapproval decision is available at www.oal.ca.gov un-
der the “Publications” tab. You may also request a copy
of a decision by contacting the Office of Administrative
Law, 300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1250, Sacramento, CA
95814−4339, (916) 323−6225 — FAX (916) 323−6826.
Please request by OAL file number.

STATE LANDS COMMISSION

State of California
Office of Administrative Law

In re:
State Lands Commission

Regulatory Action:
Title 2, California Code of Regulations

Adopt sections: 3000, 3001, 3002, 3003, 3004, 3005,
3006, 3007, 3008, 3009, 3010, 3011, 3012, 3013, 3014,
3015, 3016

DECISION OF DISAPPROVAL OF
REGULATORY ACTION

Government Code Section 11349.3

OAL Matter Number: 2016−0420−02

OAL Matter Type: Regular Resubmittal (SR)

SUMMARY OF REGULATORY ACTION

On January 21, 2016, the State Lands Commission
(Commission) submitted to the Office of Administra-
tive Law (OAL) its initial proposed regulatory action
(OAL File No. 2016−0121−03S) to adopt sections in Ti-
tle 2 of the California Code of Regulations. The regula-
tions establish the procedures that allow the Commis-
sion to enforce its authority to remove trespassers who
maintain structures on land owned by the state and un-
der the jurisdiction of the Commission. These proce-
dures include issuing a Notice of Violation, setting an
administrative hearing, imposing penalties, and order-
ing the removal of encroaching structures. On March 2,
2016, the Commission withdrew this initially submitted
file.

The Commission subsequently modified its regulato-
ry text and added a Supplement to the Initial Statement
of Reasons (ISOR) to the file. The Commission then
made these documents available to the public for com-
ments on April 1, 2016, for a period of 15 days. On April
20, 2016, the Commission resubmitted the proposed
regulatory action to OAL for review. On June 2, 2016,
OAL notified the Commission that OAL disapproved
the proposed regulations because the regulations failed
to follow procedures required by the Administrative
Procedure Act (APA). This Decision of Disapproval of
Regulatory Action explains the reasons for OAL’s
action.

DECISION

OAL disapproved the above−referenced regulatory
action because the Commission failed to follow re-
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quired APA procedures by not considering and approv-
ing a substantial change made to the final version of the
regulation text, and by not considering public com-
ments received during the 15−day comment period of
April 1, 2016 through April 16, 2016, as required by
Government Code section 11346.8, subdivisions (a)
and (c).

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, OAL disapproved the above−
referenced rulemaking action. Pursuant to Government
Code section 11349.4(a), the Commission may resub-
mit this rulemaking action within 120 days of its receipt
of this Decision of Disapproval. If you have any ques-
tions, please do not hesitate to contact me at (916)
323−6824.
Date: June 9, 2016

                                                                  
Thanh Huynh 
Senior Attorney

For:
Debra M. Cornez
Director

Original: Jennifer Lucchesi
Copy: Warren Crunk

SUMMARY OF REGULATORY
ACTIONS

REGULATIONS FILED WITH
SECRETARY OF STATE

This Summary of Regulatory Actions lists regula-
tions filed with the Secretary of State on the dates indi-
cated. Copies of the regulations may be obtained by
contacting the agency or from the Secretary of State,
Archives, 1020 O Street, Sacramento, CA 95814, (916)
653−7715. Please have the agency name and the date
filed (see below) when making a request.

File# 2016−0513−01
BOARD OF EDUCATION
Gifted and Talented Pupil Program

This change without regulatory effect repeals Sub-
chapters 3, 4, 5, and 6 of Chapter 4 of Division 1 of Title
5 of the California Code of Regulations, concerning
gifted and talented pupils, as a result of the repeal of the
underlying governing statutes (Education Code sec-
tions 52200 through 52212) by Senate Bill 971 (Chap-
ter 923, Statutes of 2014).

Title 5
REPEAL: 3820, 3822, 3823, 3824, 3831, 3840,
3860, 3870
Filed 06/15/2016 
Agency Contact: Hillary Wirick (916) 319−0644

File# 2016−0504−02
CALIFORNIA DEBT LIMIT ALLOCATION
COMMITTEE
JPA Definition, TEFRA Notice, Regulatory Agreement
and Miscellaneous

The California Debt Limit Allocation Committee
submitted this timely certificate of compliance action to
make permanent the emergency amendment of eight
sections in title 4 of the California Code of Regulations
filed in OAL file no. 2016−0128−01E. The amend-
ments clarify and change requirements for applying for
private activity bond allocation programs and update
two incorporated−by−reference forms.

Title 4
AMEND: 5000, 5033, 5052, 5144, 5205, 5220,
5221, 5230
Filed 06/14/2016
Effective 06/14/2016
Agency Contact: Devon King (916) 651−8484

File# 2014−0822−03
CALIFORNIA HEALTH BENEFIT EXCHANGE
Small Business Health Options Program (SHOP)
Appeals Process

Title 10
ADOPT: 6540, 6542, 6544, 6546, 6548, 6550, 6552
Filed 06/14/2016
Effective 06/14/2016
Agency Contact: Brandon Ross (916) 323−3471

File# 2016−0504−04
CALIFORNIA HEALTH BENEFIT EXCHANGE
Small Business Health Options Program (SHOP)
Appeals Process

The California Health Benefit Exchange submitted
this timely Certificate of Compliance to make perma-
nent the regulations adopted in OAL File No.
2013−1126−01E, re−adopted in OAL File No.
2014−0523−02EE, and again in OAL File No.
2014−0822−03EE, which added sections to Title 10 of
the California Code of Regulations relating to the estab-
lishment of the California Health Benefit Exchange
(Exchange). This rulemaking establishes the Small
Business Health Option Program to assist qualified
small employers in facilitating the enrollment of their
employees in plans offered through the Exchange and
an appeals process for prospective and current enrollees
of the Exchange, as required in the federal Patient Pro-
tection and Affordable Care Act.
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Title 10
ADOPT: 6540, 6542, 6544, 6546, 6548, 6550, 6552
Filed 06/14/2016
Effective 06/14/2016
Agency Contact: Brian Kearns (916) 228−8843

File# 2016−0427−01
Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training
Section 100 Changes Without Regulatory Effect

This action by the Commission on Peace Officer
Standards and Training makes grammatical and typo-
graphical changes pursuant to section 100, title 1 of the
California Code of Regulations.

Title 11
AMEND: 1005, 1007, 1008, 1009, 1010, 1011,
1054, 1058, 1070, 1081, 1082, 1084, 1960
Filed 06/09/2016
Agency Contact: Patti Kaida (916) 227−4847

File# 2016−0518−01
DEPARTMENT OF AGING
Conflict−of−Interest Code

This is a Conflict−of−Interest code that has been ap-
proved by the Fair Political Commission and is being
submitted for filing with the Secretary of State and
printing only.

Title 22
AMEND: 7000
Filed 06/08/2016
Effective 07/08/2016
Agency Contact: 

Chisorom Okwuosa (916) 419−7508

File# 2016−0502−01
DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE
Asian Citrus Psyllid Interior Quarantine

This certificate of compliance will make permanent
the prior emergency regulatory action (OAL file no.
2015−1112−01E) that expanded the quarantine area for
the Asian Citrus Psyllid (ACP) Diaphorina citri by ap-
proximately 101 square miles in the Turlock area of
Stanislaus County and into Merced County. The effect
of this action provides authority for the state to perform
quarantine activities against ACP within this additional
area, along with the existing regulated areas in the state.

Title 3
AMEND: 3435(b)
Filed 06/13/2016
Effective 06/13/2016
Agency Contact: Sara Khalid (916) 403−6625

File# 2016−0502−02
DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE
Asian Citrus Psyllid Interior Quarantine

This certificate of compliance makes permanent the
prior emergency regulatory action (OAL file no.
2015−1110−03E) by the Department of Food and Agri-
culture that expanded the quarantine area for the Asian
Citrus Psyllid ((ACP) Diaphorina citri) by approxi-
mately 232 square miles in the Bakersfield area of Kern
County. The effect of this action provides authority for
the state to perform quarantine activities against ACP
within this additional area, along with the existing regu-
lated areas in the state.

Title 3
AMEND: 3435(b)
Filed 06/13/2016
Effective 06/13/2016
Agency Contact: Sara Khalid (916) 403−6625

File# 2016−0517−01
DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE
Modified Point of Origin Inspection Areas

The Department of Food and Agriculture filed this
action to amend section 850 of title 3 of the California
Code of Regulations to remove Yolo County as a modi-
fied point−of−origin inspection area. This action was
taken as a result of a petition and vote of cattle producers
owning cattle in Yolo County to remove Yolo County as
a modified point−of−origin inspection area, pursuant to
Food and Agricultural Code section 21111.5.

Title 3
AMEND: 850
Filed 06/08/2016
Effective 10/01/2016
Agency Contact: Nancy Grillo (916) 900−5033

File# 2016−0429−01
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
IHSS Health Care Certification Requirement

In this regular rulemaking, the Department of Social
Services (the “Department”) is amending section
30−701 and adopting section 30−754 in the Manual of
Policies and Procedures. These regulations specify that,
as a condition of receiving in−home supportive services
(“IHSS”), an applicant must obtain certification from a
licensed health care professional. Additionally, these
regulations define “Licensed Health Care Profession-
al”, specify policies, procedures, and time frames relat-
ing to the health care certification requirement, and
specify exemption criteria regarding when IHSS ser-
vices can be authorized prior to county receipt of the
certification.
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Title MPP
ADOPT: 30−754
AMEND: 30−701
Filed 06/13/2016
Effective 10/01/2016
Agency Contact: 

Kenneth Jennings (916) 651−8862

File# 2016−0531−02
DEPARTMENT OF TOXIC SUBSTANCES
CONTROL
Annual Fee on Metal Shredding Facilities

The Department of Toxic Substances Control is per-
mitted by Health and Safety Code section 25150.84 to
collect an annual fee from metal shredding facilities to
reimburse the department’s costs to evaluate metal
shredding facilities and their wastes. This emergency
action establishes which metal shredders are subject to
the fee and how the fee is assessed.

Title 22
ADOPT: 69600.1, 69600.2, 69600.3, 69600.4,
69600.5, 69600.6, 69600.7
Filed 06/09/2016
Effective 06/09/2016
Agency Contact: Ed Benelli (916) 324−6564

File# 2016−0504−01
FISH AND GAME COMMISSION
Fisheries at Risk

In this timely Certificate of Compliance
(2015−0626−01E, 2015−1218−05EE,
2016−0316−03EE), the Fish and Game Commission
(Commission) is making permanent the adoption of
section 8.01 in title 14 of the California Code of Regula-
tions that protects fisheries under critical conditions by
establishing a set of triggers to guide fishing closure and
reopening actions. Closures will occur when specific
triggering events occur including water temperatures
exceeding 70o for over eight hours a day for three con-
secutive days. Other triggers include oxygen levels, wa-
ter levels, breeding population and several others.

Title 14
ADOPT: 8.01
Filed 06/15/2016
Effective 06/15/2016
Agency Contact: Jon Snellstrom (916) 653−4899

File# 2016−0512−03
FISH AND GAME COMMISSION
Lower Klamath River Basin Sport Fishing

This regulatory action by the Fish and Game Com-
mission sets the 2016 bag and possession limits, adult
fish quotas, and season dates for Lower Klamath River

Basin sport fishing. This action also modifies the exist-
ing fishing closure on the Klamath River during the
June 15 through September 14 period by reducing the
distance closed below the mouth of Blue Creek from 1/2
mile to 500 feet. The distance of the closure above the
mouth of Blue Creek will remain at 500 feet.

Title 14
AMEND: 7.50
Filed 06/09/2016
Effective 06/09/2016
Agency Contact: Sherrie Fonbuena (916) 654−9866

File# 2016−0429−03
OFFICE OF ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH
HAZARD ASSESSMENT
Chemicals Known to the State to Cause Cancer or Re-
productive Toxicity

This action amends and republishes the list of chemi-
cals known to the state to cause cancer or reproductive
toxicity.

Title 27
AMEND: 27001
Filed 06/13/2016
Effective 06/13/2016
Agency Contact: Michelle Ramirez (916) 327−3015

File# 2016−0531−03
OFFICE OF ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH
HAZARD ASSESSMENT
Proposition 65 Bisphenol A MADL (dermal)

The Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assess-
ment proposed this action to amend title 27, California
Code of Regulations, section 25805, which provides
maximum allowable dose levels for chemicals listed in
the section. The proposed amendment to section 25805
adds a maximum allowable dose level of three micro-
grams per day for bisphenol A from dermal exposure to
solid materials.

Title 27
AMEND: 25805
Filed 06/13/2016
Effective 10/01/2016
Agency Contact: 

Esther Barajas−Ochoa (916) 322−2068

File# 2016−0608−02
STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION
Weighing Time, Dehydration and Rehydration, and
Time for Examinations

This emergency rulemaking action by the State Ath-
letic Commission adopts and amends sections in title 4
to provide safer weigh−in procedures, allow Commis-
sion−appointed ringside physicians to test athletes for
signs of dehydration, and prohibit the use of intra-
venous therapies to regain hydration after a weigh−in.
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Title 4
ADOPT: 299
AMEND: 297, 300
Filed 06/15/2016
Effective 06/15/2016
Agency Contact: Sophia Cornejo (916) 263−2196

CCR CHANGES FILED
WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE

WITHIN January 13, 2016 TO
June 15, 2016

All regulatory actions filed by OAL during this peri-
od are listed below by California Code of Regulations
titles, then by date filed with the Secretary of State, with
the Manual of Policies and Procedures changes adopted
by the Department of Social Services listed last. For fur-
ther information on a particular file, contact the person
listed in the Summary of Regulatory Actions section of
the Notice Register published on the first Friday more
than nine days after the date filed.
Title 2

05/25/16 AMEND: 604
05/23/16 AMEND: 23000
05/19/16 ADOPT: 18750 REPEAL: 18750,

18750.1, 18750.2, 18752
04/21/16 AMEND: 599.744
04/12/16 AMEND: 18239
04/12/16 AMEND: 18616
03/22/16 AMEND: 18215.3, 18247.5, 18404,

18405, 18422, 18425, 18427.1, 18450.4,
18531.5, 18531.62 REPEAL: 18402.5

03/22/16 AMEND: 18406, 18530.4, 18530.45,
18992

02/22/16 ADOPT: 61000, 61001, 61002, 61003,
61004, 61005, 61006, 61007, 61008,
61009, 61010, 61011, 61012, 61013,
61014, 61015, 61016, 61017, 61018,
61019, 61020, 61021, 61022, 61023,
61024

02/22/16 ADOPT: 59800
02/11/16 AMEND: 57200
02/10/16 AMEND: 57200
02/04/16 ADOPT: 555.5
02/04/16 AMEND: 18351
02/04/16 AMEND: 18616
01/14/16 AMEND: 18944.1
01/14/16 AMEND: 18996

Title 3
06/13/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
06/13/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
06/08/16 AMEND: 850
06/06/16 ADOPT: 1358.7

06/02/16 AMEND: 3439(b)
06/02/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
06/01/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
05/25/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
05/23/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
05/18/16 AMEND: 3435
05/17/16 AMEND: 3906
05/12/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
05/12/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
05/11/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
05/11/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
05/10/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
05/09/16 ADOPT: 3591.27
04/25/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
04/07/16 ADOPT: 450, 450.1, 450.2, 450.3, 450.4,

451, 452
04/05/16 AMEND: 3589
03/29/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
03/21/16 AMEND: 3435
03/10/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
03/09/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
03/08/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
02/17/16 AMEND: 6000, 6445, 6447, 6447.2,

6447.3, 6448.1, 6449.1, 6450.1, 6452,
6452.2, 6784

02/17/16 AMEND: 3439(b)
02/09/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
02/02/16 ADOPT: 3442
01/27/16 ADOPT: 3591.26
01/21/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
01/20/16 AMEND: 3435(b)
01/14/16 AMEND: 3435(b)

Title 4
06/15/16 ADOPT: 299 AMEND: 297, 300
06/14/16 AMEND: 5000, 5033, 5052, 5144, 5205,

5220, 5221, 5230
04/27/16 AMEND: 10170.2, 10170.3, 10170.4,

10170.5, 10170.6, 10170.7, 10170.8,
10170.9, 10170.10, 10170.11, 10170.12

04/25/16 ADOPT: 1866.1 AMEND: 1844
04/21/16 ADOPT: 610
04/13/16 ADOPT: 10091.1, 10091.2, 10091.3,

10091.4, 10091.5, 10091.6, 10091.7,
10091.8, 10091.9, 10091.10, 10091.11,
10091.12, 10091.13, 10091.14, 10091.15

04/12/16 AMEND: 1489
03/28/16 AMEND: 10176(d), 10181
03/23/16 ADOPT: 12465 AMEND: 12460, 12461,

12462, 12463, 12464, 12466
03/10/16 ADOPT: 5258, 5271, 5273 AMEND:

5033, 5052, 5100, 5102 (renumbered to
5101), 5103 (renumbered to 5102), 5104
(renumbered to 5103), 5105 (renumbered
to 5104), 5106 (renumbered to 5105),



CALIFORNIA REGULATORY NOTICE REGISTER 2016, VOLUME NO. 26-Z

 1085

5107 (renumbered to 5106), 5132, 5170,
5190, 5191, 5192, 5200, 5205, 5210,
5230, 5232, 5250, 5255, 5260, 5267
REPEAL: 5101

03/08/16 AMEND: 1658
03/03/16 AMEND: 10176, 10179, 10180, 10181
02/04/16 AMEND: 5000, 5033, 5052, 5144, 5205,

5220, 5221, 5230
02/01/16 ADOPT: 7210, 7213, 7214, 7215, 7216,

7217, 7218, 7219, 7220, 7221, 7222,
7223, 7224, 7225, 7225.1, 7226, 7227,
7228, 7229

01/26/16 ADOPT: 1866.1AMEND: 1844
01/25/16 AMEND: 10170.2, 10170.3, 10170.4,

10170.5, 10170.6, 10170.7, 10170.8,
10170.9, 10170.10, 10170.11

Title 5
06/15/16 REPEAL: 3820, 3822, 3823, 3824, 3831,

3840, 3860, 3870
05/31/16 REPEAL: 9517.1, 9531, 9532, 9535
05/31/16 ADOPT: 11533, 11534 AMEND: 11530,

11531
05/31/16 ADOPT: 11524, 11525 AMEND: 11520,

11521, 11522
05/18/16 ADOPT: 851.5, 853.6, 853.8, 860

AMEND: 850, 851, 853, 853.5, 853.7,
855, 857, 858, 859, 861, 862, 862.5, 863,
864

04/25/16 AMEND: 41906.5, 41906.6
03/28/16 ADOPT: 1700
03/22/16 ADOPT: 9526
03/21/16 AMEND: 80057.5, 80089.2
03/03/16 AMEND: 19810
02/26/16 AMEND: 27007
02/24/16 AMEND: 80499
02/24/16 AMEND: 80014, 80014.1, 80066

REPEAL: 80014.2
02/18/16 ADOPT: 40106

Title 8
05/18/16 AMEND: 362, 364, 364.1
04/12/16 AMEND: 3207, 3212
03/23/16 AMEND: 9789.12.2, 9789.12.6,

9789.12.8, 9789.12.13, 9789.13.1,
9789.15.4, 9789.16.1, 9789.16.2,
9789.17.1, 9789.19

03/14/16 AMEND: 9789.21, 9789.25
03/14/16 AMEND: 333, 336
03/07/16 AMEND: 4307
03/07/16 AMEND: 4412
03/04/16 AMEND: 9785.4.1
02/25/16 AMEND: 3328

Title 9
06/06/16 AMEND: 811, 812, 823, 836.2, 862, 865,

865.4, 865.5

05/31/16 ADOPT: 7006.5 AMEND: 7019.1, 7020,
7024, 7029.9, 7054, 7055, 7060, 7062,
7062.3, 7122, 7143, 7157, 7164, 7164.4,
7194, 7198 REPEAL: 7004.3, 7019.2, 7022,
7029.3

05/12/16 AMEND: 7140, 7142, 7142.5, 7143.5,
7164.6, 7196, 7211, 7290, 7353.6

04/21/16 REPEAL: 1700, 1701, 1702, 1703, 1704,
1705, 1706, 1707, 1708, 1709, 1710,
1711, 1712, 1713, 1714, 1715, 1716,
1717, 1718, 1719, 1720, 1721, 1722,
1723, 1724, 1725, 1726, 1727, 1728,
1729, 1730, 1731, 1739, 1740, 1741,
1742, 1743, 1744, 1745, 1746, 1747,
1748, 1749, 1750, 1751, 1752, 1753,
1754, 1755, 1765, 1766, 1767, 1768,
1769, 1770, 1771, 1772, 1773, 1774,
1775, 1776, 1777, 1778, 1779, 1790,
1791, 1792, 1793, 1794, 1795, 1796,
1797, 1798, 1799

Title 10
06/14/16 ADOPT: 6540, 6542, 6544, 6546, 6548,

6550, 6552
06/07/16 ADOPT: 8100, 8110, 8120, 8130, 8140,

8150
06/06/16 ADOPT: 6408, 6410, 6450, 6452, 6454,

6470, 6472, 6474, 6476, 6478, 6480,
6482, 6484, 6486, 6490, 6492, 6494,
6496, 6498, 6500, 6502, 6504, 6506,
6508, 6510, 6600, 6602, 6604, 6606,
6608, 6610, 6612, 6614, 6616, 6618,
6620, 6622

05/31/16 AMEND: 2500, 2501, 2503, 2504, 2505,
2507.1, 2507.2, 2508 REPEAL: 2502

05/26/16 ADOPT: 6858
05/23/16 ADOPT: 6700, 6702, 6704, 6706, 6708,

6710, 6712, 6714, 6716, 6718
05/11/16 ADOPT: 5508, 5509, 5510, 5511, 5512,

5513, 5514, 5515, 5516
05/10/16 AMEND: 2318.6, 2353.1, 2354
05/10/16 AMEND: 2353.1
03/22/16 AMEND: 2544, 2544.1, 2544.2, 2544.3,

2544.4, 2544.5, 2544.6
03/08/16 ADOPT: 2240.15, 2240.16, 2240.6,

2240.7 AMEND: 2240, 2240.1, 2240.2,
2240.3, 2240.4, 2240.5

02/04/16 AMEND: 2201, 2202, 2203, 2204, 2205,
2206, 2207, 2208, 2209, 2210, 2211,
2212, 2213, 2214, 2215, 2216, 2217,
2218

02/02/16 ADOPT: 2269 AMEND: 2218, 2250,
2251, 2252, 2253, 2254, 2256, 2257,
2258, 2259, 2260, 2266, 2267, 2268
REPEAL: 2218.1, 2255, 2261, 2262,



CALIFORNIA REGULATORY NOTICE REGISTER 2016, VOLUME NO. 26-Z

 1086

2263, 2264, 2265, 2269.1, 2269.4,
2269.7, 2269.10, 2269.11, 2269.13,
2269.14

Title 11
06/09/16 AMEND: 1005, 1007, 1008, 1009, 1010,

1011, 1054, 1058, 1070, 1081, 1082,
1084, 1960

06/01/16 AMEND: 51.22
04/28/16 ADOPT: 2080, 2081, 2082, 2083, 2084,

2085, 2086, 2087, 2088, 2089, 2090,
2091, 2092, 2093, 2094, 2095, 2096,
2097, 2098, 2099, 2100, 2101, 2102,
2103, 2104, 2105, 2106, 2107, 2108,
2109, 2130, 2131, 2132

04/25/16 ADOPT: 50.24
04/06/16 ADOPT: 28.5
04/06/16 ADOPT: 28.6
03/23/16 ADOPT: 4250, 4251, 4251.5, 4252,

4253, 4254, 4255, 4256, 4257, 4258,
4559

03/10/16 AMEND: 20
02/24/16 AMEND: 1005, 1007, 1008, 1052
02/24/16 AMEND: 1951, 1953, 1954, 1955
02/17/16 AMEND: 1005, 1081
01/27/16 AMEND: 1953(e)(5)

Title 12
05/23/16 ADOPT: 462

Title 13
05/09/16 AMEND: 156.00, 156.01
04/06/16 ADOPT: 150.10
02/29/16 AMEND: 553.70
02/25/16 AMEND: 551.8, 551.12, 591, 592
02/08/16 ADOPT: 2850, 2851, 2852, 2853, 2854,

2855, 2856, 2857, 2858, 2859, 2860,
2861, 2862, 2863, 2864, 2865, 2866,
2867, 2868, 2869 AMEND: 2440, 2442

01/26/16 AMEND: 1239
01/25/16 AMEND: 1162.1, 1242
01/19/16 AMEND: 1253
01/19/16 ADOPT: 1160.7, 1161.8 AMEND:

1160.2

Title 14
06/15/16 ADOPT: 8.01
06/09/16 AMEND: 7.50
05/25/16 AMEND: 1670
05/11/16 AMEND: 17852
05/02/16 AMEND: 29.85
04/28/16 ADOPT: 131
04/27/16 AMEND: 27.80
04/26/16 AMEND: 29.45
04/26/16 AMEND: 28.20
04/20/16 ADOPT: 1760.1, 1779.1
04/06/16 AMEND: 1038
03/29/16 AMEND: 27.80

03/28/16 ADOPT: 8.01
03/07/16 ADOPT: 749.8
03/01/16 AMEND: 7.50
02/29/16 ADOPT: 1.57, 5.41 AMEND: 1.05, 1.53,

1.86, 2.00, 5.60, 5.80, 5.81, 7.00, 7.50,
27.00, 230

02/23/16 AMEND: 632
02/18/16 ADOPT: 748.5
02/10/16 ADOPT: 672, 672.1, 672.2
02/10/16 AMEND: 17381.2
02/09/16 AMEND: 3550.11
02/05/16 AMEND: 1724.9
01/25/16 AMEND: 870.15, 870.17, 870.19,

870.21
01/21/16 ADOPT: 1760.1, 1779.1
01/13/16 AMEND: 149

Title 15
06/02/16 AMEND: 3000, 3084.7, 3312, 3313,

3314, 3315, 3316, 3317, 3317.1, 3317.2,
3320, 3322, 3326, 3340, 3341.3, 3376,
3378.6

05/24/16 ADOPT: 3317.1, 3317.2 AMEND: 3310,
3315, 3317

05/11/16 AMEND: 3000, 3213
05/10/16 AMEND: 3173.2
04/28/16 AMEND: 3000
03/30/16 AMEND: 8004.2
03/30/16 REPEAL: 3999.16
03/29/16 AMEND: 3315, 3375.2
03/29/16 AMEND: 3000, 3078.1, 3078.2, 3078.3,

3078.4
03/10/16 ADOPT: 3000, 3268.2 REPEAL:

3999.17
02/18/16 ADOPT: 3040.2 AMEND: 3000, 3040.1,

3041, 3041.3, 3043.6, 3379 REPEAL:
3999.15

02/18/16 AMEND: 3375.1, 3377

Title 16
06/07/16 ADOPT: 1100
06/07/16 ADOPT: 1101, 1121, 1122, 1124, 1126,

1127, 1133
06/07/16 ADOPT: 1104, 1104.1, 1104.2
05/26/16 ADOPT: 1815.5
05/13/16 AMEND: 910
05/10/16 AMEND: 2403
05/04/16 AMEND: 4170
05/03/16 ADOPT: 2326.2, 2326.3 AMEND: 2326,

2326.1, 2326.5
04/28/16 AMEND: 1417
04/20/16 ADOPT: 1103, 1105, 1105.1, 1105.2,

1105.3, 1105.4, 1106
04/20/16 AMEND: 1715, 1784
04/11/16 AMEND: 1399.523
04/08/16 ADOPT: 1746.1
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04/04/16 AMEND: 974
03/22/16 AMEND: 1970.4
03/21/16 AMEND: 1380.5
03/07/16 AMEND: 1001
03/03/16 ADOPT: 1463.5, 1485.5
02/29/16 ADOPT: 1960
02/24/16 AMEND: 1446, 1447, 1447.1
02/23/16 AMEND: 109, 111
02/18/16 ADOPT: 1108
02/08/16 AMEND: 1417
01/27/16 ADOPT: 1746.3
01/25/16 ADOPT: 1746.2
01/25/16 AMEND: 420.1, 3021.1

Title 17
05/25/16 AMEND: 1050
05/24/16 AMEND: 2500, 2502, 2505
04/25/16 AMEND: 100800
04/04/16 ADOPT: 6500.03, 6500.05, 6500.9,

6500.21, 6500.33, 6500.43, 6500.50,
6500.51, 6500.55, 6500.58, 6500.71,
6500.78, 6501.5 AMEND: 6500.35,
6500.39, 6500.45, 6501, 6505, 6506,
6506.6, 6506.8, 6506.10 REPEAL:
6500.65, 6500.67

03/08/16 AMEND: 60201
02/05/16 ADOPT: 59050, 59051, 59052, 59053,

59054, 59055, 59056, 59057, 59058,
59059, 59060, 59061, 59062, 59063,
59064, 59065, 59066, 59067, 59068,
59069, 59070, 59071, 59072

02/03/16 AMEND: 95000 REPEAL: 95001,
95002, 95003, 95004, 95005, 95006,
95007

01/25/16 REPEAL: 60090, 60091, 60092, 60093,
60094

01/21/16 AMEND: 100003

Title 18
04/22/16 AMEND: 1668
04/20/16 AMEND: 5600, 5601, 5603
03/28/16 AMEND: 2401, 2413, 2422
03/17/16 AMEND: 3500
02/03/16 AMEND: 5218, 5235, 5237, 5267

Title 19
05/11/16 ADOPT: 2621, 2622, 2630, 2631, 2632,

2640, 2642, 2643, 2644, 2645, 2646,
2647, 2648, 2651, 2652, 2653, 2654,
2655, 2656, 2657, 2658, 2659, 2670,
2671 AMEND: 2650 renumbered to
2621, 2660 renumbered to 2622, 2701
renumbered to 2630, 2703 renumbered to
2631, 2705 renumbered to 2632, 2720
amended and renumbered to 2640, 2722
renumbered to 2642, 2723 amended and
renumbered to 2643, 2724 renumbered to

2644, 2725 amended and renumbered to
2645, 2726 renumbered to 2646, 2727
renumbered to 2647, 2728 renumbered to
2648, 2729 amended and renumbered to
2650, 2729.1 amended and renumbered
to 2651, 2729.2 amended and
renumbered to 2652, 2729.3 amended
and renumbered to 2653, 2729.4
amended and renumbered to 2654,
2729.5 amended and renumbered to
2655, 2729.6 amended and renumbered
to 2656, 2729.7 amended and
renumbered to 2657, 2731 renumbered to
2658, 2732 amended and renumbered to
2659, 2733 amended and renumbered to
2670, 2734 renumbered to 2671

Title 20
04/12/16 AMEND: 1240, 3201, 3202, 3203, 3204,

3206, 3207
04/06/16 AMEND: 2401, 2402
03/08/16 AMEND: 2.1
02/10/16 AMEND: 1601, 1604, 1605.3

Title 21
05/09/16 ADOPT: 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138,

141, 151, 161, 162, 163, 164, 165, 171
AMEND: 111, 112, 113, 114, 121, 131,
133 (renumbered to 132) REPEAL: 132,
134, 135, 136, 141, 151, 152, 153

Title 22
06/09/16 ADOPT: 69600.1, 69600.2, 69600.3,

69600.4, 69600.5, 69600.6, 69600.7
06/08/16 AMEND: 7000
04/27/16 AMEND: 53626(a)
04/21/16 AMEND: 50188
04/19/16 AMEND: 123000
04/01/16 AMEND: 64417, 64418, 64418.1,

64418.2, 64418.3, 64418.4, 64418.5,
64418.6, 64418.7, 64419, 64420,
64420.1, 64420.2, 64420.3, 64420.4,
64420.5, 64420.6, 64420.7

03/29/16 AMEND: 51516.1
03/17/16 AMEND: 97232
02/25/16 ADOPT: 100450.100
02/23/16 AMEND: 69502.2
02/11/16 ADOPT: 51000, 51000.7, 51000.9.5,

51000.15.5, 51000.20, 51000.24.3,
51000.24.4, 51000.24.4.1, 51000.24.5,
51000.24.8, 51000.30, 51000.31,
51000.35, 51000.40, 51000.45,
51000.60, 51000.70, 51000.75, 51051,
51341.1

02/08/16 AMEND: 100143, 100146, 100149,
100152, 100153, 100154 (renumbered to
100159), 100155 (renumbered to
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100161), 100156 (renumbered to
100160), 100157 (renumbered to
100162), 100159 (renumbered to
100154), 100160 (renumbered to
100155), 100161 (renumbered to
100156), 100162 (renumbered to
100157), 100163 (renumbered to
100164), 100164 (renumbered to
100163), 100165, 100167, 100172

02/01/16 AMEND: 64806
Title 22, MPP

02/10/16 AMEND: 102352, 102416.5, 102417,
102421

Title 23
06/02/16 ADOPT: 3919.16
05/31/16 ADOPT: 863, 864, 864.5, 865, 866
05/17/16 ADOPT: 3991.1 REPEAL: 3989
05/04/16 AMEND: 3935, 3936, 3939.13
04/14/16 ADOPT: 3939.48
04/11/16 ADOPT: 3939.49
03/30/16 ADOPT: 876
03/21/16 ADOPT: 908, 911, 912, 916, 917, 922,

924, 931, 931.5, 932, 933, 934, 935, 936,
937, 938

03/07/16 AMEND: 3930
02/11/16 ADOPT: 863, 864, 865, 866
01/28/16 ADOPT: 3009
01/15/16 AMEND: 1062
01/14/16 ADOPT: 3959.7

Title 25
02/25/16 ADOPT: 8402, 8403, 8404, 8405, 8406,

8407, 8408, 8409, 8414 AMEND: 8400,
8401, 8410, 8412 (renumbered to 8411),
8416 (renumbered to 8412), 8417
(renumbered to 8413), 8419 (renumbered
to 8415), 8420 (renumbered to 8416),
8421 (renumbered to 8417) REPEAL:
8402, 8403, 8404, 8405, 8406, 8407,
8408, 8409, 8411, 8413, 8414, 8415,
8418

02/18/16 AMEND: 10001
Title 27

06/13/16 AMEND: 27001
06/13/16 AMEND: 25805
05/09/16 AMEND: 10052
04/18/16 AMEND: 25603.3
04/13/16 AMEND: 27001
02/08/16 AMEND: 25705
01/19/16 ADOPT: 25205

Title 28
03/28/16 AMEND: 1010

Title MPP
06/13/16 ADOPT: 30−754 AMEND:

30−701

05/02/16 ADOPT: 45−102, 45−600, 45−601,
45−602, 45−604, 45−605, 45−606,
45−607 AMEND: 31−002, 31−003,
31−075, 31−201, 31−205, 31−206,
31−225, 31−425, 31−503, 90−101

03/30/16 REPEAL: 12−201, 12−202, 12−202.1,
12−202.1.11, 12−202.1.11.111,
12−202.2, 12−202.2.21,
12−202.2.21.211, 12−202.2.21.212,
12−202.2.22, 12−202.2.23, 12−202.2.24,
12−202.3, 12−202.3.31,
12−202.3.31.311, 12−202.3.31.312,
12−202.3.31.313, 12−202.3.32,
12−202.3.33, 12−202.3.33.331,
12−202.4, 12−202.4.41, 12−202.5,
12−202.5.51, 12−202.5.52, 12−202.5.53,
12−202.5.54, 12−202.6, 12−202.6.61,
12−202.6.61.611, 12−202.6.61.612,
12−202.6.61.613, 12−202.6.62,
12−202.7, 12−202.8, 12−202.8.81,
12−202.8.82, 12−202.8.83, 12−202.8.84,
12−202.8.84.841, 12−202.8.84.842,
12−202.8.85, 12−202.8.85.851, 12−203,
12−203.1, 12−203.1.11,
12−203.1.11.111, 12−203.1.11.112,
12−203.1.11.113, 12−203.1.11.113(a),
12−203.1.11.113(b),
12−203.1.11.113(c), 12−203.1.11.114,
12−203.1.11.114(a),
12−203.1.11.114(b),
12−203.1.11.114(c), 12−203.1.11.115,
12−203.2, 12−203.2.21, 12−203.2.22,
12−203.2.23, 12−203.3, 12−203.3.31,
12−203.3.32, 12−203.3.32.321,
12−203.3.32.322, 12−203.3.33,
12−203.4, 12−203.4.41, 12−203.4.42,
12−203.5, 12−203.6, 12−203.7,
12−203.7.71, 12−203.7.71.711,
12−203.7.71.712, 12−203.7.71.713,
12−203.7.72, 12−203.7.72.721,
12−203.7.73, 12−203.8, 12−204,
12−204.1, 12−204.1.11,
12−204.1.11.111, 12−204.1.11.112,
12−204.1.11.113, 12−204.1.11.114,
12−204.1.12, 12−204.1.13, 12−204.2,
12−204.3, 12−204.3.31,
12−204.3.31.311, 12−204.3.31.312,
12−204.3.31.313, 12−204.3.31.314,
12−204.3.31.315, 12−204.3.31.316,
12−205, 12−205.1, 12−205.1.11,
12−205.1.12, 12−205.1.13, 12−205.1.14,
12−205.1.15, 12−205.1.16, 12−205.1.17,
12−205.2, 12−205.2.21, 12−205.2.22,
12−205.2.23, 12−205.3, 12−205.3.31,
12−205.3.32, 12−205.4, 12−205.5,
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12−205.5.51, 12−205.5.52, 12−205.5.53,
12−205.5.54, 12−205.5.55,
12−205.5.55.551, 12−205.5.55.552,
12−205.6, 12−205.6.61, 12−205.6.62,
12−205.6.62.621, 12−205.6.63,
12−205.6.63.631, 12−205.6.64,
12−205.6.65, 12−205.7, 12−206,
12−206.1, 12−206.2, 12−206.3,
12−206.3.31, 12−206.4, 12−206.4.41,
12−206.4.41.411, 12−206.4.41.411(a),
12−206.4.41.412, 12−206.4.41.412(a),
12−206.4.41.413, 12−206.4.41.413(a),
12−206.4.41.413(b),
12−206.4.41.413(c), 12−206.4.41.414,
12−206.4.41.415, 12−206.4.41.415(a),
12−206.4.41.416, 12−206.5, 12−207,
12−207.1, 12−207.1.11,
12−207.1.11.111, 12−207.1.11.112,
12−207.1.11.113, 12−207.2, 12−207.3,
12−207.3.31, 12−207.3.31.311,
12−207.3.31.312, 12−207.3.31.312(a),
12−207.3.31.312(b),
12−207.3.31.312(c), 12−207.3.32,
12−207.3.32.321, 12−207.3.32.322,
12−207.3.32.322(a),
12−207.3.32.322(b),
12−207.3.32.322(c), 12−207.4,

12−207.4.41, 12−207.4.42, 12−207.5,
12−207.5.51, 12−207.5.52, 12−207.5.53,
12−207.5.53.531, 12−207.5.53.532,
12−207.5.53.533, 12−207.6,
12−207.6.61, 12−207.6.62, 12−207.6.63,
12−207.7, 12−207.7.71,
12−207.7.71.711, 12−207.7.71.711(a),
12−207.7.71.711(b), 12−207.8,
12−207.8.81, 12−207.8.82, 12−210,
12−210.1, 12−210.1.11, 12−211,
12−211.1, 12−211.2, 12−222, 12−222.1,
12−222.1.11, 12−222.1.11.111,
12−222.1.12, 12−224, 12−224.1,
12.224.1.11, 12.224.1.12, 12.224.1.13,
12−224.2, 12.224.2.21, 12−224.2.22,
12−224.2.23, 12−225, 12−225.1,
12−225.2, 12−225.2.21, 12−228,
12−228.1, 12−228.1.11, 12−228.1.12,
12−228.1.13, 12−228.1.13.131,
12−228.1.13.132, 12−228.1.13.133,
12−228.1.13.134, 12−228.1.14,
12−228.2, 12−228.2.21,
12−228.2.21.211, 12−228.2.21.212,
12−228.2.22, 12−228.3, 12−228.4,
12−228.5, 12−228.6, 12−228.6.61,
12−228.6.62, 12−228.6.63, 12−228.6.64
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